Horror logo

3 Disturbingly True Air-BNB Horror stories

(uploaded by reddit users)

By david padillaPublished 12 months ago 18 min read
1
3 Disturbingly True Air-BNB Horror stories
Photo by m wrona on Unsplash

3 Disturbingly True Air-BNB Horror stories

I rent out my South Carolina House on

Airbnb whenever I'm not using it it's a

modest three bedroom one bathroom house

by the beach

two of the bedrooms are guest rooms

which are accessible to the people

renting it the master bedroom I keep

locked with my clothes and certain

belongings in there that room is for me

and I have to keep my stuff somewhere

instead of lugging it back and forth

every time I go down there I have a

regular lock and then a deadbolt to lock

on there so no one's ever getting in

there unless they chop the door down or

break through the window but also it's

not like I keep anything super expensive

in there mainly just clothing

this was early last spring it was still

chilly up in Massachusetts where I live

most of the year I wanted to take a

drive down to my South Carolina house

for the week for the most part I work

remotely so luckily I'm able to do this

when I want to ordinarily I'd have my

usual cleaning lady come and clean the

house after each guest leaves the cost

of her service is baked into the price

of the rental on Airbnb but since I was

going down right after the current

renter would leave I just pocketed the

cleaning lady money and planned on going

down to clean it myself

the last renter was a guy named Ramon

through our messages he told me he was

renting with his fiancee and asked for

good restaurants to eat at in the area

he seemed trustworthy I always prefer to

rent a couple's or smaller groups of

women as opposed to groups of young men

because they're usually the ones to come

and get shit-faced and potentially

damage the place

I started my drive very early in the

morning it was about a 16-hour Drive

stopping only for a quick bite and to

use the bathroom

by the time I got to the house it was

about 10 o'clock at night I went to

unlock and open the front door first

before going back to my car to grab my

bags and go inside I was shot from

driving I didn't even bother checking

the place out or anything for a mess I

just went straight to my bedroom door to

unlock it

I collapsed into the bed without

brushing my teeth or anything for those

that haven't done it a 16-hour straight

drive will absolutely kill you I crawled

under the covers and I was out like a

baby in a matter of minutes

you'd think I'd have slept through the

night but no I woke up in a black room

the clock next to my bed read 11 30 PM I

had only been asleep for a little more

than an hour something woke me up

I grabbed my phone to check for any

texts out of habit then I turned on the

bedside lamp

I looked around the room then got up and

went out to the living room

I took this moment to start analyzing

the place I didn't notice a single thing

moved not a pillow not a can of beer

nothing

I went to the bedrooms both were void of

any people though the covers on a bed in

one of the rooms seemed to have been

moved so yes they did come

I thought they may have been the

cleanest couple to have ever stayed in

my place

I have a camera set up on the front

porch of the house I never really think

to check it unless a customer is giving

me any kind of hard time but I was

curious I opened the app to the camera

system on my phone and went to the

movement history it picked up on a man

entering the house via the code lock

three days earlier just a man though he

had no woman with him strange I checked

for any other movement updates from then

until the moment I showed up which it

also caught on video and there was

nothing I checked it over like five

times I suddenly got the chills I went

to the Airbnb app to message Ramon and

asked if he checked out okay even though

it was late at night

I went to check the bedroom where I

presumed he slept in I started checking

under the bed and in the closets I was

yanking the closet doors open as if I

were ripping off a Band-Aid each time I

was greeted with an empty closet

I moved along to the second guest

bedroom both twin beds in here were

still neat and untouched

as I yanked open the last closet he

could have been in I saw that it was

empty

I sat on one of the beds for a second to

just stare at the conversation between

Ramon and I that's when I heard the

master bedroom door click shut quietly

in a way that a person would have done

it not a drift

I went out to the living room and looked

at the master bedroom door I said Ramon

are you still in here with a shake in my

voice

no response I could see the light was

still on in the room through the bottom

crack of the door I got on all fours to

look under the crack of the door and I

fell backwards when I saw two feet

standing not far behind the door maybe a

couple feet away

I went to the knife holder in the

kitchen planning to grab the biggest

carving knife and it was already taken

by this point my only logical option was

to leave the house and call 9-1-1 and

that's what I did

I waited out front until the police

showed up then as we went inside there

was Ramon waiting in the living room no

knife in hand

he spoke in this Portuguese accents

acting all Innocents saying he just

needed a place to stay for one more

night which was complete [ __ ]

