Geeks logo

Top 3 Books You've Probably Never Heard of...

Angst series

By Alicia ReneePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Discovering the hidden gems within the popular choices...

"Everything was symbolic to him. How he dressed, how he spoke, how he thought, who he associated with. Everything had to be prolific or why do it and his attitude was always tongue-in-cheek. Jean was always watching himself from outside of himself and laughing." - Widow Basquiat

I feel like I have been sitting on a few incredible books that aren't widely talked about, so considering the current times, I hope these fulfill everyone's quench for a good book.

The first book I want to talk about is called Widow Basquiat. It is written by Jennifer Clement and she does an incredible job at relaying a true story, whilst switching the narrative through one of the main characters of the book.

The book encompasses the epic lives of Jean-Michel Basquiat and his on again off again lover, Susan. In my opinion, now more than ever, this is a very important read. Without giving too much away, Susan, young and from another country moves to New York City, where she meets Jean-Michel at a local bar. They fall madly in love right before and into the height of his career. Susan, Basquiat's lover, ends up experiencing the celebrity lifestyle behind the scenes whilst attaining many connections and friendships.

The book really encompasses the horror that the gay community faced throughout the 80's as well as highlighting the racially motivated police brutality at the height of the Street Art Era. This book is eye opening to the different ideals and levels of ambiguity that love really is. It also appeases a sense of justice because Susan, the main character uses her connections and recourses to seek justice for a dear friend who was chased and beaten to death by police; Merely because of the color of his skin. As tumultuous as Basquiat's and Susan's relationship became, the book is more than just a broken love story- it's a story of living, unbound.

"Everything was symbolic to him. How he dressed, how he spoke, how he thought, who he associated with. Everything had to be prolific or why do it and his attitude was always tongue-in-cheek. Jean was always watching himself from outside of himself and laughing." - Widow Basquiat

"They say the sea is actually black and that it merely reflects the blue sky above. So it was with me. I allowed you to admire yourself in my eyes. I provided a service. I listened and listened and listened. You stored yourself in me." - Diary of an Oxygen Thief

The next book I'm highlighting is called Diary of an Oxygen Thief, by "Anonymous." It's unclear to me if this is a work of fiction or this guy actually exists, but it is told in the first person narrative by a cynical guy from England. This book is for anyone looking for anything but a "love story," and more of a diary of a narcissist's confession. The title, in translation actually means, "Diary of a useless person".

"Anonymous," starts off by confessing he has issues. Issues that stem along the lines of being a recovering alcoholic and having an addiction issue with breaking women's hearts. He would find his next woman to start engaging with until he felt that they were falling in love with him. By this point, he would do humiliating things to these women, in efforts to get a reaction and never speak to them again. Don't get me wrong, some of the stories are a bit comical but if they're true, I hope I never meet anyone like him.

As the story moves along, he is offered a new job in the Middle of Nowhere, USA. He acclimates for a bit, but finds himself traveling and meeting this young female named, Aisling. To sum it up, Aisling turns out to be his undeniable karma. The author explains through the story that anything he had ever done in the past was not nearly as horrible as what she ends up doing to him. It is captivating, thrilling, and inviting. It's almost a motivational book for, "self empowerment," or redemption. The idea of breaking such a person down in the name of Art really makes this book a, "cynical inspiration."

"They say the sea is actually black and that is merely reflects the blue sky above. So it was with me. I allowed you to admire yourself in my eyes. I provided a service. I listened and listened and listened. You stored yourself in me." - Diary of an Oxygen Thief

"Man is what he wills himself to be." - Jean Paul Sartre

Finally, on my list is, "No Exit", by Jean-Paul Sartre. This book is from 1944 and you wont find it in the fiction isle. This is a French play with an existential message. I love books and plays such as this one because, as you read, the material becomes relevant and it involves a level of self analysis by the end. I read this book at a young age. I was just entering High School, feeling as though I didn't belong. I would escape through books and this was one I'm grateful to have found at the peak of my years of self discovery.

No Exit includes three existential plays based on Sartre's Philosophical beliefs. When you dismiss the idea of this being a work of philosophy, you begin to relate to the premise. This book is essentially a portrayal of hell and the human gaze. There are three main characters whom die and they are then met in the afterlife with a doorman and a room. Three people to this room, none the wiser of their sins upon entering, and none with a common connection. Their time spent in the room depicts human behavior and the need for answers. The evolution of each of these three characters' behaviors and observations is what makes this read so encapsulating.

All three of these books inspired and awakened me in different ways throughout the years and they have such strong messages. Although I would consider these three titles some of my more, "angsty" reads, they ignite a sense of movement by the end that will push you out of your seat to do something outside the box.

"Man is what he wills himself to be." - No Exit

literature

About the Creator

Alicia Renee

I’ve successfully mastered the art of deep breathing;

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia ReneeWritten by Alicia Renee

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.