Geeks logo

Why I Adore: Emma Roberts

A Filmmaker's Guide to Appreciation (Pt. 1)

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

In this chapter of ‘the filmmaker’s guide’ we’re going to look at people that I absolutely adore and why I adore them. They can be anyone who is famous for being in film such as: actors and actresses, directors and producers, composers etc. We’re going to be looking at my childhood heroes, people I have discovered recently and people that I have yet to look entirely into. We’ll take a bit of a look at how I discovered them, what I think of them and why I think this way about them. Hopefully, we can gain a common ground, you can discover some new people or, via the email address in my bio, you can email me with any new people I don’t know about that you think I would like based on what you’ve seen. These are supposed to be positive articles and made to brighten your day and mine. So, let’s take a wild ride into my childhood, my teen years and what I absolutely adore about the film industry because it is alive and kicking (and if it isn’t, hell I might be out of a job…). Let’s go!

Emma Roberts

I think I discovered Emma Roberts the same way many folk in my generation did - in the movie "Wild Child" (2008). By then, I was a teenager and so, I was pretty into the whole teen movie situation that spewed out of the mouth of "10 Things I Hate About You" back in 1999. Emma Roberts was pretty much one of the biggest stars of the teen girl trope and she did it very well. Let us not forget "Aquamarine" which was a lesser known movie but had an impact on my teen years. I can sit here and pretend like I was watching all of these philosophical movies and analysing them at 12, 13 and 14 and yes, I was doing that sometimes because I have an older brother. He made me watch things like "The Godfather" and pretty much got me into classic cinema. But, when it came to films that I enjoyed watching purely for entertainment, where I could switch off and relax - Emma Roberts featured in them from time to time. I really saw her as someone that I thought had a lot more talent than they were letting on. I never knew why until I saw her in American Horror Story.

A controversial take but my favourite season of American Horror Story was series 4: Freak Show. Emma Roberts plays this bitchy character who preys on the cast of the Freak Show, pushing her way in through fakery and distrust. However, through twists and turns, she ends up as also quite a sympathetic character as she portrays this multilayered personality that feels sorry for some of these people who have been treated badly as a result of the deformities. This, for me, was one of the key things that built upon Emma Roberts' acting talent and really showed people that grew up with her teen movies that she is more than just a girly movie trope.

After this, her range of film really opened up. She started doing dramas, comedies, thrillers and more. Since then, her career has been on the rise ever since she has been making me happier and happier with her outer pursuits as well as the ones within cinema. Her book club entitled: Belletrist is so amazing because not only does Emma Roberts actively participate in the club but there are also other members who are all her childhood friends etc. She is not just doing it as a way to get more money and more fans, instead she is sharing the books she loves with the world and makes a hell of a lot of effort to actively engage with her audience.

In the future, I would definitely like to see Emma Roberts become more prominent on the horror/thriller screen. As a scream queen, I am definitely hoping for a great output in the style of Jamie Lee Curtis and maybe, one day, she will win an Oscar for her performance. I have my fingers crossed because I think she has got so much more talent than people give her credit for. She has such a wide range of films in her filmography and not many people notice how far she's come from her teen days.

Join me next time for "Why I Adore: Margot Robbie..."

celebrities

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

Secondary English Teacher & Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

X: @AnnieWithBooks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Annie KapurWritten by Annie Kapur

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.