Geeks logo

What We Did on Our Holiday - A Movie Review

This film took a much different direction than what I was anticipating.

By Marielle SabbagPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Let’s go to the beach and make sand castles.

What We Did on Our Holiday traveled to theaters in 2014. Getting on the road is no picnic for a family of five. Once they finally arrive in Scotland for the granddad’s 75th birthday, the kids hang out with their grandfather as the rest of the family bickers.

This film took a much different direction than what I was anticipating. I was stunned by one scene. At first, I was going to give this film a negative review. Then again, all movies deserve time to process. Once I thought about it, What We Did on Our Holiday would have been the same old road trip film with everyone learning to overcome their differences.

Dysfunction runs amuck in the family. As the parents of three children, Abi and Doug (Rosamund Pike and David Tenant) spend most of the trip arguing and keeping the kids together. This is my first time seeing Pike in a motherly role from her sociopathic characters.

The child actors were great. Emelia Jones, Bobby Smallridge, and Harriet Turnball were so natural in all their interactions and line deliveries. Albeit their character’s behavior is questionable. Their questions were inappropriate at times, and they’d interrupt conversations.

Emelia Jones plays Lottie. Jones is best known for her roles in CODA and the Netflix series Locke & Key. This was the first film I saw Jones as a child actress. Lottie is wise beyond her age. Taking notes in her trusted notebook of all situations and what the adults say, this notebook comes back to haunt everyone at the end.

I especially liked Jess (Turnball). She is a sweet little girl who likes to carry a collection of rocks all the time. I laughed when it was revealed that she was driving the car after her dad fell asleep.

Billy Connelly was the best performance. With his 75th birthday nearing closer, Gordie’s ailing health looms in the shadows. Gordie made the best grandad. All of the conversations he has with his grandchildren are sweet. He had a lot of good stories and advice to share. He openly remarks how proud he is of them.

This movie exemplifies a positive example of sharing relationships with grandparents. What We Did on Our Holiday is a tender film. Watching the kids have fun with their grandfather reminded me of memories. I was a little nervous when he taught them how to drive his car.

Something very unexpected happened in the film. When said scene occurred, I couldn’t believe what I was watching. I won’t ruin what it was because it could turn viewers off from seeing this film. It was a bit extreme. However, the adult's reactions are priceless when they find out with the kids did. I will admit it experiments with dark comedy well.

Andy Hamilton and Guy Jenkin did this on purpose. Vacations always make interesting stories. Every film should be memorable, right? I watched this film a couple of months ago. The film has stayed on my mind since. They wanted to make this film something to remember. While the adults argued, everyone came together, resolving the matter.

Taking place in Scotland, filmmakers regaled viewers to excellent views and culture. The film is well-shot. Taking his grandkids on an adventure, Gordie takes the kids to several destinations, like an ostrich farm. By the way, if you see an ostrich run by, it’s not an illusion.

Audiences will have mixed opinions but check out What We Did on Our Holiday on Amazon Prime. It is a funny story and has charm.

reviewpop culturemovieentertainmentcomedycelebrities
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.