he denied ever picking up the knife

which was conveniently placed back in

the knife holder now after 30 minutes of

two police officers outside talking to

Ramon and two inside talking to me they

actually let him go and told me I should

contact Airbnb and try to work it out

with them and I was just shocked I felt

like the police didn't do their job

after everyone left I changed the lock

code on the door and I contacted Airbnb

about what happened though I didn't

receive payment for the extra day Ramone

squatted in my house they did apparently

ban him from ever using the app again it

doesn't really feel like proper Justice

though when he was potentially waiting

to stab me in my own house in my own

bedroom.

I'm 26 years old still living with my

parents I'm not content with my job and

I'm in a relationship that I'm not too

sure about to say I've been stressed

would be a Monumental understatement my

mom and I were not getting along one

week and everyone was just bothering me

I wanted to escape for a weekend I

looked into Little one-bedroom airbnbs

up in the mountains and found one for

cheap it was in Troutdale Virginia a

couple hours away from us and based on

the pictures it was this nice private

and peaceful looking little place

surrounded by Woods it was the fall too

so the foliage was going to be beautiful

I told my parents I was going there for

the weekends my mom seemed overly happy

about me leaving for the weekends my

girlfriend was more so just confused

finding it weird and suspicious that I

was going away to some random Cabin in

the Woods alone for a weekend

when Friday came I packed a backpack

full of clothes toiletries and my laptop

and I headed out for the road

it was around a two and a half hour

drive door to door the area of

Troutville was very quiet and Scenic it

was a perfect escape from Suburbia back

home I needed a nice weekend just to

spend to myself

I was driving up a gravel road when my

GPS told me I arrived I saw an opening

in the trees next to the road the

instructions the owner of the Airbnb

gave me were to cut through this opening

onto the grass and up the little Hill I

did exactly this and there I saw the

cute little house sitting at the top of

the hill the second I stepped out of the

car I inhaled the fresh rural air

instantly feeling happy I did this

the owner told me where to find the key

to the front door I let myself in and

checked the place out it was a nice cozy

living room small kitchen bathroom and

one Loft bedroom that you had to climb a

ladder-like Stairway to get up into and

there was a circular window over the bed

lots of light got into the house which

was nice

I went out to walk some of the trails

the owner told me about about a five

minute drive away

on the drive back to the house

afterwards I noticed these two guys

walking down the gravel road and as my

car was passing they literally stopped

in their tracks to turn and look at me

as I passed I waved and smiled thinking

they were friendly locals but they

didn't wave back

it was completely off-putting they

looked at me as if my driving down the

road was a crime

I didn't look back I turned into the

entrance of the property and back up the

hill

I started reading one of the books I

brought with me in the living room with

the fireplace going it was incredibly

cozy

the sun was on its way down and after

reading a chapter of my book I realized

I was getting hungry I went outside to

