Geeks logo

The Originals

Tales of an Imperfect Vampire Family

By Janay EaleyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

" It is love, imperfect and unordered, that keeps them apart, even as it holds them together somehow " - Judith Guest

There only three reasons to why I adore the Originals. Its expectational dialogue, well written characters and the theme of the entire show revolves around: Family. This is the kind of the show that has storylines and characters that I can actually tolerate even though these same characters pissed me off or got on my last nerves. They still managed to add something to the show. I know most people hate the Mikaelsons siblings in the Originals but let me tell you this: The Mikaelsons are the most realistic and accurate portrayal of family that I have ever seen on television other than the Gallagher's from Shameless. All the bickering and backstabbing that they do to one other, they still find a way to overcome and rise up from their downfalls and shortcomings. My most favorite Original and Mikaelsons sibling is Elijah. He will always be the best character to me no matter what. You can say whatever the hell you guys want about him. I don't give a damn! He went through serious character development after The Vampire Diaries. Most people may refer to him as the most unpredictable and scariest Original which I didn't find him like that at all. Elijah turns up when he needs to. He knows whenever he tries to play the nice guy and peace maker, it doesn't always work at times so he has to exhibit those people on why he's not really the nice and cordial original he used to be. Elijah may have been done some things in the Originals that not a lot of people may have agreed with but there is nothing worse than what the damn Klaus has ever done. I didn't appreciate how they did Elijah in the last episode of the Originals. That was just a slap in the face writing to me like what do you mean Elijah sacrifices his self along with Klaus? No, Klaus sacrifices his own his self ALONE with no one else by his side. Didn't even bother to give Elijah his own happy ending! Kol may not have been my favorite Original and Mikaelson but he was right about one thing. Klaus has put that family through damn hell. It's time for them to stop worrying and hanging around his behind and find what they always wanted in their lives: Happiness.

On a negative note, everything going great for the Originals until the writers decided to go into that Strix and Hollow storyline. I didn't really care for that Hollow storyline because I didn't think she made a great villain but it never my blood boil like that damn Strix did. I don't want to see Aurora and her stank behind brother Tristan and the other girl, Aya. They should kept the focus on that one specific character and that is Lucien Castle.

He was the perfect set up for being a new villain in the third season of the Originals. He did in fact become an antagonist but only towards the end. Some things that bothered me in the Originals was how they tossed Hayley out of the show like that. That wasn't a character being killed off. That was just a way for the writers say that they are done giving a character screen time. The hate that Hayley gets in the Originals fandom is just ridiculous. People love hating the wrong type of characters except for the right characters.

That concludes my Originals review/discussion.

See you guys later!

tv
1

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.