Geeks logo

Why I Had to Spill Blood on King of Boys Set - Sola Sobowale

The King of Boys lead speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

King Of Boys: The Return of the King, by far the most anticipated Nigerian project of the year finally started streaming on Netflix on Friday, the 27th of August so if you have a Netflix subscription, you can watch it now.

The series serves as a follow up to Kemi Adetiba's 2018 mega hit King of Boys, a movie that tells the story of a powerful businesswoman whose political ambitions are threatened by her underworld connections. This follow up venture is a seven-part mini series that follows Eniola Salami on a new journey that introducers new characters and new complications.

In an interview with Channels Television, star actress Sola Sobowale was asked how it was for her transitioning from a ruthless Eniola in part one into a more introspective Eniola in the series. This is what Sola said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Sola Sobowale on Channels TV

Speaking to Channels Television about transitioning from King of Boys to King of Boys: Return of the King, Sola Sobowale said:

When you have a script that’s well written and well directed, to move from one to another, I don’t think it will be difficult and at the same time, this is me. This is what I know how to do best. If you look at me very well, you’ve known for me a while, I don’t have a shop, I don’t have any other thing that I do apart from being an actor. I don’t have any other thing that I do. So it comes easy with the grace of God to move from one to another. I don’t find it difficult to do. And with Kemi Adetiba, working with her, if Kemi Adebita wants me to go like one million takes, I’m doing it. Kemi Adetiba moved from one hospital to another so we don’t forget that. Kemi Adetiba was down for about six good months and towards the end of that period, she told me that she was coming on location. I told her ‘Kemi, you’re not well’, she said ‘Aunty Sola, we’re doing it.’ Kemi Adetiba was on location working sick, she couldn’t walk properly, and she was doing all those takes – what do you think Sola Sobowale would do? Let’s go! I have to throw myself in it, I have to put myself in it. And if you want to be seen, if you want people to enjoy you, that you’re not a mistake to be where you are then you must be ready to spill the blood, do everything that you’re supposed to do. And that’s what I did. I keep telling everybody and I don’t care if I’m sounding like a broken record, I will do this with Kemi Adetiba uncountable times.

Well, "spill the blood" Sola Sobowale did indeed. Once again, she murdered the role as Eniola Salami in King of Boys: Return of the King. If you haven't see it, you should definitely check it out. If you have, let me know what you think about the entire show by leaving a comment on my Facebook post. I'd love to hear what you think.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.