Geeks logo

TV Binge Ideas

Could One be your next favorite?

By CarriePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

What show would I recommend based off a show I like? Well, there are so many I do not know where to begin. The selection I have created you may have seen them all, but if you have not, I recommend that you give them a shot. I also tried to give a wide range of ideas of what to watch but know that I did not recommend everything in this story, but maybe I will do another story like this.

One of my favorite TV Shows is Criminal Minds. It is a team of FBI profilers that instead of just trying to find a killer, they try to understand the killer and why they turned into one. The main type of ‘un-sub’ they catch are serial killers, but they also handle child abduction and terrorists. The show ran for 15 seasons and the many ways that people were killed by the ‘un-subs’ were amazing and scary. Along with the stories I loved all the characters, but I do have to admit Derrick was my favorite character. His relationship with Penelope and with Reid I just loved to watch it.

Now if you liked Criminal Minds you might like Flashpoint. This show focuses on the Strategic Response Unit (SRU) a team of police officers that resolve situations which might be a kidnapping, hostage takers, bomb threats or any high-risk situations. Like Criminal Minds they go into the situation trying to figure out why the problem escalated to the situation it is at now. Flashpoint ran for 5 seasons and can be watched on Amazon Prime or Hulu if you have anyone of those. Unlike Criminal Minds SRU goes into high-risk situations so they are loaded with gear and ready for anything. The show dives into relationships outside SRU and how the job affects not the members, but their personal lives.

I am a huge superhero fan and I mainly love DC, but I do watch Marvel as well. For this recommendation I am not going to say well if you have watched this show then you should try this other show. I am just going to recommend all of them. If you have not seen them, I recommend you try, The Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl, Superman and Lois, DC Legends of Tomorrow, Blacklighting, Batwoman, Stargirl and the last one which is different is Smallville. I first watched Smallville and got hooked to the show. It was great seeing how Superman became Superman and seeing his humanity along with his struggles between super and human. Other than Smallville the other shows have done crossovers so you get to see team-ups which I admit I will watch any team-up episode even if I do not like a show. I hope you give them a shot if you have not already. You can find them all on Netflix if you have it, but you can also watch it on Amazon, but you must pay for the episodes or seasons.

Another recommendation I have is if you have seen the show H20 Just Add Water you might like Ocean Girl. H20 Just Add Water you can find on Netflix and Amazon with a subscription to the Dove channel. Ocean Girl you should also be able to find on Amazon.

If you have not seen it H20 Just Add Water is about 3 girls who get stranded on an Island and end up becoming mermaids. It lasted for 3 seasons and it shows how they handle going from normal teenage girls to teenage girls that turn into mermaids anytime they get water on them. Ocean Girl is about a mysterious girl who lives on an island on her own since she was a little girl. It starts out with a mom and her 2 sons going to live on ORCA an environmental protection facility which is in the middle of the ocean. Once the boys and girl meet, they go through much to find out who she is and try to keep her a secret because she can do things that no one else can do. Ocean Girl lasted 3 seasons and like H20 Just Add Water it is an Australian TV Show.

My next recommendation is Psych and Monk which if you have not seen them, I would recommend you try them as well.

Psych is about a man Shawn Spencer who pretends to be psychic to get out of being arrested for solving so many crimes by just watching the news. The police believe because he solved so many, Shawn is in on it. Now because Shawn told the police he is psychic, he becomes a police consultant that helps solves the crimes that seem unsolvable alongside his best friend Gus. His father was a cop and because of that he raised Shawn to see and understand things that most people would not second guess. Each episode usually starts with Shawn’s childhood with him, and Gus being taught a lesson from Shawn’s dad. That lesson what every it may be gives you an idea on the episode of the show. One thing I loved about this show is the friendship between Shawn and Gus they seemed more like brothers then just friends.

Monk is about a guy named Adrian Monk who was once a detective, but after the brutal murder of his wife he loses his job. Monk is a germophobic, OCD along with many other fears that not only complicate his return to the force but frustrates everyone in his life. Monk becomes a police consultant and even with everything he has been through they rely on his skills that he possesses to solve crimes.

Both shows have comedy and life lessons thrown in along with serious matters. I fully enjoyed both series and I hope if you have not seen them you will try them. Monk and Psych can be found on Amazon with Monk having Psych both having 8 seasons.

My last recommendation is some thing completely different, but 3 shows I love are Voice, Raak Boon and The Sixth Sense. They are all tv shows and they are Thailand TV Shows. I enjoy watching shows from other countries, but mainly South Korea, Japan, China, Taiwan and Thailand. I have a bunch of recommendations for shows from those countries, but I love. The Sith Sense and Raak Boon you can most likely find on YouTube because that is where I found them, but the Voice is on Netflix.

What I enjoy most about watching shows from other countries is seeing the difference in the culture and the country. Though I do not speak any other language I do love hearing different languages.

The Voice is about a policewoman with super sensitive hearing who uses it to help solve crimes. Along with dealing with crimes currently being committed she also teams up with a fellow co-worker to solve a crime that took a loved one from both of them years ago.

The Sixth Sense is about a group of girlfriends who each have a special ability that help solve issues dealing with the supernatural. The Sixth Sense has 2 seasons it focuses on the supernatural with some romance thrown in.

Raak Boon is a lot like The Sixth Sense where they deal with the supernatural, but unlike The Sixth Sense Raak Boon focuses on a woman with the ability to see ghosts which she helps solve their unfinished business.

Those are my recommendations for a chance to watch a new show. I hope if you have watched everything, I mentioned today you do find one you may like on my list. If you have watched everything, but the Thailand shows venture out and try something new. They are different from American shows but seeing the culture of different countries helps expand and see how others live. Hope you enjoy and I enjoyed doing this I may end up doing another one in the future with more recommendations. Have a great day!

tv
Like

About the Creator

Carrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.