Horror logo

Cold

Part 2

By Andrew WaltersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cold
Photo by Paul Gilmore on Unsplash

I wake up and all that I can think about is where I'm at and how I got here. I look around me to get an idea and become surprised when I see grey rock formations around me. I then conclude that I'm in a cave. I try to move around but realize that I can't move certain parts of my body.

I start to get scared when I hear footsteps outside. I notice that they sound strict and steady. As the footsteps get closer, I feel my heart rate get faster. I look around me for a weapon or something to defend myself and remember that I can't move a lot of my body. I close my eyes to try and act like I'm asleep, but my heart rate is so high that I have doubts about it even working. I hear the footsteps approach me and feel a hand on my side.

"Calm down, you're okay" I hear the person say.

I open my eyes "Dad!" I throw my arms around him.

"How did you know where to find me?" I ask him.

"I had to track your phone's GPS" he responded.

"Listen, as much as I love this moment right now, we have to get going!" He says as he helps me up. At this point, I have some feeling in my body but not all of it's back yet.

We head outside to see that another snowstorm has hit. He directs us through the woods, and a few minutes later we reach his car which has been covered in snow for a while at this point. He starts dusting the snow off the car clearing off the windows to help him see.

"Alright let's get you in. It's only a matter of time before you start getting frostbite." He tells me while making his way towards me.

He helps me over to the passenger door and opens it for me. As I get in, I notice that the interior temperature of the vehicle matches that of the exterior. I sit down and immediately start shivering uncontrolably when I feel how the passenger seat is.

Once I'm all way inside the car, dad shuts the door and runs around the front and gets in the driver side. He puts the key in the ignition and starts the engine.

"Little bit brisk, huh?" He says in a joking matter, but I'm too cold to laugh.

In the corner of my eye, I see another tree get knocked down. "Dad we need to go now" I say panicked.

"I know, I'm working on it." He says as he attempts to get out of the snow.

The beast takes a step out of the woods,and it stares at us for a moment as if telling us to leave.

Dad gets the car out of the snow, and begins to go down a gravel path. The beast lifts an arm up and hits the top of the vehicle leaving a dent in the roof. I feel the vehicle accelerate while watching the beast chase after us.

"Hold on, this may be a bumpy ride." He says while driving down the path.

He gets us out of the woods and onto a small road. I take a breath of relief as I realize that the worst is finally over.

I look through the window to see that the beast is still chasing us. Maybe this isn't over after all. I say to myself.

"I guess we're just going to have to race this thing out of here." Dad says looking in the rearview mirror.

The beast jumps up disappearing into the sky. I try to ask where it's at, but it lands on the vehicle before I am able to.

The impact of its landing sends me through the windshield, causing me to lose consciousness before hitting the ground.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.