my car about to drive to the nearest

Walmart when I noticed two men kind of

running into the woods down the hill by

the entrance of the property probably in

response to seeing me come outside

I wondered if it was those two guys from

the road earlier it was incredibly

strange

I suddenly decided to take my laptop and

backpack with me in the car while I was

gone just to be safe

on the drive into town I messaged the

owner letting him know about this he

replied saying it's nothing to be

alarmed about there's a lot of teams in

the area that walk around so I dismissed

it I drove like 20 minutes to the

closest Walmart since there were

literally no grocery stores in the area

I picked up a few food items to hold me

over some milk granola bars fruit frozen

dinners bread and cold cuts

by the time I got back to the Airbnb it

was completely pitch blackout there were

no street lights on these Gravelly roads

and with no neighboring houses truly the

only light was from my headlights it was

creepy for sure

I pulled up to the hill to the little

house it was almost hard to find in the

dark

I grabbed my backpack in the grocery bag

and went up to the house in the dark

using my phone's flashlight to see once

inside I locked the door immediately

it was creepy out there

I ate real quick and went back to

reading my book by the fire and pretty

soon the lights to the room suddenly cut

out and the only light in the entire

house was from the fireplace

I tried flicking on Anything Electric

but the power was gone

I went to message the owner again who

swiftly replied back to check the main

breaker in the circuit box outside by

the telephone pole near the back of the

house

I didn't reply there was no way in hell

I was going out there I was already

paranoid from earlier and why would the

power be randomly cut out anyway

something was off

I heard a Creek in the floorboard from

the darkest corner of the room by the

bathroom door

I looked over saw this tall looming

figure in the doorway of the bathroom

lit up only by the fireplace

my worst fear had been realized this was

actually happening

a soft yet deep and disturbing voice

told me to remain calm and give him

everything I had I was so scared I could

barely speak I said all I had was my

laptop and some clothes he told me to

empty my wallet of all my money which I

did as he stood in the doorway I still

couldn't see his face

he told me to go into the kitchen and

stay there moments later I heard the

door to the house close I looked into

the living room my laptop backpack and

money was all gone I called 9-1-1

quietly to report a robbery 20 minutes

later an officer arrived I described the

two guys I'd seen walking down the

street earlier that day assuming it was

them working together on this

basically all the officer could tell me

was that they'd be on the lookout for

anyone matching those descriptions

I messaged the owner to tell him what

happened and he was sympathetic at first

or so it seemed he said I could go home

the next day but he didn't want to

refund me for my horrible experience a

trip I thought would be a nice detox for

a stressful point in my life only made

it worse

luckily my laptop was only like 400

bucks I didn't pack any expensive

clothing but it was still the scariest

experience of my life

there is a small part of me that

believes the Airbnb host may have

something to do with it because I still

have no idea how that guy got into the

house.

