Horror logo

Cost of a life

If your time is up let it be.

By giovani serranoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

Not much could shake the man who experienced most of the world underbelly. He saw the worst of drug and human trafficking. I once saw him calmly face a tiger when it somehow found it’s way into our back yard. While everyone scattered in fear he kept the tiger’s attention while keeping it at bay with a simple baseball bat. Fear was not a word that his family and friends would associate him with. However as I watched my closest friend break down when he recived a package containing a million dollars I was confused at first. He held a black book in which the context was not in any language I ever seen, which I have seen my fair share do to my profession.

“Tom this isn’t like you man. If your in trouble let me help you out.” My words reached deaf ear as he continued his panicking. After some time passed and he calmed down he began to explain what it was that scared him. “During the Mage war I had been left for dead. Everyone had assumed me dead already, but I endured the torturous pain that had numbed my body movements. I could barely crawl as I tried to make way to safety.” He paused to rub his chest. Then tears blurring his vision he continued his words more cracked as he fought back his crying. “A man showed up tearing his heart from his chest offering it to me in exchange for it back. He called himself a demon, but I could not believe it. Not till...”

He took the money and gave me ten thousand out of it all the whole asking I would help him with his family. How was I to explain to them that their husband and father was living off borrowed time. “Then why were you given money?” He looked at me took out his gun and pointed it towards my chest. “In exchange for your life and that of my love ones I could keep the heart and the money. However the option I choose is to give the money out and fight this demon. I refuse to give up and hand him what he wants.” This would be the last I saw of Tom.

Tom body was found in the river with a hole in his chest and his heart missing. The funeral had been filled with close love ones except for one figure who did not match up. I had not been the only one to noticed the stranger. However after the funeral when everyone left, but Tom’s wife and kids, the man stood there with us. The mother had told the kids to wait in the car and was about to tell me the same when the man spoke. “He stays.” Then handing us both a black book he simply smiled which was the only feature I could clearly see. I’mhe had not covered his face so I assumed magic had been involved.

“The money you received is not yours I want the exact cash or I shall reap something of equal value.” I went to protest however he had vanished. “You knew him. How?” She was pale in the face as she tried to regain her composure. “Tom talked about him, but I never believed him till of course recently. He made a deal with the devil and tried to cheat him. Now those involved must pay back or share his fate.” “So we need to give him back the money he gave us then. I didn’t spend none so it will be easy.” She broke down more as she admitted to spending some for the funeral cost.

In the black book was a way to get into contact with him so the money could be returned. A bang at my door had startled me since it had only been a second since I had said the words out loud. Yet when I went to answer it he had already invited himself inside my home. I handed him the suit case, but had tried before he left. “Please spare Becky. She had kids and there was no way for us to know.” Looking into the suitcase he reached in handing me half. “Do you know what I am?” I had never said it out loud since it sounds ridiculous still. “A demon?” I could see his smile once more as he stepped forward. “As we speak you can not make out my face can you. Only those who have been at my door may see me in my entirely. The book is a contract that must be paid by the recipient or I shall come knocking on their door. However he did not break the contract on his own, he brought in Collateral which must be felt with. You have been handled with.” “Then I’ll sign one! A contract, please she is innocent.” His smile now gone turned to a cartoonish frown as he sounded sad. “This is not my choice to make a contract can only be made by the one who life is in my hand. Your no longer belong to me.”

Soon after her body was found missing her arms. Years has now passed when I get a knock on the door. He stood there waiting for me. I had a family of my own now and I fear took a hold of me wondering what he had wanted. “I have come to collect the money.” “You gave it to me! What do you mean!?” “ I simply handed you the money never once did I say it was for you to keep. If you no longer have it then I will have to take you.” Panic as I raced around making calls as my family had been eating dinner. By time I made the calls to liquidate my cash he had held me and his sinister smile began to drag me through the floor.

fiction

About the Creator

giovani serrano

trying to work on my style before publishing on kindle. Hope to make a career off my writings, since I enjoy it so much.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    giovani serranoWritten by giovani serrano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.