History logo

Music History

The acts you would go back in history to see.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Music History
Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

What musical act whether solo or a group would you like to go back into history and see. What musical event would you like to go back and see?

I am going to start with the acts. The first group is Bone Thugs N. Harmony. I know they are still doing some shows. I would love to go back and see them in their prime. I love Rap and they're my favorite Rap group. I know I might stand out being white in a mostly black crowd at the time. I wouldn’t care. I would love to see them do the Art of War album. Songs like Thug Love, If I Could Teach the World, and Look into My Eyes are great. I love their sound and how they harmonize.

The next person is also in Rap. I would like to go back and see Eminem perform when he was younger. I can’t say in his prime because I think his prime is now. It would be an experience to see him in concert. I think I would fit right in with his audience. To see the greatest artist not just rapper to ever do it live would be an experience I would treasure forever. If you have read any of my other articles about music, you know how I feel about Eminem.

The next act is a group. This one is kind of sad. I would love to go back in time and see the Foo Fighters when Taylor Hawkins was alive. I know they are starting to play shows again but it would not be the same. I have watched whole concerts on YouTube. I would love to be in those crowds. I love that they give 100 percent and do 2 to 3 hour shows and that they just play till they don’t want to anymore. I love their music. They have become even more special to me since I did my Pride playlist.

This next act I am going to reference a particular show. This person is Sara Bareilles. And the show was in Atlanta at Variety Playhouse in 2013. The reason I want to go to this particular show is that she did a cover of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John. It was perfect. When Elton John says that hers is the best cover he has heard and that no one else needs to cover it again that is saying something. If you look this song up on YouTube this version is the one all the reactors watch. I would love to see her live period. I hope one day she tours again.

This group just started touring again. They are My Chemical Romance. I would like to see them live when they were at the height of the Emo era. Whether I knew it at the time I was Emo. To see them perform Welcome To the Black Parade would be a dream come true. That song is tied for my favorite song of all time.

Now we are getting to the two musical events I would go back to. One is Live Aid and the other is Woodstock.

I am going to start with Live Aid. If you know my writings, you know why and you know what I am going to say next. I want to be in the audience to see Queen do their set. The greatest set in musical history even still today. There are a lot of reasons why it is so great. The control of the audience, the arrangement. The perfect vocal, and personally I think he knew this was his last chance to do something great. I want Freddy Mercury to control me. There were other great artists there that day like The Who,Foreigner, Tears for fears, Grateful Dead, and David Bowe. David Bowe actually had to follow Queen's set. Those are some great artists but Freddy and Queen stole the show.

The last event I would go back and be a part of is Woodstock. I just want to be in the middle of it. I have never done drugs, but I think that might change if I went back to that event. The whole thing starts with Richie Havens. Day one ends with Joan Baez. Day 2 was a good day. You have Country Joe Mcdonald, Santana, Grateful Dead, CCR, Janis Joplin, The Who and the night ends with Jefferson Airplane. Day 3 started with Joe Cocker and ended with Crosby , Still, Nash & Young. It ended up going into day 4 and ended with Jimi Hendrix. His rendition of the Star Spangled Banner is legendary.

An Honorable mention would be seeing Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth do See You Again and Paul Walker's tribute concert. That is the other song that is tied for my favorite of all time.

What musical act or even would you go back into history to see.

Events
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.