Geeks logo

Talking With: Hilaria Larriva from Netflix Drama Series ‘MAID’

Interview with actress Hilaria Larriva, who emerges as the supportive friend we all need to lean on sometimes.

By FierceScribePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Actress Hilaria Larriva

This edition of Talking With focuses on actress Hilaria Larriva, currently recurring as Brandi alongside Margaret Qualley in the Netflix limited drama series, Maid, from executive producers John Wells, Margot Robbie and Molly Smith Metzler.

Adapted from Stephanie Land’s New York Times bestseller Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother’s Will to Survive, the story follows a young mother Alex (Qualley), who becomes a housekeeper to make ends meet and create a better life for her daughter. In the process, she must find a way to climb out of homelessness, break loose from an abusive boyfriend and deal with her bipolar mother (played by Qualley's actual mother Andie MacDowell). Alex also discovers an empathetic friend in Brandi (Larriva), as the women grow and gain strength from each other.

Previously, Hilaria surfaced as a rising talent in the feature films Happenstance and Stan the Man, along with a run of notable short, including All for the Card, The Smart Solution and VIP Customer.

As a Mexican-American actress, Hilaria felt connected to this story of hardworking women who give everything they have to make a life for themselves and their family. She hopes anyone who watches Maid connects to the material as much as she did.

To learn more, we are Talking With Hilaria Larriva.

Why did you want to be part of Maid?

HILARIA LARRIVA: When I found out that Maid was based on a true story, I was instantly drawn to the project. I read the script and the connection was so strong for me. I loved that it was a very female-centric show. There are not many projects that come across the table like this one.

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing Brandi to life?

HL: I’m very educated on the topic of domestic violence. I took a lot of time to sit with that energy. Brandi was created out of compassion and strength. I really wanted to honor the many women like Brandi.

Where do you start when preparing for a role? And does that change depending on the genre or other factors?

HL: For me, it’s about going inward during the creation of my characters. I look for my character's wound first. When you find that wound, it offers a lot of information. It’s the imperfections that make a character real. It doesn't matter to me on genre because I’m looking for the truth in my characters.

Had you read Stephanie Land’s original memoir the show was based on?

HL: I hadn’t read the book prior to being brought on board but I read it soon after being cast. Stephanie Land is an extraordinary human being. I was deeply inspired by her book and story. I have a lot of gratitude towards her.

What was your favorite moment from working on the show?

HL: I honestly loved working with the whole cast and crew. There was a beautiful sense of camaraderie on set. Our showrunner Molly Smith Metzler is a warrior that held space for some brilliant work to unfold. I felt like everyone really gave it their all. I think everyone knew it was a special project to be working on.

How was it working with Margaret Qualley?

HL: Margaret was amazing. I was super impressed with her tenacity. She carries this show with a lot of grace.

What inspires you the most creatively?

HL: People inspire me. When we take the time to get to know our neighbors and community that is where I truly learn. Life is full of inspiration; you just have to open your eyes and receive it.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

HL: Even though the show is about one woman’s journey, it’s just a reflection of many women and men's lives throughout the world. I hope that this show can help people feel less alone, bring awareness, and change.

Keep up with HILARIA LARRIVA on Instagram: @feelzbyhillz

interview
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.