Geeks logo

This is Where I Leave You - A Movie Review

'This is Where I Leave You' made me laugh and feel sorrow.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

There’s no version of this scenario that ends well. Let’s just survive the week together.

This is Where I Leave You is a 2014 film. After the death of their father, his dying wish is for his dysfunctional family to spend an entire week together. Enduring the usual fights, this week brings the family together again for the better.

You got to love films about dysfunctional families. Nobody can choose their family. This is Where I Leave You made me laugh and feel sorrow. That’s one of the best parts about movies. In a week of bickering and tears, you never know how family will help you.

This is Where I Leave You encases a stellar cast of actors. Each actor has had a different past in comedy. They all worked very well together, establishing their relationships and study of their emotions.

Jason Bateman is a tremendous actor. He likes to test himself in both comedy and drama. Enduring several personal dilemmas, Judd learns how to overcome these obstacles. He may not go about his decisions in the right manner, but life is all about learning.

Recently, I watched Jane Fonda in the Netflix series, Grace and Frankie. Fonda is the queen of comedy. As the mother, Hilary wants peace among her family. She goes about it in her own way.

Adam Driver wins the best character award. I have really come to enjoy his work. As the brother who is the man-child of the family, Philip gets on everyone’s nerves. Driver is a comical actor. I am also impressed with his dramatic abilities.

More credits include Tina Fey, Rose Byrne, Corey Stoll, Kathryn Hahn, Connie Britton, Timothy Olyphant, Abigail Spencer, and more. A lot of bickering happens over the course of the film. Each family member has a story and a desire. The bonding moments are especially heartwarming.

Not all the characters were given depth. Actors like Bateman, Fonda, and Driver got most of the screen time while the rest of the characters come and go. A couple of characters could have been cut.

I like Shawn Levy’s direction and the way he works with an ensemble. He made a personal connection. In contrast to other family dysfunction films, Levy chose a more lighthearted approach. The comedy is not over the top and it’s serious when it needs to be. There is no need for intensity.

The story has several subplots. They all fit into one. It becomes a romantic comedy to some degree. Even though you know how the story is going to come together, the bonding moments make it worth it. I laughed when the brothers decided to get high during a rather formal moment.

Deaths in the family are hard. This film is relatable to any family who has gone through a sad experience. In these sad times, I have always enjoyed gathering together with my family. No matter what, any family is dysfunctional. Talking helps.

The film is wise in its message. You’re going to be okay. That’s a meaningful moral. You may not believe it, but you will. Maybe not now, but with a little time, you will start to feel like yourself again. Enjoy any chance you get to spend with your family.

This is Where I Leave You is a tender and funny film. It’s sad at some moments, but it’s a relatable melancholiness. I suggest that you watch This is Where I Leave You for your next family movie night. I’m sure you will all be laughing at finding how similar the family’s relationship is.

review
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.