Horror logo

5 Terrifying Scary Stories

( Home Alone)

By david padillaPublished 12 months ago 21 min read
Like
5 Terrifying Scary Stories
Photo by Kamil Feczko on Unsplash

5 TERRIFYING Scary Stories

(Home Alone)

I live in a house with my sister it's a two-floor

house a mother-daughter house meaning it

has two kitchens my sister takes the

downstairs I take the upstairs my sister

isn't home a lot because she often stays

with her boyfriend who lives 20 miles

away like I said I'm 30. I shouldn't let

being home alone ever freak me out but

admittedly sometimes it does

this happened on a night that I was home

alone in my living room watching a scary

movie my part of the house is an open

layout so the living room dining room

and kitchen are all one big space my

couch is in the middle of the space so

as I watch TV on the couch my back is to

a large part of the room behind me so

for those a little more easily spooked

it wouldn't be the most comfortable

place to be sitting alone watching a

scary movie

I'll admit as I watched in the dark room

with nothing but the light from the TV

to cancel the darkness of the room I

found myself glancing over my shoulder a

lot

I like to think I'm not the only 30 year

old male that does that

but anyway after the movie I brush my

teeth turned off all the lights in the

house then went to sleep

my sleep lasted for about two hours

I woke up around 1am and I wasn't sure

why I woke up at first

then I Heard a Voice downstairs it

sounded like my sister it sounded like

she was inside the house so it's not

like she was calling for me to open the

door but still I knew it was my sister's

voice

I didn't know what she was yelling up to

me though but I was still groggy and not

thinking straight

all I could think was that she must have

been calling for me or arguing with her

boyfriend so I got out of bed and went

into the pitch black Hall I turned on

the hallway lights and then made my way

through the living room and heard my

sister's voice again from downstairs now

I could understand her to be saying my

name

I made my way downstairs in the dark

yelling back at her what is it I looked

for the light switch in the foyer

downstairs but couldn't find it

I'm not lying when I say I was groggy as

hell I walked down her little hallway

towards her kitchen find a light switch

and flick it on the light in the kitchen

lights up her little apartment including

her living room the light starts off dim

and needs time to brighten up but I

still saw that there was no one down

there not her not her boyfriend I went

to her bedroom but it was empty I called

her name really loudly one time no one

called back but shortly after I yelled I

heard something dropped to the floor in

my sister's bedroom which I had just

checked and it was empty

I went back up the stairs like a little

kid and went back to my bed to where my

phone was I tried to call her a few

times but she didn't pick up I had

myself locked in my room wondering if I

had just hallucinated all of that

eventually I fell asleep and in the

morning I woke up to text from my sister

asking why I called her at 1am

I asked her if she was home last night

and she told me no she was currently

staying at her boyfriend's house

I went downstairs to her bedroom to see

what may have fallen down on the floor

but there was not a single object on the

floor that could have made that noise

I'm led to believe I hallucinated

everything I heard that night but that's

what I want to believe because the

alternative would be much more horrific

but I've never really hallucinated

anything else or had any kind of sleep

disorders so how vividly I heard my

sister's voice and that sound in her

room really freaks me out.

