History logo

Commitment to Military History and Veterans

Honoring Heroes with Shamus McGuire

By Shamus McGuirePublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Like
Commitment to Military History and Veterans
Photo by Kent Rebman on Unsplash

Growing up in Morristown, New Jersey, I always had a deep respect for history and those who served in our military. My father, a police officer in town, taught us the importance of service and sacrifice from a young age. These lessons stayed with me, shaping my passions and my commitments.

It started with a dusty old book in our attic. I was about ten when I read my first book on World War II. The stories of bravery and strategy fascinated me. I spent countless hours reading under the attic light, transported to different times and places. This sparked my lifelong interest in military history.

Several of my family members were veterans of the Korean War and World War II. The ones who made it back used to share stories of their experiences, some thrilling, some harrowing.

Each story was a lesson in courage. When they passed away, our inherited a box of their medals and photos. Holding those medals, I felt a profound connection to the past and a responsibility to honor their memory.

In high school, I made it a point to focus my projects on military topics. I remember one particular project for U.S. History class. I built a detailed diorama of the Battle of Gettysburg. I spent weeks crafting tiny soldiers and painting them by hand. Presenting it to the class, I felt proud to share the story of such a pivotal moment in our history.

Morristown itself is rich with military history, being a strategic location during the American Revolution. Walking the same paths that Continental soldiers walked centuries ago always fills me with awe. These local historical sites became my favorite haunts, places where I could feel connected to our nation’s past.

Each year, Morristown hosts several living history events, where reenactors come together to recreate battles and daily life from various periods. Participating in these events, either as a spectator or as a reenactor, has been incredibly rewarding. It’s like stepping into a time machine.

Studying military history has also influenced my professional life. The leadership qualities required in the battlefield—quick thinking, strategy, and decisiveness—are similar to those needed in business. I often draw on historical strategies and leaders’ examples when faced with tough decisions in my career and think things like "what might Roosevelt have done?"

Volunteering and Charity

  • Community Food Pantries: Every Thanksgiving, I help organize a special dinner for veterans at our local food pantry. It’s a small gesture, but it means a lot to those who come.
  • Wounded Warriors Project: I started donating to the Wounded Warriors Project after learning about their work in helping injured veterans. It felt like the right way to give back and support those who had given so much for our country.

Why I Give

Supporting veterans feels like my way of thanking them for their sacrifices. It’s not just about donations; it’s about recognizing their courage and ensuring they receive the respect and support they deserve. Whether it’s through charity work or simply listening to their stories, I believe it’s crucial to keep their legacies alive.

The Importance of Remembrance

For me, military history is not just about battles and leaders; it’s about understanding the sacrifices made for our freedoms. It’s about honoring those who served and ensuring their stories are not forgotten. This has driven my commitment to volunteering and giving to veterans' charities.

In Morristown and beyond, my journey through the annals of military history and my efforts to support our veterans are deeply intertwined. They are my way of paying homage to the past, contributing to the present, and educating the future about the price of freedom. As I continue to explore history and help those who have served, I remain grateful for the lessons they have taught me about bravery, resilience, and honor.

PerspectivesWorld HistoryModernGeneral
Like

About the Creator

Shamus McGuire

Shamus McGuire, a seasoned healthcare exec from Randolph, NJ, excels in strategic leadership. Founder of a startup, ex-VP at Prime Therapeutics, he's also a dedicated history buff and active supporter of veterans' charities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.