Horror logo

A Hunter's Harrowing Night

An Unforgettable Wilderness Encounter in Northern Michigan

By Mikey WilliamsPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
A Hunter's Harrowing Night
Photo by Federico Beccari on Unsplash

I was 14 when the story took place. It was my first year hunting deer with my family to be specific, my father, my cousin and myself. To paint a picture my blind was two miles south of my father's with his stand being nine miles southwest of my camp. We drove a four-wheeler about 100 yards away from his stand, which left me with a while to walk before I even got to mine.

I live in northern Michigan and during the winter it gets dark quickly and early it was around 4 p.m. when I started to get cold and decided to close up my tent. I was hunting with a 243 rifle that had a pink camo cover on it with a strap around it so I could hang it off my back. I closed up my blind zippers and put my garbage away in a bucket I had. As I was throwing away my trash, I heard a couple of leaves crumble. So I immediately turned my head up to see if it was a deer. After about a minute, I brushed it off as a squirrel or a bird.

Disappointed, I closed my blinds and headed to my father's. As I was taking my first steps out of my blind, I could see a fresh pathway brush through the leaves. It was a wide path, not from a small animal or even a deer. I immediately started thinking a bear or a wolf.

So I started speed walking to where my dad was. I started to panic as it started to get even darker and I was still roughly a mile away. I was just walking as I was stopped in my tracks by one of the most haunting and horrifying noises I'd ever heard. The best way to describe it was a bear slash man that was being murdered. Sounded roughly 150 yards back as I started to run. Running with boots and thick hunting gear was hard with £20 on my back.

But fear pushed me through and I didn't stop. Around 25 seconds later, I was still running when I heard it again. This time, it was louder and closer. At this point, it was completely dark out with the moon being the only source of light I turned around with my headlight. And what I saw is still the most terrifying thing I've ever seen around 50 yards away.

I saw a black figure in the dark illuminated by the moonlight behind it. It was around 10 feet tall and skinny without thinking twice. I started running while trying to get my gun off my back. I didn't know where I was running, but I just ran. I ended up on a road that I recognized as rabbit road, the road that connects my camp with the entrance to the hunting area.

I ran on the road until I got to my camp. By the time I got into sight of my cabin, I turned around again and saw it again this time further away. It was still standing up and I can only describe it as a tall black, skinny figure. It had long arms and long legs. As I got on my cabin steps, I threw up from exhaustion and continued to vomit for about a minute as I later passed out. I woke up to the sound of my dad's four-wheeler turning into the cabin driveway.

I started crying as I ran up to him, hugging him. I quickly told him the story of what happened and how I ran back without stopping. He didn't believe me at first. But as we got settled inside, his face started to change. As he saw the desperation in my eyes, I didn't sleep that night or for weeks after people told me it was most likely a bear or I was just seeing things.

But I know what I saw. I'm older now and I only hunt with someone with me. I also hunt with a bigger gun because it reassures me that I could shoot something larger as I'm writing this. This was the most scary experience of my life.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mikey Williams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.