History logo

To dream

the sign

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
11

(this is Fiction. It is about my main character changing her past. The author was actually already alive in the 1970's)

The sign in the window said, "Change your past". I stared in wonder. Was that even possible? I stood timidly at the front door of the shop. I peered inside expecting to see a metal time machine. Instead there was a desk, a computer and a folksy women.

As soon as she saw me, she approached me with a smile. She reached for my hand. We both shook hands. She led me into the room, to a chair by the desk. She introduced her self as Carol. I told her my name was Anna. She launched into a memorized spiel. She talked about how people had previous lives that influenced their current life. According to her, our dreams were windows into ourselves and our previous lives. She told me to dream. She showed me a video about the women of the 70's. I loved fashion. I lost myself in the evening cloths. I had had a book about Mary McFadden when I was younger. This video drew the book into my thoughts. I had been born in the 1970,s, but I knew my mother had no clothes like this. If she had a gown like this it would have been kept under lock and key. I would love to buy her a Mary McFadden dress. I would love to have designed and made one of these luxurious dresses. If I had been 20 during the 1970's I would want to be one of her sewing assistants. I was now excited to change my past. To let my dreams influence my present.

I knew the sewing machines of the 1970's would not be as elaborate as the one I had looked at the other day. But I was eager to travel back in time to my new occupation, Carol had me dreaming about everything. The people I would meet at the fashion shows if I was really Mary McFadden's assistant. I knew not being the head designer I would be looked at as secondary. There would always be a chance that one man might take a interest in this shy girl, I did not know what my dating life would be. The joy of the art was the only certainty. And as long as I believe, I can achieve. Learning from Mary Mcfaden might lead me to greatness.

Carol looked so content. She had gotten me to dream. Moments later she broke my illusions. She was not a scientist. She had gone to school for social work, not engineering . She was a life coach. She charged sixty dollars a hour for her services. She promised she would help me achieve my dreams. She had connections in the fashion world. I was stunned , but Carol was beaming with excitement. Her joy was clashing with my fear of paying for her assistance. Was she hustling me. Was the whole thing a con, or would she really help me achieve my dreams, and use my potential.

Carol offered to give me two free sessions.. She would in those two sessions outline a plan for me to follow. She would prove to me that this dream was feasible. Carol had not asked anything about my current finances, or working situation. She had not even asked me if I knew how to sew. I was wondering if she was present in reality, but halfway through her spiel to my own surprise I found myself saying "yes". I felt slightly like Don Quixote. Should I like him chase after an impossible dream. Would I "reach the most unreachable star. " Everybody thought he was crazy, was I being crazy. I, in my heart felt that I would not be the next Mary McFadden, but wasn't it better to be chasing a dream, then to live life not even trying. I gave her a hug and our journey started

Fiction
11

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    We all want a miracle, don't we? But we don't see the promise of each new day for the miracle it already it.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    It’s amazing when a person had no sewing experience but a good coach can certainly get you there 😍enjoy the story

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Awesome work Antoinette! Very inspiring & beautifully written! I loved the line: along as I believe; I can achieve! Well done, my friend!!!! 😁

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great. Love the last lines. Yes, it is better to be chasing a dream, I think. well done.

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear AB ~ I've always enjoyed your 'Folksy' yet carefully articulated StoryTelling - And, of course, your relatable "Fun" 'Schpiels' - ~ Dreams never come true - When you don't Dream ~ Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Village Community -

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    What a delightful story!! Enjoyed it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    OMGOSH! I loved this! It was such a new look at this topic! Great job! 💖

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I loved the possibilities in this!! And what a thought to ponder, 'wasn't it better to be chasing a dream, then to live life not even trying.' I enjoyed this so much, Antoinette :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.