History logo

Would I have met Monet

A Eccentric Wife

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
63
Would I have met Monet
Photo by Léonard Cotte on Unsplash

What if I was born in the USA in the 1890's. Marriage would not have been a necessity, but it would have been expected.

I would have taken French in the American schools. Art and writing hobbies for girls, would have been accepted. A trip to France -would have been seen as an educational venture. To broaden my perspective of the world. But when I chose to remain in Paris, my family would have shown some concern.

I would have drawn and written in the Cafes of Paris, and tried to sell my artwork to my fellow Americans. Of course never mentioning that my fluent french had been learned in their American schools. I would stay up until the early morning hours- hoping to find a male artist (a french citizen) with whom I could play house with. I would read my poems at parties, and paint on the grounds of castles. And of course, I would try to get an invitation to Monet's house. To paint along side him as he was painting. The local Paris, artist's contests would have been excluded to me, since I was a female.

I would learn how to mix the paint from the french artists, like a true artist.

When my visa ran out. I would make quick trips home, back to the USA, to stay with my parents. There I would get my massive stash of negatives printed. My parents would roll their eyes. They would be worried about my future. Women could not financially survive as an artist. But I did not listen. I would show and try to sell my photos to family friends. I would also try to sell collections of my poetry. I would most likely serve coffee in some city cafe. Where hopefully I could display my artwork.

Not looking for an American husband, and having parents who were set upon me finding one, I would probably meet someone . Someone who loved my paintings , photos and poems. Someone who would have me read my poetry at his parties, He would have me decorate both our and his friends houses with my paintings and photos. He would humor ,and support my trips to Paris. He would cherish my creativity, and the Paris fashions I sported. He would get a chuckle from my short stories. He would find the roles of the woman characters unreal, but he would tell me to dream. "What is life if you don't dream" I would always tell him.

And when I said I did not want to have children. He would reply "Darling-Your children are scattered all over the walls of our and our friends houses," I would smile, but of course I knew that since I loved him, if a baby did come. I would raise it. I would be praying that it was a girl. So she could finish my exploration of the world.

I know most artists want to be preserved in time. To be more than an artist, whose artwork is tossed into the local Goodwill. As a woman in this period it would be assumed that I was a eccentric female with a hobby. There would be nothing from stopping me from dreaming that some modern art collector would find my artwork. That he would then research me. That my daughter would post the article on my grave, and share it with her friends. Someone's role in life does not prohibit them from chasing a dream. Crazy Van Gogh who never sold a painting in his lifetime, became one of the world's most famous artist. A man who did not have a prominent role in society.

Fiction
63

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer11 months ago

    Very good ALB great take on this challenge

  • Asif Ali11 months ago

    excellent.........

  • Oh it definitely would have been so wonderful to live in times where not wanting to get married or have children wouldn't be frowned upon. I loved this so much!

  • Noor Chaudhary11 months ago

    It’s a master pieceeeeeeeeeeee

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    What a phenomenally fun read! Congrats on your TOP STORY Antoinette! Well done!

  • I absolutely adored this composition ❤️😊 I had a Chuckle along with the Read 📖appreciation for sharing your creativity! Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This is so cleverly done. Great use of the prompt. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • A great challenge entry

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    I loved this hon! I can SO relate!! Congrats on TS!

  • You have a great imagination. Love this piece of work. Congratulations for the top story.

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    This is beautifully captures the dreams and aspirations of a woman born in the USA in the 1890s. Congrats for top story💕🙌

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    This was absolutely fantastic, Antoinette! I love your imagination in this and how nothing would stop your dreams, not time nor place. I was engaged from beginning to end. Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    Wow I have never actually thought about why we do not have great women artists of that Era and before. Shows what Frida Kahlo had to achieve. Wonderful story. I saw carriages in my mind as you walked near the Eiffel tower.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Love everthing Monet! Loved his home in Giveny. Have a Monet print in my dining room. You had me at the title!!! Your story didn't disappoint!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Oh, I adored this more than words can say. Simply gorgeous and so, so moving. ❤️ Congratulations on a well-earned Top Story!

  • Anisha Rani 11 months ago

    How you beautifully accepted the challenges and moved on is the best thing I learn from your story

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Such an interesting narrative, a great choice for the challenge. Well written and insightful. Very nice. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • A great challenge entry. These must be very difficult

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.