Geeks logo

The Story of the Greatest Christmas Film Ever

The 1946 Frank Capra classic didn't gain popularity until 1974

By Sarah ParisPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
5
It's a Wonderful Life. Public Domain.

I love Christmas. I’m not one of those over-the-top fanatics who decorates on November 1st or dreams about a year-round festival. But, I love the Christmas season and soak up every related activity I can.

Even those who don’t celebrate Christmas seem kinder and warmer over the holiday season. Love spills over in unexpected ways in the countdown to December 25th. Unexpected phone calls from former friends or romantic partners abound. Strangers hold store doors open for others and help old ladies cross the street.

When I worked in the bar and restaurant industry, most guests expressed more patience and generosity with tips than any other time of year. As a bartender — in fine dining and dive bar settings alike — I broke up fewer fights between patrons. “Karens” demanding managers to haggle over prices faded like ghosts, only to reappear again by New Year’s Eve. At Christmas, I’d like to think a different atmosphere of hope hangs over the world.

But Christmas can be ugly too. Financial stress, unmet expectations, and aching loneliness can wound the best of us. Christmas shines a glaring light on struggles. Some of us would like to avoid the season altogether.

Hence, the need for Christmas cinema — whether chock full of profound and beautiful wisdom or syrupy sweet, fluffy candy. Christmas films provide feel-good escapism in the best ways. And yes, I do think Die Hard qualifies.

Thus, I begin a Holiday Movie Marathon every Black Friday. I start with the fluff (think Home Alone, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, and A Christmas Story). Then, I work my way through Love Actually, The Holiday, Elf, The Princess Bride, and A Christmas Carol.

I reserve Christmas Eve for the best: It’s A Wonderful Life. The film almost wasn’t made and post-World War II critics panned the story and performances. But for me, George Bailey and Clarence represent everything I need to find in the Christmas season.

The history of a classic

“George Bailey, I’ll love you ’til the day I die.”

-Jean Gale as a young Mary Hatch, It’s A Wonderful Life

I'll love 'til the day I die too, George Bailey! Public Domain.

In the early 1940s, Philip Van Doren Stern grew frustrated with his fledgling writing career. He felt his short story, The Greatest Gift, showcased his best writing. But Van Doren Stern submitted to numerous publications only to face rejection (I can relate). Ultimately, he wanted an audience for The Greatest Gift; thus, he self-published the story before self-publishing was a “thing.”

In 1943, Van Doren Stern printed out 200 copies and sent the story as a 21-page Christmas letter to friends.

One friend shared the story with an RKO Pictures producer named David Hempstead. Hempstead immediately contacted Van Doren Stern and purchased the film rights for $10,000 (almost $170,000 in 2021). But as option rights and screenplays are wont to do, The Greatest Gift languished in development hell until 1945, and RKO decided to pass on production.

Frank Capra purchased the rights in 1945, and went on to create, in his humble opinion, the greatest film ever made. He knew he wanted 37-year-old Jimmy Stewart, fresh back from fighting Nazis in World War II, to star as George Bailey. Donna Reed signed on for her first starring role as Mary Hatch Bailey. And, Lionel Barrymore — great-uncle of Drew — was cast as the evil antagonist, Mr. Potter.

It’s A Wonderful Life finally saw release in 1946. However, war-weary and horror-struck audiences didn’t buy the message of feel-good hope permeating It’s A Wonderful Life. Critics were quick to pan the film too.

New York Times film critic Bosley Crowther said, “The weakness of this picture is the sentimentality of it.” And Crowther called George Bailey “a figment of simple Pollyanna platitude.”

Well, I’ve never heard of Crowther, but It’s A Wonderful Life has informed my life since Sarah Paris: The Toddler Years.

It’s A Wonderful Life tanked at the box office and languished on the Island of Misfit Movies for almost thirty years. In 1974, a fluke lapse in copyright coverage led to the royalty-free broadcast option. The world-weary and jaded 1970s audiences hooked into the film’s story easier than their newly cynical 1940s counterparts, and a Christmas classic was born. It’s A Wonderful Life debuted with an over $500,000 loss, but has since gained over 3.3 million in profits.

Why Capra, Stewart, Reed, and I think this is one of the best films ever made

" I’m not a praying man. But if you’re up there and you

can hear me, show me the way.

I’m at the end of my rope. Show me the way.”

-Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey in It’s A Wonderful Life

George Bailey at the end of his rope. Public Domain

Warning: Spoilers for a 73-year-old film ahead

Actually, I can’t speak for the aforementioned cinema greats, although they each cited It’s A Wonderful Life as their favorite film. Capra, whose work included It Happened One Night and Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, said it was the greatest film he made. The story manages to weave feel-good light fare with gritty, resonant details in rare ways.

The story begins on Christmas Eve. A distraught George Bailey, facing criminal and hard-hitting financial consequences for the ineptitude of his alcoholic Uncle Billy, stands at a bridge railing and contemplates suicide. Bailey cries out, fighting the urge to jump. His emotional pain is palpable. His agony punches me in the gut with each viewing. Bailey is a man in need of redemption.

Bailey receives intervention via Clarence, a well-meaning but bumbling angel longing to earn his wings. If Clarence can show George Bailey how his actions have far-reaching positive ripple effects and prevent his suicide, his wings will appear. Clarence needs redemption too.

Bailey looks back on his life and sees how each life of the fictional Bedford Falls benefited from his existence. He saved his brother Harry from drowning in a sledding accident. He lost his hearing in one ear as a result, and until Clarence showed up, George saw only the negative consequences of his actions. But without George, Harry would have died.

As a young teenage George worked at a pharmacy, and his future wife fell in love with him. He saved his distraught boss, Mr. Gower, from sending out poison in place of medicine. His career in the bank helped keep the vile Mr. Potter from destroying the lives of Bedford Falls’ citizens. And when he’s in dire need of help, everyone in Bedford Falls shows up.

It’s A Wonderful Life doesn’t paint a rosy, unrealistic picture of struggle. George Bailey’s story resonates with many as he lives a life he never wanted. His dreams are dashed at every turn, and he wrestles with himself to remember why life is worth living.

The hope on Christmas Eve

“Strange, isn’t it? Each man’s life touches so many other lives. When he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he?”

-Henry Trevers as Clarence in It’s A Wonderful Life

Regardless of one’s spiritual faith, the lessons of It’s A Wonderful Life are universal. I can relate to George. The life I have now isn’t the one I hoped and planned for, and at times, I feel trapped. The road to goals is long, dusty, and unrelenting. I can and do struggle with self-worth.

Sometimes my desperate prayers feel unanswered. But then I intentionally change my perspective. I recognize the amazing people I’m blessed to call friends and family, the wonderful places I’ve visited, and the positive, miraculous events I’ve experienced. I realize my life does matter.

This 1946 Christmas film stands the test of time and remains atop my Christmas movie list. I’ll watch It’s A Wonderful Life every Christmas Eve for the rest of my life. I see myself in George Bailey. I understand his struggles. And by film’s end, an overwhelming hope and gratitude fills me.

“Remember, George: no man is a failure who has friends.”

George Bailey and all of his friends. Public Domain.

Originially published on Medium.com

movie
5

About the Creator

Sarah Paris

Storytelling. Fiction is my heartbeat, but I write in multiple genres.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.