I was left home alone a lot as a kid

just due to the fact that my mom was

single for a good chunk of my upbringing

and she worked as an RN on a crappy RN

schedule and my brother went away to

college this was a night that my mom was

working in overnight

it was a weekend night so I had this

Girl Molly over who I was talking to and

she hung out for a while we watched a

couple movies and whatnot and eventually

she had to go home because her parents

don't like her out late so I was left

alone to hold down the fort

I continued to watch TV in my room in

bed my bedroom is upstairs next to the

backyard so when someone dragged one of

the chairs on the deck outside I heard

it

I got up and looked out the window and I

saw someone sitting on one of the deck

chairs down below I called Molly's name

thinking it was her after all she'd only

left under 10 minutes ago whoever it was

looked up at me but it wasn't Molly

I immediately pulled away from the

window to hide

that was not anybody I recognized not in

the Darkness at least

I texted a few close friends on our

group chat if it was one of them messing

with me the ones who answered all said

no and asked what I was talking about

I didn't really believe any of my

friends would come to my house to mess

with me like that anyway

scared shi*less but still curious I

slowly walked back over to the window to

look down again and that person was

still sitting in the chair looking up at

my window

it was a he that much was clear and he

definitely saw me

I hurried away from the window again to

turn off the TV I sat in my bed in a

ball basically with my arms wrapped

around my knees

I waited in darkness for a while I

didn't even want to turn my phone screen

on because I was scared he'd see the

light I didn't even want to move because

the window was opened and I feared that

he'd hear any movement I made I wanted

him to assume I was just no longer in

the bedroom

I waited enough time it had to be a

solid five minutes of just sitting there

I highly doubted that man outside could

still be there I finally mustered up the

courage to get up and look out the

window

I felt a little part of me die inside

when I saw he was still down there

looking up at my window

instead of running away from the window

again I tried to be brave and said down

to him what do you want I then noticed

his shoulders started to go up and down

as if you were laughing really hard but

he didn't make any kind of audible

laughing sounds at first so I heard a

slight whistling sound coming from him

it seemed like he was laughing so hard

that he was wheezing I asked him to

please go away then walked away from the

window again

I went back to my bed I was scared to

call the police for some reason

I left my room and sat at the top of the

stairway listening the back door was

being pushed he was trying to get into

the house

I ran back to my room to hide again I

I was 14. I didn't know what else to do

eventually I heard the front door's door

not being fiddled with and the man

trying to push the front door open as

well

he gave up quickly thank God

I closed my bedroom window and curtains

if our doors weren't locked I could have

been killed easily

I was skinny and weak when I was 14 and

definitely not a fighter

I didn't leave my room again that night

until my mom got home around nine I told

her what happened and her reaction was

angry at me for not calling 9-1-1 and in

hindsight that was very stupid of me one

of the many things I did or rather

didn't do at a young age that I

questioned greatly.

this was the story of how I almost died

as a young kid home alone and possibly

the most intense night of my life with

way too much going on

we're a family of five I was 10 at the

time my older brother was 14 my little

sister was five

it was a Friday night my brother was out

with his friends causing trouble clearly

because a dreaded phone call came to my

parents all I remember was I was in my

room playing a Star Wars video game when

I heard my mom start freaking out crying

I got really scared and hurried to see

what was wrong

my mom was on the phone with a hospital

calling to inform my parents that my

brother had gotten hit by a car

obviously we were all shaken and really

scared my brother's leg was broken but I

don't know what else was said on the

phone all I know is my parents hurried

to get their coats on and got my little

sister from her room and asked me if I

was okay to stay home alone I said yes

and they hurried out to the car and left

I was of course really worried for my

brother but I really didn't want to go

to the hospital and see him in any kind

of bad condition I don't think my

parents wanted me or my sister to either

but they didn't want to leave my

five-year-old sister home without them

it's worth mentioning my brother

recovered just fine as his injury is no

longer relevant to the story other than

it being the reason why I was left home

alone on a Friday night

before my dad left he was trying to calm

down my mom telling her he was going to

be okay

so seeing my dad like that made me feel

better I had a feeling my mom was just

being over dramatic like any mom would

be I continued playing the Star Wars

game for a couple more hours when I

heard the front door open

I had my bedroom door closed by this

point it was easily past midnight and

past my bedtime so I turned off the TV

and PlayStation and crawled into my bed

with my Game Boy

I tried listening to hear my parents

voices maybe here if my brother was with

them or just hear what they were saying

but I didn't hear anything

after a few minutes of not hearing them

even come up the stairs I had a feeling

something was wrong

I went to my door and quietly opened it

then walked over to the ledge and

Banister that overlooked the living room

the lights were off but there were three

tall people standing in my living room

they weren't my family

I was so petrified that I was frozen for

a second before I could quietly walk

back into my room and shut the door as

quietly as I could in my trepidation but

it wasn't quiet enough and I knew it

they had to have heard the door click

shut even if just slightly I hurried to

my closet door opened it quietly stepped

inside then shut the door I had myself

sitting behind a bunch of the boxes and

bags of clothes that were stuffed in my

closet I was actually pretty covered

from View

there was a short period that felt like

forever that I was anticipating my

bedroom door open and it did and at that

moment I knew I was going to die

I heard footsteps walk into the room I

couldn't tell how many people it may

have been one it may have been two I

heard the footsteps moved to my bed and

I heard my covers being played with...

