Horror logo

4 TRUE & Terrifying Church stories

( True stories from reddit)

By david padillaPublished 12 months ago 17 min read
Like
4 TRUE & Terrifying Church stories
Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

4 TRUE & Terrifying Church stories

In school I had a couple of close friends

Jason and Brian we did quite a bit

together and when it came time to

graduate Jason had to move away to

Lexington South Carolina with his family

due to his father's work

after we graduated and he had completed

his move with his family my friend Brian

and I were invited to pay a visit for a

weekend to his new house we decided out

of boredom to start hiking around in the

nearby forest and Countryside which we

found had a Scenic River it was a

beautiful area and felt quite peaceful

but we ended up getting lost we decided

to keep following the river as we lost

track of which direction was upstream or

Downstream with no sounds of

civilization anywhere we could hear we

quickly became concerned about finding a

telephone to call Jason's mom or dad to

get us from wherever we were even though

there was no paved Road or Street that

we could find nearby as we kept

following the river we came to this old

church looking Building made of really

old red bricks with a dirt parking lot

and a dirt road leading up to it it was

very encroached with growth and bushes

we decided to go inside and see if there

were people and maybe asked to use their

telephone and get the address for this

location

we noticed there were a few old cars

which looked to be 70s or 80s possibly

novas four of them very dirty and rusted

in this dirt parking lot with flat or

missing tires they were all white

colored or used to be and parked in a

row side by side as we got closer we

heard gospel music sounds and some

singing inside the church we were

relieved that there were people so we

went into the church which appeared to

be rather old and dilapidated

we peeked past the main doors to the

hall and saw what I estimated was a

couple dozen people dressed as nicely as

they could though they clearly were poor

when we went inside the old white-haired

woman wearing horn Rim glasses who was

playing the church piano stopped playing

and she looked at us with no expression

on her face

what happened next really stuck with me

and I will never forget it as long as I

live everyone in that church stopped

singing and put down their song sheets

and they all slowly turned their heads

and looked at us with the most vacant

and unwelcoming glares

Jason said we're sorry to interrupt we

just want to use your phone to call my

folks to come get us

nobody spoke it was dead silent in that

church other than the wooden pews

creaking from the weight of the people

in them

so we just slowly backed out of the door

and let it close behind us and looked at

each other an ominous fear and quietly

left

we started walking up that dirt road and

when Brian mentioned that there were no

crosses or anything Christian in there

we looked back up the road to see that

maybe a dozen of those people all men

had walked out in the front of the

church and were standing there watching

us intently as we walked along the road

this freaked us out and we began to

Sprint up that dirt road for what felt

like a good half hour

we finally came to a very old broken

down gas station that looked like one of

those old full service stations we went

inside to find that the shelves were

mostly empty and Dusty from a quick

glance and an old overly tan swarthy man

with a really oily and dirty baseball

cap was behind the counter reading some

old book with ragged edges and yellowed

Pages he looked up and said you boys

lost huh just head out that way you came

in and make a left and follow that road

till you see a telephone pole and just

go right at the pole down the trail and

it'll take you to a highway we thank the

man and left quickly and as we walked

down the road to the telephone pole the

man told us about again looked back and

the old man was out in front of the gas

station with his arms folded just

staring at us with a rotten tooth grin

on his face

we got to the poll made the right and

followed that trail to the nearest

highway after about a good half hour of

walking in the Twilight it had just

gotten dark as we got to the highway and

we tried to wave down a few people

passing by but nobody stopped

thankfully a police officer saw us and

pulled over to help us we told them we

were lost and gave him Jason's address

to which he whistled and said we really

were lost

it took about 30 minutes for that

officer to drive us back to Jason's and

during the Chit Chat he told us we

needed to be careful out in those woods

as there are some crazy witch folks in

it.

