Geeks logo

Why I Was Dropped as a Judge on Nigerian Idol - DJ Sose

DJ Sose finally reveals reason for his departure.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Last year, Nigerian Idol was one of the most talked about programs of the year here in Nigeria. From the contestants like Kingdom and Francis to the judges, Seyi Shay, DJ Sose, and Obi Asika, there was a lot to talk about on the show. Everything went well and it turned out to be a remarkable season.

That is why it was so surprising earlier this year when it was revealed that two out of three judges were not going to be returning for the second season of the show. Singer Seyi Shay and disc jockey DJ Sose were axed from the show, replaced by singers Simi and D'Banj.

Now, in a new interview with TVC, ex Nigerian Idol judge, DJ Sose, is finally revealing why he was dropped from the show. Here is what DJ Sose said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

DJ Sose on Wake Up Nigeria

During his appearance on TVC's Wake Up Nigeria, DJ Sose was asked "Sose the last time you were here, you were a judge on Nigerian Idol and we were all very excited about it. We all loved your inclusion. We loved your energy on it. But on this year's one, I was expecting to see you on it. Why didn't you join? What happened?" DJ Sose responded explaining:

I did my part (laughs) I did my part. It was finished. Obviously the contract was for one year. So it came and went and they said they want to take the show to the next level. No bad blood. Everyone's moved on. Everything is cool. Good luck to everyone else on the show. We'll see what happens.

He was then asked "What have you been doing since the show ended?" to which DJ Sose responded:

Well, same as before. Doing projects underground. Apart from that still DJing across Nigeria, outside Nigeria. And then working on one or two things. But it's until it starts growing before I can start talking about it.

Sose was then asked "Is it DJing majorly that pays your bills or there are other things you do that also contribute?" He said:

There are other things. Family business. Apart from that, venturing into movies. I recently acted in a movie called 'Before Valentine' that came out on the 11th of February and is currently in all the cinemas nationwide. Then producer as well, music production. Although I do have a diploma in film and video production as well so if I wanted to, I could go into that also. It's entertainment, it's vast. You can go into different aspects of entertainment. You don't have to seclude yourself to one avenue.

So they dropped him because they wanted to "take the show to the next level." Well, I know a lot of people actually always questioned why he was on the judging panel as a DJ. Many people wanted there to be more singers on the judging panel. That's probably why they let him go and made the panel to now consist of two singers along with Obi Asika.

But what do you think? Do you miss DJ Sose? Do you think it was the right decision to let him go? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post. I'm curious to know. Also big shoutout to DJ Sose, it's good to see that he's at least keeping busy with other things. Good for you DJ Sose!

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.