Horror logo

A Knock at the Door (An Original Fiction)

He just stared at me with those eyes of a devil.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

There was a knock at the door.

It was a Friday night, but not the Friday night I wanted to have.

It was such a fresh summer night, with the wind lightly blowing and it was quiet. I could have been out with my friends if my parents didn’t go out for dinner. I was stuck babysitting my little sister.

“Can I get the door?” My sister asked, in the midst of playing with her dolls.

“No, remember what mom said?” I told her.

“But, what if it’s the mailman?”

I looked at her as if she was crazy. “The mailman doesn’t come during the night, Lissy!”

“Then who is it? Mommy and daddy don’t knock!" she said placing her hands on her hips.

I rolled my eyes and got up. Ever so slightly, I pulled back the drape.

It was a man dressed in black. He had both of his hands stuffed in his pockets. His face was covered by his hood, but if one looked closely they could make out the stubble of hairs on his chin.

I was going to ignore him, when Lissy had to come and tap on the window to get his attention.

He turned and looked at us with an icy stare.

“Lissy, go to your room.” My voice quivered in fear. I hardly even glanced at my sister.

“Why, it’s not my bedtime?”

“Just do as I say!”

My sister went to her room. I waited until her bedroom door closed.

“What do you want?” I said through the door.

“May I use your phone?" Of all the houses on the street, why did he pick ours?

“Why, for what?” I asked, trying not to make my voice tremble.

“I need to get in touch with a friend. My car broke down. I just want him to come pick me up.”

The man’s voice had a creepy tone. It was scratchy and deep with a rasp. It was obvious that he smoked a lot.

I peaked my face behind the little drape of the window. “I’m sorry, you can’t come in. There’s a pay phone down the street.”

He just stared at me with those eyes of a devil. What did he want with me?

“Are you sure there is a pay phone down the street?” He came so close to the glass that I thought he was going to punch his hand through it.

“Y-Yes, it’s right in town.”

“Who’s at the door?” It was Lissy, with her teddy bear in hand.

The man could see Lissy and he smiled at her. Lissy scrambled behind me.

“Just go away, if you come back I’m calling the police!” I yelled. I even punched the door to seem more intimidating.

The man remained where he stood until he slowly took off down the block. It was so hard to make him out because he was covered in black.

“Who was that? Is he a monster?” Lissy asked me, clinging to my shirt.

“In some ways, yes.” I said reaching to the phone.

Maybe it was a good thing that I was home this Friday night. Life lessons can pop up when you least expect them.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.