a long time ago I'm talking like eight

years ago two friends and I James and

Sean did something really stupid but at

the time doing stupid things was what we

did to pass the time

we're not really friends with James

anymore but Sean and I still talk often

and so often times we'll talk with each

other about this story

we were 19 years old we lived in

New Jersey lots of vacant houses in our

old town and Atop A hilly road not far

from our houses was an abandoned church

locals knew about the church it was on a

closed off road and it had been

abandoned for many years I'm not sure if

it's still standing or what the current

state of it is as I live in Florida now

but James Shawn and I being The

troublemaking Thrill Seekers we were

came up with this genius plan of

bringing a Ouija board to the church

late one night this was October so I

guess we were doing it in honor of

spooky season

Sean had the Ouija board in his closet

so he brought it I drove the three of us

so I first picked up James then Sean and

we just drove straight towards the

church since the road up the hill to the

church was literally blocked off we had

to park on the side of the road and walk

from there

we followed the road up the hill to the

church using one flashlight at first so

as not to overdo it and draw any

possible attention but once we were atop

the hill we pretty much all three of us

turned on our flashlights the church was

surrounded by Woods in basically all

directions and had a gravel parking lot

alongside it the church had been broken

into a million times before and was

littered with graffiti so the big front

door was already a jar two of us had to

work together to pull it open because it

scraped on the floor though once inside

we naturally just looked around the

place with our flashlights to make sure

no one else was in there it was

definitely creepy being in that place at

night

Sean set up the Ouija board then he

pulled out these three candles from his

backpack as well and he laughed and said

it would add to the experience

he placed the three candles in a

triangle formation around the board and

as they were all lit we turned off our

flashlights now the only light in the

whole place was from the candles

creating a much more eerie and

uncomfortable vibe we really couldn't

see more than maybe six feet in all

directions so we began playing with the

Ouija board Sean was doing most of the

talking at this point I can't remember

exactly what he said but he definitely

opened with is anybody there in the

typical cliche Ouija board questions

the planchette started to move and we

started to laugh I knew it was one of

them doing it I feel like it's not

possible to play with a Ouija board with

your friends without someone jokingly

moving around the planchette we went

along with it though and whoever was

moving it spelled out a few words as

this was going on though we heard a

weird crack type sound come from the

altar of the church

best way I could describe it is it

sounded like a big piece of wood

cracking in half it was loud and it

sounded like it was done by someone

we all jumped in reaction and hurried to

shine our phones flashlights in the

direction of the altar there was no one

there as far as we could see I think

both of them were just as freaked out as

I was after that but the place was old

and falling apart so some weird noises

here and there didn't seem that crazy

and so we kept going

we all took turns asking the board

questions but the planchette was no

longer moving I think because that crack

sound freaked all three of us out and

now we were taking it more seriously

this went on for some time until another

sound from the altar area broke the

silence again

but before we even had time to shine our

lights over there again something landed

on the Ouija board causing all of us to

jump and scream

it was a rock about the size of a golf

ball

all three of us just had her hands on

the planchette two seconds ago there was

no way any of us could have done that

we all three got up and ran back out of

the church screaming leaving the Ouija

board and candles behind

we ran all the way down the hill and

back to my car and fearing we were being

chased we didn't stick around I drove us

all back to James's house where we just

sat in the car for a good half hour

talking wondering what exactly just

happened

Sean is very religious and superstitious

as well he was confident we had reached

a spirit of some kind I don't really

believe in any of that stuff I believe

there was someone else in the church

with us which I find to be equally

terrifying Sean went back to the church

the next day with James to get his Ouija

board back and to make things even

stranger the Ouija board was missing but

the candles were still in place

when they saw it was missing from the

entrance they decided to just leave

right away this remains to be the single

scariest experience of my life.

