Geeks logo

Space Buns: The Erasure of Women's History and BIPOC Culture

What you probably didn't know about the iconic hairstyle.

By Honor HonzialiPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - July 2023
14

“I love when you put space buns in your hair! They are always so cute!”. I heard this quite a bit in high school. When my hair got long enough after shaving it, I sported the space buns look often. Even as I got older, I still put the two buns on the side of my head, even adding strands of hair on the sides to give me a Katara of the Southern Watertribe esque look. The last time I wore these buns was just as recent as a few months ago, and I got the same Space buns compliment from a coworker. But I didn’t know why they were called that, space buns, and I didn’t really care to know.

On a surface level, I knew that it was derived from the fashionable and cooky buns that Princess Leia of the Star Wars franchise would sport. Carrie Fisher’s iconic look was burned into our pop culture, with costumes upon costumes being sported by celebrities, and fans alike for decades. It became so popular that people wear them aside from it being a Star Wars reference, like I do. After all, they look so cool.

I had never gone into the deeper meaning of space buns, because I didn’t think that there was anything to it. I just knew I loved the style, and that it was a “star wars thing”. But it wasn’t until I was doing research for my final design project last semester that I found out where space buns really originated.

I based my Fashion Design project on soldiers and Soledaderas of the Mexican Revolution. “La Fuerza de la Solidaridad” I called my collection, which translates to “The Force of Solidarity”. I went to work researching what the men had worn in combat, and what the women looked like whilst supporting the men in combat. That’s when I found an article, with a black and white picture of a woman standing next to a man wearing an eyepatch, sporting long buns on both sides of her head. Space buns? On a woman from pre Mexican revolutions times?

George Lucas has said in interviews that the pictures such as this had been the inspiration behind the hairstyle we all know today. The picture above is of a woman named Clara de la Rocha, and the man standing next to her is her father, General Herculano de la Rocha. Something I learned back during my research is that not only was this a picture featuring a woman during La Revolucion, but a woman who led battle during La Revolucion. In fact, this woman is said to have crossed an entire river to take out the power of the opposing side, so that the Mexican rebels could spring a sneak attack on the opposition. She was the key to ultimately winning that specific battle.

So how many other women fought in this war? I went to look, and found pictures of various women, in skirts and gun holsters with bullets wrapped around them like necklaces. Women were pivotal to the fight of this war. And yes women were actually fighting battles. Some women were even so important, that they dressed as men and maintained male identities, in order to lead battles, and to be credited for them (Petra/ Pedro Herera, Angela/Angel Himenez, Amelio Robles Avila). I had heard of women led efforts during war, and even women soldiers of African origins, but I had never heard of women actually being equal with respect to battle. It was amazing to read about, but no one really knew this. The day I presented my project, everyone I told was shocked at my finding about Space Buns. And my whole thing is, no one should be shocked.

Our modern culture has a way of taking the influence of ethnic culture, and women’s importance, and doing away with it as if the backbone of our entire culture is not dependent on those things. I remember back when “boxer braids” became “popular” when white women such as Kim Kardashian found out that she could dig her hands even more into black culture, as if she hadn’t colonized it enough. All of a sudden, all over the internet, white girls sported their “boxer braids”, some even going as far as to go get them professionally done (by black women), adding hair, and making their whole hairdo a pink, fleshy, pulling at the scalp, mess. And to add to it, Kim Kardashian, that trifling woman, has gone to events in braids even after getting flamed for appropriating black culture. It wasn’t enough having these girls looking pretty goofy, she had to go and get different styles of braids that didn’t even look cute on her.

Box braids, cornrows, and other styles of braiding carry so much culture, history, and even literal weight. It’s one of the things about our history that even slavery couldn’t do away with. Stories of slaves braiding messages and grains of rice into the hair of their peers to be free, are known by most, even if only faintly. And even before then, braids were used as a way to show high status in many African cultures across the continent.

Black women are in more recent decades finally getting comfortable with rocking their braids in professional places, and in general, because we can finally be proud of them. Society told black women that their hair in any form other than straight was a disgrace; not professional, not pretty, and any other negative straight up lie they could come up with. It is even still legal to discriminate based on hair in a handful of states in this country. That’s not stopping black women, but it’s also not stopping the media.

Media for the last century has not failed to sexualize, and often make fun of parts of ethnic and feminine culture, making it unimportant to the people consuming such content. It has been said that until recently, the reputation of the Soldadera had been reduced to the name of prostitutes in rebel camps during the war. And even in American film depictions, the Female Mexican soldier is depicted as a soldier, but an easy one, or just a flat out prostitute (The Professionals 1966 and Old Gringo 1989).

And as it pertains to black women and their hair, it has been ridiculed, made fun of, and disrespected for decades. It is usually done by black people, mostly black men, to garner laughs or shock from other communities. In the movie Hair Show, actress Keiko Agena sports cornrows in a scene, and gets into a back and forth with another actress Taraji P. Henson about how she wouldn’t wear them if she wasn’t dating a black man.

Now this scene is funny in theory to a black audience, but now watching that scene I can’t help but cringe. It’s decisions like this, putting an Asian woman in braids for laughs, that open the door to taking away the importance of history. I think certain lines shouldn’t be crossed, and once they are, it’s open season for disrespecting black history. And just as Keiko in that film, Miss Kim K dates a few black men, and decided she was going to rename braids that have been around for an amount of years bigger than her net worth before her first divorce.