then silence

that more footsteps towards the closet

door then silence for a few seconds

and then the closet door opened,

my heart was in my throat by this point

all I did was sit quietly and hold my

breath

the door was open for a really long time

but I didn't look up I didn't move

it had to be a good 20 seconds of

Silence before the door closed again

footsteps walked away from the door then

out of the room I finally looked up and

I just realized from where I was

crouched down behind the bags and boxes

I may have been visible to that person

it wasn't until probably an hour that I

heard my parents return I ran downstairs

to them the front door was left ajar by

the people who broke in and they had

stolen a number of valuables from our

house

it was a night that just went from bad

to worst for our family

my parents were in such a rush when they

left for the hospital that they

apparently didn't even lock the door I

was lucky to have not been killed that

were kidnapped

I look back now and really wonder if the

person who opened the closet and just

stood there for 20 seconds saw me hiding

in there maybe he was just a guy that

came to rob a house not to kidnap or

hurt a child

or maybe he just didn't see me and I

just narrowly escaped death or injury.

I was home alone for an entire week one

time when I was still a teenager living

with my parents which was a rare

occasion since my parents don't go out a

lot

my mom's Rich friend Patty invited my

parents on a trip that she was paying

for I'm an only child so I was left

alone in the house

we lived in Newark Ohio which is in

Licking County yes our County was

actually called Licking County

my parents old house had Woods in the

backyard and was on some quiet road that

only a few cars would pass per day

usually we had a huge deck in the

backyard overlooking the woods and a

decently large backyard we even had a

little fish pond and above ground

swimming pool

this was on a Thursday night I remember

because I had conversations with friends

about plants for the weekend that day

This was in July of 2013.