this happened in Warren County Georgia a

very rural Inland part of the state

I was with my girlfriend Marissa and we

were driving around checking out the

area seeing if it was somewhere we'd

like to live

it was very quiet and spacious which is

what we wanted

were both Roman Catholic she likes to go

to church a little more than I do though

it was a weekday in the middle of the

day and not much traffic at all we

checked out a bunch of things in the

area that would be important to see

before deciding on moving to an area

since Marissa has been an equestrian for

most of her life a big point of us

moving to a rural area was for her to

have a barn for her horses after

checking out some properties listed for

sale we happened to pass by a small cute

looking Church on the side of this very

quiet road with a bunch of cars in the

parking lot this church wasn't far from

the last property we just looked at so

Marissa shook my shoulder and said we

should see if a mess was going on see if

it's nice and so I pulled into the

little dirt-like parking lot for the

building and parked next to some old red

minivan a lot of the cars in the parking

lot were on the older side in fact I'd

say most of them I mentioned that to

Marissa as we got out of the car and she

agreed and said it was probably because

it was a lower income area I opened the

door to the church for us and we stepped

in and it was a pretty small insight as

we expected I'd say there were five rows

of pews each cut in half in the middle

by the Nave or Center Aisle there had to

be at least 20 people in there though

they were not an older crowd

usually in every mess big or small you'd

see a decent amount of seniors but based

on the backs of everyone's heads in

there everyone appeared to be in their

30s to 40s it seemed everyone was

sitting in silence for some kind of

prayer as we sat down in the back the

people closest to us started looking at

us like one at a time and as others

noticed the staring they would look to

see what the others were staring at and

then look at us

Marissa and I looked at each other then

nervously looked back at everyone all we

could think to do was smile but no one

smiled back they were giving us the most

unwelcoming stairs and I just realized

none of these people were dressed even

remotely nicely for a mess what was

going on here

this was when I realized there were no

women in here not a single one besides

Marissa in the stairs they seemed to be

staring more at Marissa than me a man in

a mask at the front of this alleged

Church by what I guess was supposed to

be the altar then stepped up and pointed

at us and said who invited you here

I took it upon myself to answer for us

and said that we were just passing by

and saw that a mess was going on and we

wanted to join the man was clearly not a

priest and this was clearly not a Roman

Catholic Church the masked man said you

need to leave now by now every last

person in the church was looking at us

I said come on honey and we got up and

hurried out and ran to the car we wasted

no time sitting in the car I got us out

of that parking lot right away but we

both noticed in the rear view mirror

someone from the building getting in

their van in the parking lot I felt like

there was no way they were going to

follow us until we saw that gray van

catching up to us in the mirror I had

Marissa GPS the Warren County Sheriff's

Office and we drove straight there

the van was behind us the whole time not

on our ass but close enough that it was

obvious

the second we pulled into the public

safety parking lot the van kept driving

down the road when it was gone we simply

drove straight home and never looked at

Warren County again we clearly ended up

in some kind of cult meeting but I don't

get why they had someone follow us nor

why they were having their meeting in

broad daylight or why they didn't

at least lock the door.

when I was a Cub Scout we would always

have our meeting somewhere in a Catholic

Elementary School whether it was in the

school gym or in one of the adjacent

rooms I was like eight years old when

this happened and it was disturbing

but before I get into why I'm telling

you that let me start from the beginning

it started a few days earlier when I was

at Mass with my mom and my brother like

we'd go to every other week we usually

would be late so we'd either sit in the

back or stand by The Doors if there were

no seats today we sat all the way in the

back corner my mom and then brother

entered the Pew first I sat on the end

at some point during the mass I noticed

an older man with glasses and a white

mustache was standing against the wall

to the left of me looking at me as I

glanced over he smiled and I still

remember vividly this stupid creepy face

that he made as he was trying to be

funny

but I was eight I wasn't a toddler it

felt weird and uncomfortable

I did my best to look away but I could

see him keep looking over to me every

few seconds

I looked back at him and once again he

made another weird face that I assume he

was making to try and be funny it just

came off as weird again

my mom noticed it this time and tapped

me on the shoulder and whispered to

ignore him I believe she gave him a

dirty look as well the next time I

looked in that direction the man wasn't

there anymore he had walked somewhere

else

the next thing I remember from that mask

was going up for communion and then as I

got back to my seat the man was back in

that spot again and he was staring at me

just smiling the whole time until I got

back to my seat my mom noticed it again

and since we got the communion we just

left my mom said on the way out she

didn't like the way that guy was looking

at us specifically me

now fast forward to when Scouts come

into play towards the end of our

meetings we'd sometimes have little fun

contests or games and this day in

question we were having a scavenger

hunts the items we were supposed to be

finding all tied into the theme of

scouting I remember some of the objects

on the list being a first aid kit a rope

a flashlight things of that nature

we were split into two teams and we all

had a copy of the list and the team to

find the most items would win so we all

split up the play area ranged from the

gym to the cafeteria to some of the

adjacent rooms I was running around

rooms and Tiny hallways I'd never even

seen before looking for any of the items

I could find on the list I wasn't having

much luck

eventually I found myself in this very

narrow hallway in the back section of

the cafeteria by the kitchen in this

hallway was one of those ice cream

fridges filled with like ice pops I

looked inside the fridge for any of the

items nothing but then I decided to be

sneaky and take one of the ice cream

pops

as I did I heard a man's voice to the

right of me I looked over and saw that

man from the church a few days earlier

walked walk over to me smiling he said

something like don't let them see you

taking that he shut the fridge door and

grabbed my hand and told me he had some

better treats in the back where the kids

aren't allowed I broke my hand free from

his grip and tried to walk away scared

and he grabbed my wrist this time

tightly

I turned to him and he went shh calm

down I yelled help and he let go of me

and said stop it I ran back to the gym

and told the cub master what happened

thankfully my cub master wasn't actually

nice caring man probably because he was

a father himself and he told my mom

about it I told my mom it was that same

man from the church and my cub master

would help my mom in reporting that man

to the church

turned out that that man worked for the

church I'm not sure what exactly he did

but he lived on the church grounds which

explained why he was there

what makes me sick though is that

allegations came out against that man

from an altar boy's parents claiming he

touched him inappropriately the

disgusting thing is I can imagine what

he was planning on attempting to do if I

actually followed him to wherever he was

trying to take me I don't know if that

man went to prison or what but I know

the church cut ties with him after this.

Thank you.

urban legendsupernaturalslasherpsychologicalmonster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.