so a few years back after some friends

and I graduated high school we

celebrated in the White Mountains

National Forest Preserve we only lived

two or so hours away so it wasn't much

of a hike

we all packed inside my friend Alexis's

car also with us was my friend Rob his

girlfriend Stephanie and our friend

Kelly

Alexis's car was a Hyundai Accent so a

very small vehicle we didn't pack much

we were headed to this Airbnb in Carroll

New Hampshire at the height of the

summer it was a gorgeous Drive

once we got to the house it was just as

depicted in the photos only the pictures

didn't include the shambling looking

shed next to the house it seemed like it

had seen better years I probably could

have knocked it down myself

Alexis joked around that maybe some old

crazy guy lived in there and that's why

the place was so cheap but we all

laughed it off and unpacked our things

I'll be honest I was really into Alexis

and I think she was into me on account

that she said we should share a bed more

so because the third bedroom had two

doors leading to the outside and had a

perfect view of that old shed so she

didn't want to sleep there and she

wouldn't let me we both put our things

in the living room and made the pull-out

couch our bed not much happened the

first night

a little later we all sat in the hot tub

in the garage slash rec room

Alexa sat next to me and we faced the

woods while Rob and his girlfriend were

opposite of us

Rob's girlfriend couldn't step

completely into the water on account of

the stitches she just got Stephanie and

I were always good friends and carried

on with stories and joked about high

school sipping on our potentially

illegally acquired booze

Kelly on the other hand was changing and

not with us

Rob kicked my leg from under the water

and winked seeing how close Alexis was

getting to me but that wasn't too much

of a deal

we tried to plan out our next day and

talked about hiking to Mount Washington

and The Flume Gorge

after a good soak I eased into bed with

Alexis and we watched Rick and Morty for

a while until the Clock Struck 2 am and

we sat outside

the stargazing here was supposed to be

amazing and a bit later Kelly tagged

along with us

what happened next was hard to explain

in front of the house was this huge deck

that we were sitting on it was Pitch

Black and no cars were around

more or less we were in the middle of

nowhere no one really understands true

silence until you're away from cars or

planes for that matter

the sky was brightly lit purple blue

Full of Stars Kelly hushed me one time

just a few feet away from the porch she

heard some crunching as if something was

approaching the deck

there was definitely something walking

out there I waved it off as a raccoon or

Fox

until the steps sounded heavy and I

looked at Alexis

the fear began to set in as I noticed

her gaze was looking towards the old

shed where the footsteps had began

quickly I ushered the girls into the

cabin and locked all the doors I tried

to explain to them that it's still

possibly an animal especially if animals

had taken over that old shed easily both

of them calmed down

Kelly walked back into her room and I

again laid down beside Alexis

the next morning I woke up to Rob and

his girlfriend cooking breakfast in the

kitchen which was just across the room

from Alexis and I we had a big day

planned out and we did quite a lot of

hiking with most of us forgetting what

had transpired last night other than

Alexis

when we came back from hiking Alexis

suggested exploring the old shed that

was beside the house now that it was

Daylight nothing that bad could happen

right and I'll be honest I didn't want

to but I didn't want Alexis to think I

was a wuss we opened the screen door

investigating the first room

there was an old rickety rocking chair

seemed it might break if I tried to sit

in it the next door had one of those

brass doorknobs but it was rusted and

dented

I looked at Alexis before grabbing the

door and she groaned as she opened the

door

there wasn't much to the room the floor

was dirt

there was dirt caked windows and some

trash on the floor

Alexis made a point that it smelt of

cigarette smoke it may have been the

designated smoking spot in the Airbnb

we both Shrugged it off and joined the

others out back Rob was starting a fire

some typical conversation was going on

Rob poked fun at Alexis and I the sunset

and I turned off the floodlight out back

to make the Ambiance of our fire nicer

some Chuckles and stories are passed

around Rob and I boasting about our

feets and whatnot

then there grows a silence

that same crunching from last night is

heard behind us just against the tree

line except it was faster and headed in

our Direction

and just like that there was a flash of

green light lighting up the entirety of

the backyard for just a moment

whatever was running towards us halted

but my thoughts were ruptured by

Stephanie screams as she bolted towards

the house

behind us a blood-curdling cry or Yelp

was heard a deafening sound that at

first we thought was a siren

I instantly stood up yelling for

everyone to get inside Stephanie must

have saw whatever it was that made that

cry in my bolt I accidentally knocked

over Kelly who hadn't gathered the

entire scene yet I turned around to help

her up Rob was already halfway to the

house I ran to help Alexis gather our

food items last thing we wanted if it

was a bear for them to stay any longer

after that I rushed Alexis to the back

door where Rob was waiting for us with

some kind of bear spray I already at

this point had my buoy knife out I

commanded him to go in but he yelled at

me to go in because he's got the range

the two of us saw this black mess

walking along the outskirts of our fire

we didn't stay long enough to find out

what it was after meeting the girls in

the living room we called the police

immediately the officer reported to the

house and looked all around with his

flashlight finding nothing he clarified

to us that the flash was due to

lightning striking a nearby power line

or Transformer as for the thing he said

it was likely a fisher cat or something

but Stephanie said that she saw a man

hunched over with a cloak or blanket

hung over him

least to say we didn't stay the next

night over the sheer paranoia of someone

or something stalking us in the woods

was reason enough

to say the least we haven't returned to

the mountains since who knows what's

crawling around in those woods.

slashersupernaturalpsychologicalmonsterhalloween
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.