Horror logo

Dark of Deep Night

Dark of deep night

By MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD Published 4 days ago 5 min read
horror image

The story I am about to share with you is not just a mere tale, but a real-life incident that happened to me. Even in the scorching summer heat, I felt a chilling sensation run through my body. I still haven't forgotten that experience.

It was summertime. The intense summer heat was blazing outside. School had closed for the summer holidays. To escape the dust, smoke, and noise of the city for a few days, I thought of visiting my maternal uncle's house. Without further ado, I set off towards my uncle's village.

My uncle's house is far from the city, in a village. To get there, you need to take a bus, as there are no train services. The bus journey takes about two hours. On both sides of the road, there are rows of trees, and behind them, green paddy fields stretch out. It's such a joy to see the countryside environment.

After a two-hour bus ride, I got off at the designated stop. From there, it was a walk, as there were no vehicles available. It takes about forty minutes on foot. Braving the intense sun overhead, I finally reached my uncle's house. They were very happy to see me after such a long time. I spent the whole day chatting and enjoying with everyone. They had cooked many delicious dishes, all my favorites. The whole day went quite well.

There hadn't been any rain for a few days. The fields were parched, with cracks appearing in the soil. Due to the intense daytime heat, most farmers avoided going to the fields during the day and instead went at night when it was cooler to water the paddy. My uncles were no exception.

That night, after dinner, my third uncle said to me, Let's go to the field to water the crops. I asked, At this hour?" My uncle replied, No one goes during the day in this heat; they go at night. Come on, don't be afraid; I'm here. Without further argument, I went along with my uncle. For the first time, I saw the village at night, and its beauty was unparalleled.

My third uncle is a very brave and serious man, while I am the exact opposite. So, I walked with him, feeling a bit scared. He said, Don't leave my side. If you're scared, hold my hand. I replied, Why are you scaring me, uncle? If you keep this up, I won't go. He laughed and said, Come on, there's nothing to be afraid of. I held his hand and walked on.

It took about twenty minutes to reach the field. After setting up the pipe and machine, my uncle placed the end of the pipe in one corner of the field to flood it with water. We then sat down where the machine was running, in a small thatched shed with walls made of bamboo mats on three sides.

Are you scared? he asked.

A little bit, I admitted.

In half an hour, we'll pack up the pipe and machine and head home. If you're not scared now, you might be later. Stay strong, he advised.

As we sat talking, we saw someone walking along the edge of the field on the opposite side. The figure was about nine feet tall, wearing a cap like a Muslim cleric, a white kurta, and a blue lungi, walking intently.

Who could that be at this hour? I wondered aloud.

Whoever it is, don't worry about it, my uncle replied.

Where could they be going? I asked.

How should I know? I'm here with you, he responded.

While we were talking, my uncle suddenly called out loudly, Hey, who goes there? Where are you heading at this hour?

The figure paused for a moment, then resumed walking as before, disappearing into the darkness beyond the pond. We remained silent, waiting for the field to flood. Soon it would be done, and we could head home.

But that's when the real incident began. Suddenly, the shed started swaying as if in a strong wind. We rushed outside, but there was no wind. As soon as we went back inside, the violent shaking resumed, but outside, there was nothing.

I was terrified. Clinging to my uncle's hand, I said, Let's turn off the machine and go home.

Yes, that seems best. I don't like the feel of this, he agreed. We'll leave the machine and pipe here and come back for them tomorrow.

As we moved to turn off the machine, the nine-foot-tall figure appeared in front of us again and then vanished. I clung to the machine in fear while my uncle slowly packed up the pipe. After shutting down the machine, he carried it on his shoulder and told me to keep my hand on it and walk with him. I did as he said, sticking close to him.

Suddenly, a voice startled us, Leaving already? Won't you stay and chat?

My body went cold as ice, and I began to shiver uncontrollably, drenched in sweat despite the cold.

Don't be afraid. Don't let go of the machine. Stay close to me, my uncle instructed.

I was too scared to speak, trembling as I clung to the machine and walked hurriedly with my uncle towards the house. The voice followed us, repeating the same words.

After some distance, the voice stopped, but we realized a dog was following us, shaking its ears.

Don't look back. Just keep walking, my uncle said.

But I am afraid of dogs. Worried it might bite, I couldn't resist looking back. What I saw was unlike any creature I had ever seen or read about. It was a huge, white tiger-like beast with ears like a dog's and an enormous tongue hanging out of its mouth, dragging on the ground. It followed us, shaking its ears. I quickly turned back and clung to the machine, my whole body shaking, drenched in sweat, feeling icy cold despite the intense fear.

I told you not to look back, but you did, my uncle scolded.

I was too terrified to respond, shaking as we continued towards the house. Suddenly, I saw two enormous red eyes glowing like lamps in the bamboo grove ahead of us. They moved alongside us as we walked. I was paralyzed with fear, but my uncle showed no sign of fear, walking as if nothing had happened.

As we reached the house, the beast and the glowing eyes disappeared. Inside the house, my uncle scolded me again, I told you not to look back, but you didn't listen.

I was too scared to speak, collapsing in fear. I lost consciousness and woke up the next night with a high fever, unable to get up. My parents rushed to the village upon hearing the news. No medicine seemed to work, and the doctor was constantly by my side. Finally, the doctor said, Things don't look good. You should take him to a big hospital in the city.

The next day, I was taken to a hospital in Kolkata, but the fever persisted. That night, my uncle dreamt of the tall figure who said, Give your nephew to me. You won't be able to cure him.

In our family, we have worshipped Goddess Kali for generations. People come to her for justice and protection in times of trouble. My grandmother worshipped the deity daily. Upon hearing everything, she put a consecrated amulet around my wrist and gave me holy water from the deity's feet.

Within three hours of wearing the amulet, I was completely cured. My grandmother then took me to Maharaj of Tarapith, who performed rituals for two days to subdue the spirit and free me from its grip. Since then, I have never encountered such danger again.

psychologicalfiction

About the Creator

MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD

For more than 3+ years I have been making my best stories. I am very happy to be able to present my best stories to the audience so that they can find success in their lives.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD Written by MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.