History logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Another Lifetime

Past Life Challenge

By Real PoeticPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Another Lifetime
Photo by Lawrence Aritao on Unsplash

June 19, 1919

Dear diary,

I’ll be 16 years on July 3rd, and I’m engaged to be married. I’m not thrilled, but it’s the life God has planned for me since before I was born. That’s what mama told me yesterday when I cried to her and told her I wasn’t ready to be a wife. The man that father chose is too old for me. He’s lived a full life! I don’t even know who I am yet, or what I want to do with my life. There’s a whole world out there, and I want to see it. If I could, I’d buy a bus ticket to anywhere but here to avoid marrying a beast.

I mean absolutely no disrespect to mothers and wives, but I just don’t think I’ll make a great one. I’m incredibly selfish and immature. I barely can recall what I ate for dinner 2 nights ago. All the women in my family are so alike and love being a mother and wife as their only job, but I want more. It’s not that I don’t want children some day. I just have a dream, and I’d give anything to live that dream.

My mama made babies. My grandmama and her mama made babies too. That’s just what women do in this family, and now they’re all counting on me to grow our family tree. But, does it really need growing? I have 8 sisters and 9 brothers… I’m certain one of them will be happy to do the honors and have children with a dinosaur. Alright, I’m kidding. I wouldn’t let my younger sisters marry Mr. Evens.

I’m the oldest daughter, so I must be the one to marry the old man and give him children. How else will my parents continue to put food on the table and clothes on my siblings’ backs… They’re getting older and are ready to become grandparents. Oh, no! What if our children look like him… Will I be able to love a child by a man I don’t love?

I wish I had someone to talk to who can help me through my concerns. I’m tired of hearing everyone say, “it’s God’s will” or “stay in a woman’s place.” What the hell does that even mean? I still can’t quite understand why we can’t find our own damn place in this world. If God wants me to get married so bad, why don’t he come on down and tell me for himself?

Anyways…

My father is giving me away to a banker at the largest bank in the town. I’m not shocked at all. I’m just surprised that he didn’t go for someone with more money like a doctor or lawyer. Money is the only thing father ever speaks about aloud. I’m no different than a dollar bill to him; a form of currency. I haven’t left the house without mother since I was 8 years, and now my life is for sale before I even got a chance. I’m being sold like cattle to the highest bidder. I can marry a 47-year-old banker tomorrow, but I can’t even open up my own bank account. How ridiculous!

I look up, and there it is…

The wedding dress hanging up in the closet. It’s the whitest dress I’ve ever seen; Whiter than snow. The dress was my grandmama’s but she brought it back to life. She had it fitted perfectly to show my curves. I tried it on a few hours ago and looked at myself in the mirror. I saw a girl not a woman.

Warm tears fell down my cheek, but this time I didn’t run to mama. I wiped my tears and sucked in my stomach. I told myself I’d be a fantastic wife and mother to make mama and grandmama proud of me.

God, I pray that one day girls and women will have right’s too. Then, I’ll make myself proud. It’s not a no to traveling and seeing the world. It’s a not right now. Because, I’ve got a job to do. Tomorrow, I must vow to become Mrs. Catherine Evens…

Created using AI

FictionGeneral

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧about a year ago

    I love the idea of presenting this challenge as a diary entry. The realities of years gone by is not always as pleasant as many like to believe, and you captured that well in your story. Well done!

  • This was just so heartbreaking! My Great Grandmother was 10 when she was married off to my Great Grandfather when he was 34. She hit puberty when she was 11 and had her first of five children when she was 12. I'm just so glad times have changed for the better now!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    In reality, few if anyone, would really want to go back in time. Nostalgia would soon fall to realities of oppression, injustice, quackery, and an atchaic existence. Love the diary format. Great job here on the challeng. 😎

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Ugh! I could feel how lost she felt when realizing the magnitude of a decision that was not hers. Very well written, R.P I’ll ever understand prearranged marriage. I guess you can learn to love someone but that misses the point of choosing a love that melts your heart, not fattens your wallet.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    What sadness... I'm glad women now live in era where they have a choice!

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.