Geeks logo

Willy Wonka deserved jail time?

"…but don't worry we only light it on Tuesdays" "Today is TUESDAY"

By 'Vive AkughaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image Credit-Screenshot from Willy Wonka on YouTube.

I had seen a few things about Willy deserving to be arrested or sued and it could be claimed that he had intent- to give his company to the "one who was the least rotten" which would require some form of elimination.

However, it may be argued that the Oompa Loompas could have prepared their performances but only perform them if the children misbehaved. Willy could have felt they would but was quite surprised by some of their actions.

If you like this, you can get more of my articles when you subscribe to my account.

I think Willy might be able to get out of attempted child murder or child endangerment cases because he can claim he warned them and he did.

Collage of screenshots from Willy Wonka, Movieclips, Maia Dumatol and Willy Wonka on YouTube. (in the order of appearance from L-R)
  • Augustus ("Hey, little boy, my chocolate must be untouched by human hands), 
  • Violet ("I'd rather you didn't. There are still one or two things that are little…" "Yeah. Spit it out" "I'm just a little concerned about the ["blueberry pie and ice cream"] That part" "Well, I told you I hadn't quite got it right, 'cause it goes a little funny when it gets to the dessert. It's the blueberry pie that does it." "I'm terribly sorry."),
  • Veruca ("Little girl?" "Little girl? Uh, don't touch that squirrel's nuts. It'll make him crazy."), 
  • Mike ("Hey, little boy…Don't push my button"). 
  • It may not always be for their safety but he did warn them.

    I actually don't know if that would be good enough to free him from those claims but I think the warnings serve as a disclaimer- the ones given to the children and when entering the rooms. He could also say that the incidents were more of a cause and effect thing, that they caused their problems and got the effects. He didn't personally harm them, they were harmed or put in harms way due to their disobedience.

    It is a huge factory and just like any tour everyone is warned to be safe and not touch anything until when you can if you can.

    I had also seen some things about him probably having a mental disorder, I didn't carry on to see what it might be but I think that If he wanted to he could have really hurt them. For example, Mike would have not seen the light of day because he HATED that boy, LOATHED that child. His remark to Mike's size change and harmful song involvement was a flat "Oh, thank heavens. He's completely unharmed". During the Mike Teavee song, he was punched, squashed, flown, and a victim to an attempted stabbing.

    Most of them did not have permanent physical side effects as Mike and Violet probably did. There's also the fact that they walked through the path of burning puppets to get into the factory. Despite his warning to come quickly, it is still unusual and unsafe. So, they should be able to charge him. We are shown their departures from the factory after Charlie is chosen as the winner. The other children were fearful of what might happen while having possible regret during their songs but we see they were safe, not necessarily alright but alive. Augustus was still eating chocolate, Violet was still blue, Veruca was still rotten and Mike was thinner than his patience. In essence, not much changed to the children's attitudes but they may have had a change emotionally and mentally.

    The idea that their eliminations were planned or that everything seemed staged could be supported by Willy saying "I had a hunch, you know, right from the beginning" as he congratulated Charlie.

    Image Credit-Screenshot from Willy Wonka on YouTube.

    This was originally written in my "Johnny Depp's ICONIC Willy Wonka" write-up.

    If you enjoyed this, for more of my articles:

    • you can check through the Geeks category on my profile
    • subscribe to my account
    • visit my Tap Bio link and/or my Twitter account

    movie
    Like

    About the Creator

    'Vive Akugha

    I write on various things: social issues, well-being, cinema and out of curiosity. More!

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.