Geeks logo

The Legend Of Clarice

A story about how Clarice became the Goddess of the ocean.

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 6 min read
16

I am Clarice, Goddess of the Ocean. Have you heard my legend?

I spend my days watching over ships on the horizon as I walk the Pacific Ocean waters, helping victims cross over to a better place. Some I have saved, but few are worthy of such a gift. Unlike most goddesses, I was not born into this role - I was given the choice of life or death on November 28, 1717. Travelling aboard a slave ship on its way to Chile, Blackbeard and his pirates hijacked the ship. I saw men get shot down while we women and children walked the plank. Hundreds of years later, the screams and cries of the victims continue to haunt me. I was praying for salvation as I sank to the bottom of the ocean when Poseidon himself came to me.

"What is your name, child?" he asked, his voice somehow in my head

"Clarice," I thought as my lungs began to fill with cold, salty water.

"I have ruled the oceans for eons, but rare is it that I should come across a heart as pure as yours. I require a Goddess to help the souls lost in the Pacific Ocean find peace as they cross over to a better place. Should you accept, I would offer you immortality in return – will you help them?"

Fearing death at such a young age, I answered "Yes." without hesitation.

Immediately, the ocean became rough as the water swirled around me like a tornado. I could feel my body become powerful and strong, as my lungs adapted to breathe underwater as well as above. Adorned in the royal gold and white dress that would become my uniform, I became a Goddess of the ocean. This would be the last time I laid eyes on Poseidon.

As my new life began, stories of me began to spread by the souls I saved instead of taking. The first time this happened, I had saved a young boy from drowning. Unsure if this was allowed, I awaited reprimand from Poseidon, but it never came. The young boy grew to be a strong man and saved an entire village in World War 1. Each soul that I protected made their marks on earth and earned the title of "hero." As time went on, the tales of my deeds became more and more fantastic; what began as praise for my life-saving acts quickly morphed into tales that seeing my face could heal the sick, and my touch could grant your deepest wishes. Of course, this was just silly storytelling, but that did not stop the desperate from seeking me out.

Poseidon had failed to warn me about how lonely my life would be, wandering the ocean for all of eternity. Only those close to death can see me, so the opportunity for cultivating meaningful relationships is non-existent…or so I thought. After decades of being alone with only the dying as temporary companions, I found Will Klyne.

On a warm, sunny day like any other, I was walking along the surface of the Pacific Ocean when I spotted a faraway ship. My loneliness got the better of me. I decided to walk towards the boat and eavesdrop on the sailors' conversations working above deck – actions like these were all I had to keep myself from falling into a deep depression.

"Ahoy there, m'lady, may I offer you some assistance?" A man asked as I walked up to the side of the ship.

"You can see me?" I replied, shocked to be addressed by a soul, not in grave peril.

"Not sure how anyone could miss such a beautiful woman walking on water in the middle of the Pacific Ocean," He laughed.

"Are you dying?" I blurted out, still confused by the situation.

"What a strange thing to ask! To my knowledge, I am fit as a fiddle and hope to stay that way for many years. How is it that you can walk on water?"

"I am Clarice, a Goddess of the ocean. If you can see me, surely you must have Godly blood running through your veins?" I responded.

"Not that I am aware of, my fair Clarice. My name is Will Klyne, and I am but a humble sailor. We are several days from shore, and the sun will be setting shortly. May I interest you in a warm blanket and a hot meal?"

"While I am immune to the changes in temperature, I would be happy to join you for supper," I replied.

We talked all night while eating fish and drinking rum. I loved how his dark blue eyes sparkled like the ocean, and though I was impervious to the chill in the air, his smile warmed my body. Will spoke of his childhood, the passing of his parents, and why he took to the seas to escape his past. Hesitantly, I told him all about the slave ship and Blackbeard and spoke of how Poseidon saved my life and the magic he bestowed upon me. I did not know if I was allowed to speak of my story, but there was no sign of displeasure from the Gods, so I continued. For the first time in what felt like forever, Will made me feel human.

With Will, I had found my home. I had to leave him from time to time and collect souls, but I would always return to his ship as hastily as possible. Will's sailing ship was a dark grey wood, with six square-rigged sails. Below-deck were three bunkers and a kitchen area with an attached pantry. He caught us food from the ocean, mainly fish, but some days he would go ashore to acquire lobster, crab, and whatever pantry staples were needed. Our love continued to grow, and on July 7, 1921, Will asked for my hand in marriage. However, this moment was destined to be nothing more than a fleeting distraction in my eternal life. On June 4, 1927, the ocean that brought us together saw fit to steal him away from me. I was far away collecting souls from a shipwreck when Will got caught in a terrible hurricane. His beautiful, dark grey sailing ship sank to the bottom of the ocean, and with it my one chance at happiness. I arrived too late to save him and instead had to usher my beloved into the world beyond. I was angry at Poseidon for a very long time for taking away my one spark of joy. Why couldn't he have saved him for me?

I continued to roam the ocean in sadness. In 1996 my life was once again changed. While easing my loneliness by listening to other's conversations on a Disney cruise ship, I met a girl of 10 years old. Her name was Annabelle, and she was dying of cancer. Death was taking her slowly but quickly enough that she could see me. Unable to have children of my own due to my never-changing body, this was the closest I would come to being a mother. I had begun to look on Annabelle as my surrogate child, and she viewed me as her fairy Godmother. Without realizing it, Annabelle had imprinted on my heart just as permanently as Will had. Inevitably, the cruise ended, and I threatened to have Annabelle leave my world as quickly as she had arrived.

The year is now 2021, and not many ships have been out to the ocean—something about a virus. I continue to battle my loneliness, but Will and Annebelle have stayed beside me in spirit. I have saved souls, and I have met souls. I am Clarice, Goddess of the ocean, and now you know my legend.

fact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.