Geeks logo

Wonka-a brief review

"I'm making chocolate, of course."

By 'Vive AkughaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Image Credit: Screenshot from Warner Bros. Pictures on YouTube

This movie is rather whimsical. We have a heist, a reunion, a murder attempt, a chocolate cartel, and more. I feel the movie got a lot better from the Get Yourself Some Wonka Chocolate song. I liked that song, the scrub song and the oodles of fun duet.

A spoiler warning is in effect! If you like this, you can get more of my articles when you subscribe to my account.

I am indifferent about Timothée's portrayal of Willy. I will say he did well portraying the optimism, determination, naïveté, and cheerfulness of this version of Willy Wonka. Bleacher, Scrubitt, and Slugworth were great villains. I wondered how Hugh Grant would play an Oompa Loompa and it was quite amusing.

I wrote about "Johnny Depp's ICONIC Willy Wonka" so I will compare this one to that one. This Wonka formed his Chocolatier ambition from his desire to be a magician and from his love of chocolate. His mother was a cook and she made the first chocolate he ever tasted. His dreams sprouted then and she encouraged them. The 2005 Willy Wonka formed his Chocolatier ambition after luckily tasting the chocolate left from a fire. He was strictly discouraged by his father from eating chocolate but left home to follow his dreams. Both are from single-parent households.

The golden ticket reference in this movie was good but it could have been more impactful if they had this scene after the havoc with the store. This movie included the negative effect of sweets pertaining to weight however in the 2005 movie, it focused more on teeth rotting as his dad was a dentist. This Wonka couldn't read since most of his time was spent on adventures but the 2005 Willy Wonka seemed to be in school.

I understand why people were confused about it being a musical because it started off with singing and most of the singing is known to be done by the Oompa Loompas. This movie shows more of his strangeness or eccentricity. This Wonka is not selfish (lol) nor does he hate people. He had a team for a bit and his store opening was spectacular. The movie shows that as an explorer he could steal, however, it is made known that it is not his way by his scene with Abigail.

The movie ends by showing the start of the Oompa Loompa friendship, the factory creation and the beginning of his isolation. I liked the bonus story at the end(they really drank the evidence hahaha).

An excerpt from my article:

"It's quite questionable or alarming that each child and guardian kept on with the tour knowing someone was recently eliminated and there's a possibility they could be next. There were several red flags to leave his factory and presence but after all the hard work to find the golden tickets and the promising prize, I guess you can understand their perseverance.

Also, maybe some of them thought the children deserved what they got and did not expect it for themselves or their children. There was a face Veruca made when Violet started changing colour, it was a justifying expression that could indicate she thought Violet deserved it. This was very telling. From the point of Augustus Gloop's elimination, I believe the others should have been a little scared for their safety which is less than assured here. Being in proximity to this potentially harmful man should probably discourage people which is why I liked the moment Mr. Salt held his daughter after Willy returned from another flashback."

If you enjoyed this, for more of my articles:

  • you can check through the Geeks category on my profile
  • subscribe to my account and/or subscribe to my mailing list
  • visit my linktree and/or my Twitter account

reviewmovie
1

About the Creator

'Vive Akugha

I write on various things: social issues, well-being, cinema and out of curiosity. More!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great review! 😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.