Geeks logo

Things I Want to See In Bridgerton Season 2

A Wishlist of Sorts

By Talia HazeltonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Things I Want to See In Bridgerton Season 2
Photo by Shayna Douglas on Unsplash

Okay, so I may have watched “Bridgerton” way too many times to admit. I might even call it my “emotional support ‘Bridgerton’” to my best friend when we talk about what we are going to watch during the week. Regé-Jean Page is a dreamboat, okay? I can’t help it. I’m sure you’re asking yourself right about now, “why watch it so many times when you could read the book series and have some new interactions with the characters?” Well, dear reader, this is a notion I found myself expressing as well. So I went ahead and bought up all the books and began reading them. After finishing the second book, “The Viscount Who Loved Me,” I thought I would share with the world a few things I want to see in the second season of the show.

Stop reading right now if you don’t want spoilers for the second book of the series or potential spoilers for the second season of the show! This season will focus mostly on Anthony Bridgerton's story. If you've watched the show, you will have likely become distracted by him at some point. He is infuriatingly good-looking and very debonaire, something romance lovers appreciate immensely in their heroes. This will make for an incredibly exciting second season! I do not know for sure what’s to come, but I’m hoping some of these tidbits from Anthony's story make it onto our screens.

1. Siena Rosso

This is going to be a controversial opinion, but I think having Siena appear in the second season of the show will add some real complexity to Anthony Bridgerton’s internal battles of self-deprecation. Some people really dislike the idea of Siena because of the implication that she might be in competition with Anthony's main love interest, Kate. Siena was an original character to the show, but she is clearly inspired by a character in the second book by the name of Maria Rosso. This character in the book only has one semi-steamy scene with Anthony. However on the show, we meet her and Anthony’s bare butt in the very first scene! I don't think Siena will be competition, I just think she will still be someone that Anthony really cares for and needs to get over before he can truly love and care for Kate the way she deserevs to be loved. I think this is a healthy character exploration because it mimics real life. We've all been there. "The one that got away" is familiar to so many of us. Why shouldn't Anthony Bridgerton also have the capacity to have loved in the past? I think it will be interesting to see how he realizes that Siena has never truly been the right person for him and that Kate is his perfect match.

By Freddy Castro on Unsplash

2. The Desk Scenes

Personally, I was never truly clear if Kate was sinking her fingernails or her teeth into Anthony’s leg in the first desk scene, but I am genuinely looking forward to seeing it in the show! I think this is a funny, weird scene that has the room to be interpreted with some genuine comedy if the showrunners see fit to do that. Plus, Siena/Maria is in this scene in the book and I would love it if she could make an appearance here too.

In the second desk scene, we see Anthony and Kate sharing a really intimate moment, as he is helping to calm her down during a terrible thunderstorm. I think this is one of the crucial turning points in their relationship. Before this, Anthony had never really thought of her as being a vulnerable person, but this gave him a glimpse at the soft, vulnerable person she is underneath her tough exterior. Something similar happens when he later calls her beautiful during a sexual moment. He gets to really see into her insecurities and reassure her that he truly cares for who she is. So, I think both desk scenes are necessary to show the steps of their relationship from immature and based on mutual dislike to a relationship that is strong and based on trust.

3. Simone Ashley’s Kate

Kate may not truly belong on this list because we know for sure she will be in the show. After all, she is Anthony’s love interest. However, I included this because I’ve never seen Simone Ashley in anything before and I am really excited to be introduced to her through Kate. Kate is such an interesting character, with true goodness in her heart. Miss Ashley is an absolutely gorgeous woman playing a woman who is supposed to be “plainer looking” than her younger half-sister. I don’t know how they’re going to pull that off, as Simone is so pretty, but I am excited to see how she embodies this character.

By Trollinho on Unsplash

4. The Bee Scene

Fellow readers of “The Viscount Who Loved Me,” you will immediately know what I’m talking about. This scene was hands down the thing that made me close my book and scream for a few moments. I had to stop and digest, as I was giggling with glee so hard I couldn’t focus. I read the scene several times, and each time was equally delighted. I can't wait to see Anthony's reaction to the bee and how he feels he absolutely must suck the venom from Kate's chest to save her from an untimely death, just like that which his father suffered. I know his discomfort with bees stems from the trauma he experienced as a young man, but there is certainly room to exaggerate with the dramatic aspect of it in the story. Plus, the three Mamas appearing on the scene makes it all the more hysterical. I love the implication that Mrs. Featherington won't be able to control her mouth and she will be forced to gossip. This is very true to the character and the actress who plays her, Polly Walker, embodies her with such skill.

By Vonecia Carswell on Unsplash

5. Kate’s Relationship with Mary

I know this show really hinges on the romantic aspect of things, but I am hoping to see more of the platonic relationships expand a bit more. Kate and her stepmother Mary have a wonderful relationship in the book and I am hoping we will get to see some of that type of intimacy. I love how tight their bond is, and I love how their love also encompasses their relationship with Edwina, Mary’s daughter and Kate’s half-sister. This familial threesome is one of my favorite parts of the book because there is so much genuine good within it.

By Alessandro Bogliari on Unsplash

6. Pall Mall

I am so curious about “The Mallet of Death” and how they’re going to successfully execute that. I think of all the things on my list, this is the one that is most likely to make it into the show. Julia Quinn, the author of the books, has said that this is the scene her readers approach her about most often. I am most excited to see Daphne and Simon in this scene. We’ve already gotten so much of their story from the first season of the show, but I am hoping that they will appear more frequently in the second season than they did in the second book of the series. The one thing I will say about this famous Bridgerton siblings' game is that I hope, for the costume department's sake, that it's not as muddy as it was in the book. I would hate to see those gorgeous pieces get dirtied up too badly!

By Cole Keister on Unsplash

7. Last but Not Least, Newton the Corgi

I am fully prepared for and expecting Newton the corgi to make an appearance. He better burst onto the screen with a bark and cause as many shenanigans as he does in the book. If he doesn’t, I will be gravely disappointed. Newton exists simply to cause chaos and I love that about him. He accidentally launches Edwina into the water and ruins Anthony's boots. He loves Mary so much that it repulses and frightens her. He is Kate's little demon and he has absolutely stolen my heart. I am obsessed with this dog and I need to see him on the show.

This short but sweet little wishlist of things I’m looking forward to seeing in the second season of “Bridgerton.” I hope this has gotten you a little excited about the prospect of the show or maybe even made you want to go back and read the books again!

---------

If you enjoyed this article, please consider leaving a heart or a tip. Either would give this author a great deal of joy! Check out my other articles! I write everything from poems to stories about queer morticians. Thank you for reading this.

tv
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.