Going back to Space Buns, people would only know the origin if they are die hard fans going to the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art, or are people into costume design. While it’s fun to be people in these categories, gaining insight to such an iconic look, this information should be something we all know. Society has had such a bad habit of diminishing, or watering down such important history, whether it’s our history, or that of another country and culture. But something so iconic should have an explanation to go right along with it, especially if the credit is due to women of color. Just as we know the origin of certain types of braids, and how it is explicitly part of black culture, we should know of the history and culture of the powerful women who inspired one of the most recognizable hairstyles to date.

pop culture
14

About the Creator

Honor Honziali

I am a New York designer, in Fashion Design school, who has always had a knack for writing. I stopped writing for years, but remembered how much I love it after taking a summer course. Hoping to share creativity and grow as a writer!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydreda day ago

    Hi we are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Atomic Historian3 months ago

    This is an interesting take. I ran into the same research when writing my article. The weird thing is, the guy that wrote the book on the Star Wars costumes says there’s no sketches of Leia’s costume he could find. Anyway, I don’t want to take away from your wonderful article. Obviously seeing someone do research on roughly the same topic made me read your wonderful article. Anyway, I’m linking the one I wrote about Leia’s costume in general below 😊 https://vocal.media/futurism/who-created-princess-leia-s-aesthetic

  • Lu Butcher4 months ago

    Thank you for this, I have been trying to find out for some time the origin of space buns as I like to do my daughters hair that way but was worried about cultural appropriation. I appreciate your insights so much.

  • This was really gripping and interesting…. Like… really. You even had me splutter out my tea at reading “I had never gone into the deeper meaning of space buns, because I didn’t think that there was anything to it”. Lol. Has anyone?! It’s a brilliant article and superbly unique in topic. Until it derailed into an attack on Kim and drawing a racist line in saying what is acceptable for white women (or whatever Kim is, Armenian?) and what is acceptable for black women. Why are we doing this? Shouldn’t we ALL be fighting for every person to be able to dress, style hair and express themselves in any way they like? Aren’t we advocates for freedom??? For everyone? If her hair is offensive, then I stand beside her and say the person who is offended needs a massive hug and to release a lot of grief and anger. Because that kind of reaction is most definitely not about a hairstyle. It’s about something far, far deeper. And those far deeper emotions and reactions are valid and need to be heard. But this surface level hating on Kim (or anyone) is not… With respect 🙏

  • Jordan Sky Daniels9 months ago

    This was such a dope read. I love when my two worlds mix all greek-y sci-fi things and real world knowledge I didn't know

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wow!!! Fantastic information and congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Besides the space buns (as they shall now forever be known), thank you for going into details about braids and culture. This is an interesting and informative piece. I'm glad you came back to writing.

  • Sydney Edward9 months ago

    Are you searching for the Best Bitcoin Recovery Expert To Recover Lost Cryptocurrency on the internet? Search no further (cyber genie (@)cyber services(.)com) got you 100% sorted. Just a few months ago I was wallowing in debts and pains because of a wrong investment idea. It was the lowest moment of my life, I just had to find a way to get back on my feet. I paid a few hackers on the internet to get the job of recovering my lost funds done, my guess is like yours, they failed woefully and took the little I have left also like the crypto investment scammer. I ran into luck finding Cyber Genie Hack Int'l on Yelp Reviews. Honestly, I was really in doubt, you can't blame me. I was really desperate, I had no choice but to give it another try. I was able to recover my money with the help of this amazing Crypto Recovery Hacker guidance. I couldn't believe my lost investment of $ 88,000.00 USD was recovered, at first it was like a dream, but it's all reality. I just have to put this review out here, the world really needs to know about the Super-Hero of a hacker...!!!

  • SC Wells9 months ago

    This was really interesting! I had no idea where Leia’s hairstyle originated and I never how much of a role women played in the Mexican revolution. It makes the hairstyle look that much more awesome knowing this. Thank you for teaching me something new

  • Heather Lunsford9 months ago

    Thank you for making me smarter.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    Knowledge fuels social change. Thank you for taking the time to educate us about the true history of this hairstyle and for your call for greater awareness and respect (and less outright theft) for the wellsprings of popular culture.

  • Rachel Robbins9 months ago

    I had no idea about the origin of Space buns. Thank you for writing this and making all those links, across history and geography.

  • ema9 months ago

    Of course, I had no idea where space buns came from either. I am very impressed with your research. Not everyone knows that the design of clothes and hair doesn't come only from vanity and from putting together four pieces of fabric... The other day I was talking to a friend about a false inclusiveness, which has now become almost hysterical, whereby cultural symbols or facts are appropriated in a superficial way and instead of helping to bring out the story to make it known, everything is ridiculed or made trite. Unfortunately, while some film, music and TV stars are an example and make sure to make their culture known, including history, ethnicity and sexual orientation, many others do nothing but appropriate things that not only do not belong to them but ride the wave of fashions with a disarming superficiality. Now they are black, now they are homosexual, now they are victims of body shaming, now they were bullied as children, now they have Italian/Mexican/Indian great grandfather... Some things may or may not be true, but I can't help but think that they are only looking for free visibility by riding the wave of problems that they really don't have. Thus they take away visibility from others, and appropriate struggles that they do not really have to face.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.