I was out on the deck smoking weed with

my speaker playing music that's about

the time it started

I thought I Heard a Voice from out in

the woods

I lowered the music and listened for a

little bit

it didn't repeat so I raised it back up

when the music was loud again I Heard a

Voice from out in the woods again

this time I turned the music off

completely and listened for longer there

was a voice calling from the woods again

confirming I wasn't just hearing things

male's voice saying hey over here

he was kind of distant but not too far

the woods were anywhere from 20 to 30

yards away from the deck and that's

where the voice was coming from

I didn't think in a million years it was

someone calling out for me though rather

maybe just some kids playing Manhunt or

something

The Voice called out again hey over here

we need help this time I realized the

voice was too deep to be a kid and when

a voice yells out we need help obviously

that'll always be slightly concerning

I was getting a little bit uncomfortable

now because now I was questioning if

these yells were directed at me

now I heard the voice yell straight in

front of you please come help us and the

voice was coming from straight in front

of me in the woods now I had a feeling

this was directed at me

I reluctantly called back who is that

and they responded we just need help

we're stuck in the woods

I called back what does that mean then

the voice replied back just please come

help straight in front of you

I got out for my seat walked down the

steps of the deck onto the grass and

proceeded towards the woods

I called out I'm coming Where Are You

The Voice replied instantly right in

front of you I see you

I replied back wait are you alone or

with someone there was no answer this

time I stopped in my tracks about

halfway towards the woods I had a bad

feeling in my gut about this

I started walking backwards back towards

the house and the deck

I didn't even want to turn my back to

the woods because it took me that long

to realize there was something very

suspicious about this situation

I made it back to the deck and the voice

didn't say anything else

if they truly saw me and this was real

they would have said something like

where are you going at the very least

they knew I was on to the situation but

who even knows how many people were in

there

could have been one could have been

three all I know is getting stuck in the

woods makes absolutely no sense

especially if he or they were able to

literally see me

like what did their shirt get caught on

a branch I went inside the house and

locked all the doors just to be safe

I chilled in my living room for a bit

still high and I think that's why I was

more trusting at first because of how

high and relaxed I was

then though I heard the voice again from

outside closer now definitely in the

backyard and not the woods anymore I

heard splashing of water it could have

been the pool or the pond

I hurried to the window to see I didn't

see anyone at first but then the voice

called I see you with a laugh

I noticed him it was one guy at least

one guy visible he was hidden behind the

pool on the other side and I could only

see his head it was just too dark to

make out anything besides this dark

medium length hair

I close the blinds and tried to ignore

it maybe he'd lose interest if he saw I

wasn't entertaining him

he was probably a sick deranged person

who enjoyed messing with people so I

didn't want to give him what he wanted

but my breaking point was when there was

a horrible aggressive banging on the

window where I had just closed the

blinds and on the other side the guy was

screaming help I screamed at the top of

my lungs to F*** off you freak the

police are coming I screamed it over and

over trying to make myself sound crazier

than him

I heard him start to laugh on the other

side of the glass his laughing started

to fade away as I assume he walked away

I sat back down on the couch trembling

shaking out of breath I sat there for a

while and it seemed like the guy had

really given up

I still got a good night's sleep that

night because weed helps me sleep I

wonder if I would have handled that

situation any differently if I wasn't

High though

the situation made me more paranoid

about who I opened my door to.

I'm 23 years old and I live at home with

my parents still

one day they were both not home and I

was outside playing basketball in the

front yard

at some point while I was playing I

looked up at one of our upstairs windows

and saw a woman standing there not my

mom not my sister

he was a random woman

I guess when she saw me looking at her

she dipped away from the window when I

went inside and upstairs to check the

lounge room she wasn't anywhere

I checked every single room I could

every bedroom the bathroom every closet

then I checked the downstairs which

included the living room kitchen dining

room one bedroom and more closets

finally I checked the basement and I

highly doubted she could be down there

it's a small basement with a couple

couches a bar and two closets there

weren't many places for someone to hide

but when I opened the second closet door

I was incredibly scared as I didn't know

of any other places someone could be

hiding in the house this was the last

unchecked spot that I could think of

I yanked the door open as if I were

ripping off a Band-Aid and like I did

with the closet before this one I right

away pushed myself into the closet just

in case that woman was in there and I'd

have the jump on her but all I pushed

myself into was a bunch of coats and

coat hangers

I was so confused

I wasn't going to question my sanity

though I definitely saw that woman and I

knew it it wasn't the kind of thing you

would just so vividly imagine

I went back to the middle floor and

screamed very loud that whoever was in

the house needs to get the F out

I actually screamed so loud that our

next door neighbor came over and asked

if I was okay

I told him that I literally just saw a

woman at her upstairs window watching me

play basketball

he came in and helped me search again

when we couldn't find her I was left to

assume that she snuck out through the

back door which I did unlock after all

when I went to grab the basketball from

the yard

so my neighbor left I locked all the

doors called my parents and told them

the crazy story and they weren't too

thrilled but they asked me to make sure

nothing was stolen I did just that and

luckily it seemed anything that was

worth something was still in place so

now fast forward to that night

I went to sleep after checking the house

one more time just for peace of mind

it was hard to fall asleep though my

mind was racing for obvious reasons

most people can't relate to seeing a

stranger at their window inside of their

house

but my restlessness helped me out in

this situation and here's why

I was finally starting to drift away

slightly

then I heard some noises from the other

side of me

I had the fan on above me so the room

wasn't dead silence and that's why I

didn't immediately turn to my other side

at the first sound I heard

but the sound started as sounds

human-like

I turned to my other side and there she

was getting out from under my bed she

stood up tall above the bed and I

screamed so loud louder than earlier

before

I jumped out of my bed and tackled her

to the floor and had my hand around her

throat asking her who she was

my doorbell rang my neighbor again I

picked a tall dirty looking woman up off

the floor and dragged her to the front

door with me as she struggled and

scratched at me I still have two scars

on my right arm from her claws

I opened my front door to my neighbor

again and he let himself in and helped

me restrain the woman this was when I

called the police

the whole time we waited for the police

the woman was screaming and cursing at

my neighbor and I threatening us too

the best way to put it she looked and

acted like a meth head currently

suffering from withdrawals when the

police arrived one of the officers knew

exactly who the woman was they had dealt

with her multiple times before

her name was conveniently Karen it was

satisfying to watch her be brought into

the back of the police car

I let my neighbor know how grateful I

was for him coming so quickly to help

and that night my mind continued to race

but instead of being completely freaked

out which I still was a little I felt

this overwhelming feeling of

satisfaction

and I can't fully explain why…

supernaturalslashermonsterhalloween
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.