Horror logo

Catch and Release

Predator and Prey

By N.J. Gallegos Published 11 months ago 1 min read
5
Catch and Release
Photo by Joaquin Romero on Unsplash

“Buy you a drink?”

Your eyes met mine, lips curved into a smile. You nodded. Coke for me, IPA for you. Plus, something extra that soon slurred your words. I poured you into my backseat and your shirt rode up, revealing pink flank—sooooo enticing. My heartrate spiked.

Soon.

I carried you from the car and laid you on scuzzy motel comforter. Glancing around the room, I grinned. Everything was ready… including you.

Descending upon you, my hands flashed, grasping tender flesh. Shocking slickness.

I took what was mine.

Afterwards, I prepared the tub for you, taking the utmost care. You deserved it.

###

Head splitting, I jolted back to consciousness. “Ohhhh,” I moaned.

A glacial chill seized me, prickling skin.

I opened my eyes.

A bathroom? A tub?

My naked body, packed in ice like a newly caught fish.

“What?” Voice echoed against tile, sounding wrong.

As I stood, an ache stirred in my flanks. What happened? In the mirror, I caught a glimpse of my backside and my breath bated.

Black suture sealed two ragged wounds, dried blood smeared underneath.

Then, I saw the sign.

Your kidneys are gone. Seek medical attention.

Like wild-caught salmon, lured and gutted.

fiction
5

About the Creator

N.J. Gallegos

Howdy! I’m an ER doc who loves horror, especially with a medical bent. Voted most witty in high school so I’m like, super funny. First novel coming out in Fall 2023! Follow me on Twitter @DrSpooky_ER.

Check me out: https://njgallegos.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • kenneth M Gray10 months ago

    Short and not so sweet but a terrifying tale.

  • CyCy10 months ago

    Stop making me question my morality but also keep doing so. 🖤 Love this!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Woah!!! Now that's the kind of heist that makes you want to stay away from bars! Great micro!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.