Geeks logo

Writing "Team Farrow" was a Mistake, and This is Why

Why Research is so Important

By Coco Jenae`Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I won’t sugarcoat anything, writing this makes me feel like the biggest asshole. Here is why.

By writing this, or when someone reads this title, it will be assumed that I don’t believe Dylan Farrow.

Let me be clear.

I do believe Dylan Farrow. I believe her memories are very real for her and that her pain is very real.

I also believe Moses Farrow and the pain he claims to have experienced at as child at the hands of his mother Mia Farrow.

I also believe Soon-Yi Previn and the pain she claims to have experienced as a child at the hands of her mother Mia Farrow.

If the slogan of the MeToo movement is “Believe All Victims” then that’s what we need to do in this who case, believe every victim that has spoken up, even if they aren’t Dylan Farrow. If we are to believe all victims, then why hasn’t Mia Farrow been taken to task since the premier of this HBO series just as Woody Allen has?

Like many others, I watched the HBO series “Allen v. Farrow”.

I bought into everything the narrative implied, without fact checking and without looking at all sides of this story. Without looking into the testimony of witnesses who were not mentioned in the series, who saw Mia Farrow’s volatile behavior just before the molestation allegations against Woody Allen surfaced. If I am going to write about this issue in a way that is objective, then it is my job to then look at all the facts that are readily available.

I am not a journalist. I don’t know anyone involved in this situation. I haven’t been paid off by anyone to write this. All I am is a flawed human being calling myself out for not living by the standards I demand to see from journalists writing for big name papers and websites.

This story has been sitting with me since I first wrote about it, sitting right along with a feeling that something’s not right.

It was with this feeling that I decided to do some digging and realized just how much of this story was left out of this series. Which me to wonder, why? Why not talk about this entire story? How three of Mia Farrow’s adopted children have died young (two under suspicious circumstances) yet they were never mentioned in the entire series? Their images are shown briefly, but not them as human beings, or how they all died. Why aren’t more people crying out for the dead, when there’s just as much a possibility that these kids were victims of abuse as Dylan Farrow was? It’s the double standard of the victims the public decides to listen to that had begun to really bother me. Why were Moses and Soon-Yi’s claims cast aside by so-called speakers for victims? Why not take the time to listen to them without thinking they’re under the sway of Woody Allen? If we are to believe Dylan Farrow’s claims, we need to be able to listen to the accounts of all the potential victims within this family.

This is just how we need to function as a society. We need to be able to hear all sides of a story before judgements come crashing down upon those involved. Of course, this isn’t likely to happen overnight. But one can hope.

This is not the last time I will be writing about this saga. I have so much information to go through and explain why I’ve come to this point.

What I will go into in my next piece on this subject will be every single issue I have with the HBO series upon re-watching it.

For now, this is where I leave this.

My heart hurts, if I’m being honest. My heart hurts for everyone who has suffered during this entire situation. No matter what side of this you fall on, there’s no denying the amount of suffering that been felt by everyone involved.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Coco Jenae`

Fiction Writer

Drag Artist

Reader

Film Lover

A Lover

A Pursuer of Wellness

Nomyo ho renge kyo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.