Geeks logo

The First Time I Met My Online Friend

From Online Forum Friends to Face-to-Face Friendship at a Fountain Pen Convention

By JoelPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
The First Time I Met My Online Friend
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

The sun was just beginning to set as I pulled into the crowded parking lot, my eyes scanning the bustling crowd for any sign of the familiar face I'd only ever seen through a computer screen. A wave of anxiety suddenly washed over me. Were we really doing this? Meeting in person after bonding online for over a year?

I had met Charlie in an obscure internet forum dedicated to antique fountain pens. I stumbled upon it while researching an old fountain pen I had found in my grandfather's attic, and was immediately enthralled by the fascinating discussions. One chatty participant named CharliePens89 stood out for his expansive knowledge and infectious enthusiasm. We got to talking privately, and soon transitioned to emailing daily about our shared passion.

Over time, Charlie became my go-to person for anything fountain pen related. We would spend hours dissecting nib mechanics, inks, paper textures, and the history of iconic pens like the Montblanc Meisterstück, Parker Duofold, and Waterman 52. I had never met someone as devoted to vintage pens. Our endless analysis of flex nibs and ideal ink flow opened my eyes to details I never noticed before.

But we bonded over more than just pens. Our late night conversations evolved to cover everything from our childhoods, career ups and downs, family dynamics, heartbreaks. I found myself confiding in Charlie about parts of myself I'd never shared with anyone else. Somehow, despite living states away, he had become one of my closest friends.

So when Charlie first suggested meeting up at an upcoming local fountain pen convention only an hour from where he lived, I was simultaneously thrilled and terrified. I had never met an online friend in real life before. What if seeing each other face-to-face ruined the magical dynamic we had? My pessimistic brain ran wild with worst case scenarios. But ultimately, my exhilaration at finally being able to hang out with my online bestie overpowered any hesitations.

As I got out of my car and heard Charlie's familiar voice yell "Over here!", relief washed over me. Any trace of awkwardness dissolved as we exchanged our first hug. Spending the day with Charlie was everything I had hoped for. We spent hours eagerly geeking out together at the convention, showing off our vintage pens and debating our favorites like old friends reunited.

By the day's end, my cheeks were sore from laughing nonstop at Charlie's quirky mannerisms and witty jokes. Our late night talks had not done justice to how effortlessly conversation flowed between us. It was clear our special connection was not limited to words on a screen.

Saying goodbye as we left the convention center parking lot that evening, I felt certain I had made a true lifelong friend in Charlie. The internet brought us together, but meeting in real life had cemented a real bond. As we enthusiastically made plans for our next meetup, I knew that taking the leap from online to offline had been so worth the initial trepidation.

Some people come into your life by chance, even if through unconventional circumstances. Just because a friendship started online didn't make it any less real. The depth of our connection, the understanding, and the joy we found in each other's company couldn't be defined by the medium through which we originally interacted.

Charlie had become an integral part of my life, and I knew without a doubt that our friendship would continue to grow and strengthen for many years to come. This was just the beginning of countless memories we would create, stories we would share, and adventures we would embark on together. I couldn't wait to see where this new chapter of our friendship would lead.

conventions
Like

About the Creator

Joel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.