Geeks logo

Wired Differently Chapter 3: Hero Names (a My Hero Academia fanfic)!regular updates!

This is the third chapter of a mental health Todoroki x Midoriya (tododeku) Slowburn romance. This story talks about their mental illnesses. I've diagnosed Midoriya with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Todoroki with ComplexPTSD this story is canon compliment and follows the plot. Links to the first two chapters are in the stroy.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
a translucent brain scan over a translucent heart in the center of a black backgrouond. Midoriya's head is fading in looking pensive at the top left

Previous chapters:

Chapter 1: The Sports Festival

Chapter 2: Visiting Mom

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Midoriya’s POV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Going outside was crazy, I know that this is what it must be like for a lot of pro heroes, but being approached by all these strangers asking about the sports festival still spiked my anxiety. I know this is part of being a pro hero but so many people! But being recognized is also so exciting because it’s like how a pro hero is treated and I really want to become a pro hero! I know that a lot of pro heroes wear masks and other things to try to hide their identity when they’re not doing hero work but still there are a lot who don’t and a lot who get recognized anyway!! And this is happing to me now!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The festival ended two days ago and we were back at school, I got there on the later end of being early, so most of the class was already there. After what happened at the sports festival I started to pay more attention to Todoroki, who was sitting in the back corner, one seat away from the window. He had for some reason pushed his desk backward a little bit but I couldn't figure out why and I couldn't just ask him? Right that would be weird we're not close enough.. yet I wanted to change that to befriend the quiet boy.

When we were told we were to come up with a hero name my anxiety peaked again, I never thought that I would actually get to become a hero so I never put thought into coming up with a name, all the names I came up with before I realized that I was quirkless were all based on All Might, but I can't use any of those, that would draw too much attention to how close I was to him and possibly having people link us together and maybe finding out about the One for All, but I don't have any non All Might name ideas! My anxiety took over and I started dissociating as everyone thought about what their name would be, I came to by the time people started presenting their names including Kacchan’s name ideas that would better suit a villain than a hero. Then Todoroki came up and his name was simply Shoto, his individual name. Then I started thinking about that, is it because he has such a distinct look that he’d be recognized by any name? Why did he pick Shoto, instead of Todoroki? So many questions, I can’t just go up to him and ask him, can I? No! I don’t know him well enough I wish I did though. why did he just want to go with Shoto, why not Todoroki!? So many questions!?

Then I realized that I still needed to come up with my own name, then it came to me: Deku! The name that Kacchan called me as an insult, but Ochacco-kun gave it a new light. My Deku doesn't mean useless, it means that I can do it! Of course, I was a nervous wreck when I went up to the class to present my name I was actually shaking!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todoroki’s POV ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Getting to school was more of a hassle than usual. I always hated traveling and crowds. Too many things going on around me. But such is life, I’ve learned to deal with it, but that doesn’t mean that I liked it. Now that I’m ranked second place at the sports festival people started bothering me more. I politely acknowledged them as I went along my way. Once I reached the classroom, I went to my assigned seat. One seat away from the back corner near the windows. I was glad that the seating arrangement worked out that way. On the first day, I had pushed the seat back slightly. Now I had a better view of my classmates. I didn’t know why but I always liked being in back corners where I could see everyone. It gave me some level of comfort. I never questioned why as it has always been this way.

Soon the rest of my classmates started filling in. Midoriya was one of the last.

Today we were coming up with hero names. I never really put much thought into it. I knew since my quirk developed that I would become a professional hero. Enji made that very clear. I knew I wanted to be very different from him. Eventually, I decided to just use my individual name: Shoto. Short, simple and to the point. People would always be able to recognize me, so why not just use my name. I couldn't use Todoroki because that name belongs to Enji as well. I needed a name that was my own...

Midoriya’s name choice was interesting... to say the least. Deku. meaning useless. I’ve noticed some of our classmates call him that. Bakugo in a belittling manner. Then others like Uraraka called him that an endearing fashion. I remember overhearing her saying that it sounded like: "you can do it." The green-haired boy then said that that is what Deku means to him. "You can do it" is how he interprets his once insulting nickname. Taking ownership of it seemed to irritate his childhood friend. That didn't bother me. I was never a fan of him and his insulting nicknames. I actually really didn't like him. He scared me. Scared is the best word I could come up with. He in a way reminded me of Enji, I felt the emotions I felt with him when I interacted with Bakugo, but, luckily, nowhere near as intense.

Then we were told we were going to do an internship. We got to pick who from a list of people that chose us base on our performance at the sports festival. Coming in second, I had a lot of offers. Looking at the list I saw Endevear on the list of possible internship mentors. I froze with fear at the thought of fighting side by side with him. But I needed to learn how to control my flames. I had the rest of the week to figure it out, so I tried to forget about it, but like anything involving him, it never fully went away.

For the rest of the class, everyone was talking about the internships. They were all trying to figure out who’d they pick. I wasn’t consciously listing to any of their conversations. I’m just always aware of everything going on around me at all times. It’s not a conscious thing, I just am, and always have been doing that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Midoriya’s POV ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Even the concept of the internship was so exciting being out in the field working alongside real pro heroes! But who do I choose? How can I pick I have so much information on all of them, I need to look through my notebooks, but what about learning how to control one for all? I needed to talk to All Might about this, there are so many great heroes! All Might had sent me to go intern with his old teacher Grand Torino, I didn’t have information on him, a hero who I don’t have a notebook entry for! This could be so great I get to learn about a new, well old hero while interning while learning how to control my one for all! This is so exciting!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you like this story? I have others in the series, and I have and several different series that I am working on, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.