Horror logo

Beast at Heart

prologue

By Paige GrayPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Beast at Heart
Photo by Vladimir Agafonkin on Unsplash

I sit as still as I can. I breathe in long and slow so I don’t make a sound. I watch him move toward me through the crack in between the boxes. I can spell the alcohol on him.

“Eric. Please, come back to the house.” I see my mother come in the barn trying to get him to leave “You can watch the game and I’ll get you some more beer”

I hear my mother cry out as he yanks her by the hair. “She needs to be punished!” he growls

I hear my mother choke back a sob. “Go back to the house until I am finished.” I hear my mother turn around and leave. Any hope left of getting out of here unharmed disappears with her.

A burst of fear and adrenaline courses through me after I hear Eric slam the barn door shut. I scan the area for another way out. I look towards the hayloft debating if making a run for it would be smart. I hear the sound of Eric’s leather belt unbuckle and slide through the belt loops. “Sera! I know you’re in here!”

I push my body as far back into the corner as I can. I know he’s going to find me eventually. Suddenly one of the boxes in front of me goes flying to the left. I look up at him and scurry to my right. I make a dash for the hayloft. I am halfway up the stairs when he grabs my foot and starts pulling me down. I grab the stair in front of me, attempting to pull myself up from his grasp. This can't be the end, I need to get out of here!

I look to my right and see a rack of farm tools. I grab the closest one, a hand axe, and turn back to Eric. Without hesitation I close my eyes and smash the blade into the side of his skull. I feel something spray against my face and his grip immediately releases from my foot. I turn back around and scramble up the remaining stairs. I glance back to see Eric’s body slumped on the stairs before I dash through the side window. I jump down the metal wall of the barn onto the hay bales below. My next instinct screams at me to run toward the forest, so I run with all the energy I have left.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Paige Gray

20 year old striving to be happy and successful

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.