History logo

Whiskey, Jazz, and Danger

A Mobster's Rise and Fall in the Roaring Twenties

By Timberly PricePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
Made with OpenArt Creative at openart.ai

Dear recipient of this letter,

I pen these words in great urgency, for I find myself embarking on a hasty escape. My name is Timothy P. Morrie, and I am compelled to flee. Seven years have passed since the enactment of the 18th Amendment in 1920, which outlawed the production, importation, transportation, and sale of alcoholic beverages. As a rising figure in the world of organized crime here in the underground realm of “The Big Easy,” I skillfully gathered enough dough through a combination of persuasive tactics, crafty charm, and the occasional subtle reminder of the consequences for noncompliance. Through a prior favor owed to me by a confectionery shop owner, I swiftly secured the use of his basement to establish my own secret drinking establishment, known as a speakeasy.

With utmost efficiency, my boys and I transformed the premises into a haven of order and comfort. Instantly, news of our covert establishment spread throughout the depths of the city’s underworld, and before long, our modest refuge blossomed into a thriving sanctuary. Within its snug confines, laughter reverberated, mingling harmoniously with the fragrant haze of bourbon, whiskey, and swirling smoke. As some gentlemen engaged in spirited rounds of poker, solitary figures indulged in libations, drowning their sorrows in secluded corners. Occasionally, we welcomed a vibrant jazz ensemble to serenade our senses, their melodies intertwining with the animated footsteps of elegant flappers, igniting the very essence of our minuscule dance floor.

As with any bustling establishment, our sanctuary was not exempt from its share of challenges. As time went on, speakeasies faced relentless scrutiny from the fuzz, with prohibition officers scouring the entire bayou in search of easy targets. Fortunately, it was easy to give them the slip, yet we knew it was only a matter of time before they closed in on us.

Furthermore, as a mobster, rivalries inevitably loomed over us like an ominous cloud. Countless instances demanded our unwavering vigilance to safeguard our precious liquor from the clutches of rival gangs, whose slimy hands sought to swipe our resources. Regrettably, I lost some of my most faithful allies, for my foes saw fit to bump them off, aiming to extract invaluable information on our operations.

But I digress. We suffered for seven demanding and relentless years, forging ahead despite the weariness that weighed upon us. My speakeasy became a beloved retreat for countless individuals, myself included, where permanent memories were knit into the fabric of our lives. Alas, with a heavy heart, I must bid farewell to it all, leaving behind cherished moments and people, without the luxury of a final goodbye.

It all transpired last night, when a trusted informant, my bootlegger, tipped me off about an impending raid. I barely had time to gather my most essential belongings before slipping out into the darkness, leaving behind the life I had built.

Now, as I pen this letter, I am a fugitive on the lam and in search of a new beginning, far away from the prying eyes of the law. I’ll take to the backroads and alleys, relying on my wits and connections to survive. My only hope is that this letter reaches someone willing to offer assistance or a place of refuge.

Life in the prohibition era is both exhilarating and risky. But as they say, desperate times call for desperate measures. I remain hopeful that I will find sanctuary and a chance to rebuild, even in the face of seemingly unbeatable odds.

I have heard rumors from passing travelers that the stock market proves to be a profitable investment, with wealth nearly quadrupling. I am hopeful that the funds I managed to smuggle with me will fare well in that space.

I do hope this letter will find its way into the hands of a sympathetic soul and my story doesn’t fall on deaf ears.

Sincerely,

Timothy P. Morrie

GeneralNarrativesFiction
2

About the Creator

Timberly Price

Fiction writer and self-published author.

Follow me on Instagram: @timberlyprice_author

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Timberly, I love the narrative voice and perspective you chose for this one! As I visualize the events playing out, I feel like I can hear the Italian accent of the narrator as he reads this letter to us. (Like a voice over in a movie sort of way). It really came through for me in your vocabulary choices and turn of phrase that the character spoke in. Overall a great read and story to share! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.