Horror logo

Cold

Snow is not your friend.

By Andrew WaltersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Winter has definitely come around. I’m freezing! The view of the snow falling from the sky takes my mind off of it. Only for a short moment tho. Swoosh! My heart starts racing as I check my surroundings. My mind is going a million miles an hour. What was that? Crack! I gasp, turning to the direction of the sound. I should have stayed at home instead of coming out today. If only I would've just stayed at home and stop listening to my friends. I could've avoided this sticky situation and not been in the freezing cold. I reach into my pocket for my phone. Thank God, I actually have it. Only one bar but it will have to do. I tell myself as I go to dial my mother's number. I can barely see the numbers so I have hope that I dial right. I start to hear growling sounds in the distance. It sounds like it’s getting closer. I feel like my heart is going to beat out of my chest any minute now. I can’t stop now though. I have to keep going. If I stop for even a second I may freeze to death. That noise keeps getting closer though. I hear running coming towards me. What do I do? It sounds like it’s way too fast for me to try to hide.

Boom! Something knocks me down. Knocking the wind out of me in the process. I don't know how long I will be able to keep this up. I finish dialing mom’s number. “Hello?”. It was so good to hear her voice that I couldn't even speak at first. Then, the words started pouring out. “Mom, I need someone to pick me up. I don’t know where I’m at. I need someone to get me.” I said, trying to make sure I got everything out. “Ok, I will see what I can do.” She said, trying to calm me down. It was obvious that she knew it wasn’t working.

The wind starts blowing, making it colder and more difficult to move. I hope she gets here soon. Who am I kidding? I don't live in this area. How would she be able to get here fast? “What's in your surroundings” She asks me, getting all the info she can. “There are bunches of trees around me. That’s all I can see.” I say, trying to help. There is also snow on the ground, and nothing to shovel it away. This was such a bad idea, and I know that mom will say the exact same thing. She would be right though. In the distance, I hear a tree falling. If there is anything out there big enough to knock a tree down, then there is something that can take me in one go. I need to get out of here. Climbing a tree wouldn’t help at this point. What can I do? I obviously need to wait for mom, but how can I do that when I have something so fierce nearby? I try to listen for where the noise is coming from, but suddenly I don't hear anything. I look ahead to see if I can find anything to sit on and attempt to warm up. It probably won't work but at this point, anything will help. I feel myself get breathless, and I start to fall.

The last thing that I feel is the cold of the snow. Everything is going dark as I start to see feet come up to me. Before I can see who it is, I feel myself dose off.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.