Geeks logo

Why I Adore: Margot Robbie

A Filmmaker's Guide to Appreciation (Pt. 2)

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

In this chapter of ‘the filmmaker’s guide’ we’re going to look at people that I absolutely adore and why I adore them. They can be anyone who is famous for being in film such as: actors and actresses, directors and producers, composers etc. We’re going to be looking at my childhood heroes, people I have discovered recently and people that I have yet to look entirely into. We’ll take a bit of a look at how I discovered them, what I think of them and why I think this way about them. Hopefully, we can gain a common ground, you can discover some new people or, via the email address in my bio, you can email me with any new people I don’t know about that you think I would like based on what you’ve seen. These are supposed to be positive articles and made to brighten your day and mine. So, let’s take a wild ride into my childhood, my teen years and what I absolutely adore about the film industry because it is alive and kicking (and if it isn’t, hell I might be out of a job…). Let’s go!

Margot Robbie

I discovered Margot Robbie as most people did, I was watching things like "Suite Francaise" and those independent Australian films without realising who she was. Then, I went on to watching "Suicide Squad" and I started off by really actually not liking her because I was really disappointed in that film. Then, I watched her amazing performance in "I, Tonya" and that is where the fandom really began. I began to fall absolutely in love with the whole range of talents that Margot Robbie had and put "Suicide Squad" to down to just bad writing. Ultimately, when I look at the Harley Quinn as just a character, I absolutely adore her. I just don't adore the movie at all.

When it comes to my Margot Robbie fandom, it is pretty huge. I have t-shirts with her face on it, I have jewellery with her name on it and Harley Quinn themed stuff. My house keys have a ton of Harley Quinn stuff on them, even a lego Harley with my name on it. I was hoping to get some fan art of her put on my bedroom wall but I am still trying to find a good one (if you're an artist, you could hit me up and we could discuss prices if you're willing to design something super-girly Birds of Prey-themed Harley Quinn art).

Margot Robbie has been making me happy for a great while because her talent has been flourishing throughout the last few years. With the films "Bombshell" and "I, Tonya", she's even got recognition from the Academy Awards for being a great actress. She was absolutely amazing in "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood" and the way she worked the role by mostly just facial expressions and body language was incredible. It really showed her acting skill and that she knows and loves her job. "Terminal" is an amazing neo-noir film starring Margot Robbie as well, so if you haven't watched it I would recommend it because it shows you a side of Margot Robbie you've never seen before.

In the future, apart from seeing more Harley Quinn, I would love to see Margot Robbie do a gothic horror movie because I think she would be absolutely amazing in one of these Victorian-esque roles. I think she would also do well in a Spielberg film and a Shymalan film because she not only has a lot of range but she also has a lot of different looks and puts some real effort into getting into shape for her roles (just look at the fitness routine she did for "I, Tonya"). I absolutely adore Margot Robbie and I think I always will. She's a super role model, a great human being and she's super down to earth. She's worked really hard to get where she is and it definitely wasn't an overnight success story. You should read about her.

So, if you haven't realised, I adore Margot Robbie and hope that the Academy give her the Best Actress Oscar someday, she deserves to be recognised for her skills.

Join me next time for "Why I Adore Lupita Nyong'o..."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.