Geeks logo

Theatre Production : Boy & Girl

Review of the show I attended on 12 March 2022

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Photo courtesy of the Author

After another two years of holding tight to my ticket, I finally managed to attend the ‘Boy & Girl’ theatre production at the Brisbane Powerhouse last night and what a magical, worth the wait, production it turned out to be.

First things first, I must admit I did originally hesitate to purchase this ticket two years ago because the venue was the Brisbane Powerhouse.

Why?

Because I wasn’t sure how I would get there. Usually when I attend any theatre production I catch the train but with the Brisbane Powerhouse not being near a train line, that was not possible for this event.

Unfortunately due to my terrible sense of direction, I cannot catch a bus, so my only other option was to drive. Anyone that knows me well, knows this could turn out to be an absolute nightmare, with me never finding the theatre or finding it too late.

Add on top of that, the Brisbane flood issues and it was a certain disaster waiting to happen.

But I can proudly say I drove last night without a single hiccup, well until I tried to drive home, in which case I got terribly lost.

My philosophy has always been that as long as get there okay, then I have all night to get home, so all turned out better than expected.

The Brisbane Powerhouse is one of our iconic buildings, as it was, as the name suggests, the original Powerhouse prior to being put out of action and restored to include the theatre, bars and restaurants that it now incorporates. A beautiful and worthy old building that’s absolutely delightful to visit.

Photo courtesy of the Author

I had a great seat, close to the stage and was even able to make one couple’s night that little bit better. They had only booked that morning as they do not live in Brisbane, as they were just visiting for the night. However, there were limited seats available as the show was almost sold out. I was in seat C12 and the only seats this couple could purchase was seats C11 and C13. I was more than happy to swap my seat so they could sit together.

Photo courtesy of the Author

Really, how weird would it have been if I was the meat in their sandwich for the entire night!

Finally the lights dim and the show commences. One rule that really impressed me was that they encouraged the audience to take photos and videos and to share them on social media.

Anyone who attends theatre regularly would know this is very unusual.

The first song, played by the live band set up at the back of the stage, saw four gorgeous men strut onto the stage with feathered fans, one man even wearing knee high heeled boots. He could walk in those heels as well as any female could — if not better.

Photo courtesy of the Author

Next we were introduced to this stunning ‘poodle’, who is absolutely gorgeous, with a divine body, but actually happens to be a man dressed in his glory. Wow, he pulls that off better than most women could.

Photo courtesy of the Author

Seriously can you believe this gorgeous creature is male?

Much to my delight, as a Michael Jackson fan, the dancers performed some of MJ’s iconic moves and they did it well.

Photo courtesy of the Author

The night continued with aerial stunts, performed by scantily clad, gorgeous women — causing gasps of delight from the audience.

Photo courtesy of the Author

As gorgeous as the women were, I’m sorry but my eye was definitely drawn to a couple of the male performers, who were not only extremely talented but also very easy on the eyes.

One of the highlights of the entire night, has to be the poodle, now dressed in black dominatrix wear — again totally unbelievable that she is not in fact a gorgeous woman but an absolutely talented male performer.

Photo courtesy of the Author

This image is the male actor that was the ‘poodle’ throughout the first half of the show. Now that’s some serious talent.

Our final act of the night had the female audience roaring in delight. With a combination of fine male specimens, the danger of the added fire, and the limited clothing, almost taking the roof off the Powerhouse.

If you don’t believe me, check it out for yourself. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Photo courtesy of the Author

All in all, a fantastic evening was had by all……………and I did eventually find my way home.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

review
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    This is one of your best reviews.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.