Horror logo

Autumn's Story

The future she wants belongs to somebody else.

By Leanne TarrabPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

"Hi Ray," Autumn said.

"Hi..." Ray said.

Autumn smiled.

"I'm sorry," Ray started, "but I seem to have forgotten your name."

Autumn's smile quickly shifted to a frown.

"Is it Amanda?" he asked.

Autumn nodded in disbelief.

"Addison?" he asked.

"No."

"Abigail?"

"Not even close."

"Aimee!"

Autumn had started writing a book a week earlier. Its main character was named Aimee.

"I wish; my name is--"

Ray walked away before Autumn could even finish her sentence. Autumn stared at him, hoping to catch a glimpse of his destination. Ray put his arm around a girl with long dark hair, but Autumn couldn't see her face.

Autumn turned around and opened her locker to stare at herself. She hated what she saw. She had extremely pale skin and dull eyes. She felt absolutely ordinary, everyday.

"What's got you down?" Autumn's friend Greyson asked.

"Ray, obviously."

"You are not worth Ray's time. Why do you even like him?"

"He has beautiful blue eyes... an impeccable height of 6 foot 3 inches... and soft dark hair."

"You literally just described me."

"I guess you do look a lot like him; but you're missing something. Maybe you're too nice."

"Thanks, Autumn. You really know how to brighten someone's day," Greyson said, walking away.

He turned back around, "I'd rather be nice than be Ray anyway."

Autumn pressed her back against the wall of lockers and sighed. She couldn't help but feel sorry for Greyson; she and Hailee were the only friends he had.

Autumn spent all of calculus working on her story until the lunch bell interrupted her writing process.

"Hey guys," Autumn said, sitting down beside Hailee and Greyson in the cafeteria.

"Hey girly," Hailee said.

Greyson stayed silent.

"Greyson, are you seriously mad at me? I'm sorry about earlier," Autumn said.

"It's fine. I'm accustomed to your rudeness," Greyson said, shoving a large apple slice into his mouth.

"You know I don't have bad intentions. You are like my brother, and sibs are always rude to each other."

"I guess."

Autumn pulled out her laptop and continued writing.

"You're still writing that story?" Hailee asked.

"Of course. I only started it a week ago. I've been writing during every calculus period. Poor Mr. Routberg thinks I'm taking notes," Autumn said.

"And you wonder why you have terrible grades," Greyson said.

"This story is inspiring me. Math does not inspire me," Autumn said.

"Inspiring you? How?" Greyson asked.

"I want to be more like Aimee. She's sweet. She's slow to judge. She's friends with everyone. She's talented. And don't get me started on her superb school schedule. She has straight A's in the hardest classes, half of which she shares with Ray," Autumn said.

"I'm feel like you're just writing a book about the life you wish you had," Greyson said.

"Maybe," Autumn said, "but all I know is that it's really motivating me to be a better person."

"Really? Because I think it would just make you feel bad about yourself and further exemplify how you're not at all like the girl you wish you were," Greyson said.

"Greyson!" Hailee said.

"Okay, wow. Ouch. Thanks a lot! If you have nothing nice to say, don't say it at all," Autumn said.

"Sure," he said.

"Do you guys know that girl Ray has been hanging out with lately?" Autumn asked.

"I don't know her name but she is absolutely beautiful," Hailee said.

Autumn groaned, "I hope he doesn't say no when I invite him to my birthday party just because he is into some other girl."

"Looks like someone is a little jealous," Hailee said.

"Aren't you?" Autumn said.

"Not really," Hailee said.

"Hailee, unlike you, is confident in herself," Greyson said.

"Shut up. I am extremely confident," Autumn said.

"Really?" Hailee asked.

Autumn wrote something into her story.

"Well... at least Aimee is," she said.

After school, Autumn made sure to rush to the senior parking lot to meet up with Ray.

"Hey Ray!" Autumn said, catching up to him.

"Hey," he said.

"My name is Autumn, by the way."

"Oh, Autumn. Sorry about not knowing your name earlier."

"Don't worry about it. We only have one class together. I didn't expect you to get it right. Anyway, I wanted to invite you to my birthday party this weekend. I'm turning 18."

"When is it?"

"Saturday at five. Will I see you there?"

"I'll let you know."

"Okay. Do you want my number, my email, or maybe my--"

"No. I'll find you."

"Okay," Autumn said. She stood still, staring Ray down as he walked away.

"Move," someone said, pushing Autumn.

Autumn's books and phone fell to the floor.

The girl who pushed her turned back around.

"Don't block the sidewalk just because you found out your boyfriend dumped you for a prettier girl," she said.

"What? I don't have a boyfriend," Autumn said.

"But you wish you did, don't you?" the girl said, turning around and walking away.

Autumn kneeled down to pick up her things, cursing under her breath. She had never been treated so poorly by a complete stranger.

Suddenly, a girl kneeled down beside her to help.

"Thank you," Autumn said.

"No problem," the girl said.

Autumn looked up to find a girl with the most dazzling green eyes and the most beautiful skin she had ever seen.

"I saw that girl push you," the girl started, "I wouldn't pay it much attention. She must have some sort of issues herself, don't you think?"

"What do you mean?" Autumn asked.

"A person can't have that bad of an attitude without a reason; and you didn't do anything to her, did you?"

Autumn nodded.

"Just what I thought," the girl said, "someone else must have done something to her to make her act that way."

"Maybe," Autumn said.

Finally, Autumn recognized her. She was the girl Ray had his arm around.

The girl continued, "I hope someone helps her. I'll see you around."

The mysterious girl turned around and started walking away. To Autumn's surprise, the front pouch of her backpack had letter patches on it that spelled the name Aimee.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Leanne Tarrab

Hi! My name is Leanne. I'm from Los Angeles, California. I'm a singer, writer, and actress. I currently attend the University of California, Santa Barbara. I'm double-majoring in Sociology and Film & Media Studies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.