Geeks logo

Snippets of love

Your precious time is the best way to say "you are loved"

By Angel WhelanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
My first freehand appliqué quilt

I had been sewing for a few years when I saw beautiful quilts on display at the local fabric store. I was in awe - how amazing that someone could attach tiny pieces of fabric together and create art from nothing! I decided I needed to make my first quilt.

A rag quilt for a toddler having an operation.

My first quilts were rag quilts. I loved the simplicity of just sewing together rows of squares and then the satisfaction of snipping all the little edges to make it raggedy. I bought a pair of Fiskar's rag quilt snips. They had a spring action that forced the scissors to open automatically. Anyone who has made a rag quilt knows you get blistered hands and painful joints from the repetitive action of all the little cuts. So the snips are an incredibly useful tool to take the pain out of the process.

A simple windmill quilt for a baby shower.

Next I progressed to other basic quilting blocks. Windmills are so simple to make - YouTube tutorials taught me how to make the squares and this quilt only took 6 hours to sew before the quilting stage. It turned out so pretty!

Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey

I made a bunch of fairly easy quilts to give as gifts, enjoying the knowledge that little ones would be wrapped up and cozy in a quilt specially made for them. I made this Doctor Who-themed quilt for a lovely little boy who lived in a hospital while having multiple operations. There is nothing better than putting a smile on someone's face when they are facing difficult times.

Finally, I felt ready to try an art quilt of my own. And I had the perfect reason - my sister was pregnant with my first nephew! She told me she planned a dragon-themed nursery for him. I was so excited to start!

To make the background I stitched different shapes to make fields and hills.

I roughly tacked down the different fabrics to make the background, forming hills and fields to set the scene of my fairytale quilt. The sky went from blue to purple so I could show both daytime and nighttime.

A smiling sun was stitched onto the sky.

I drew the images I wanted onto parchment paper and traced them onto the fabric. I slowly went over all the lines with satin stitches to make them permanent.

The sleepy moon.

Now I was finally ready to add some dragons! I found images on google image search and sketched dragons until I had a few characters I wanted to create. It was so much fun coming up with little details to add.

Two dragons flying in the sky above fluffy clouds.

Outlining the dragons was tricky. I needed incredibly sharp embroidery scissors that could snip very close to the fabric and make the tiny horns and details on the dragons. I recommend Fiskar's Microtip easy action scissors. They have won an award from the Arthritis Foundation for ease of use, and as a rheumatoid arthritis sufferer, they really do make the whole process less painful.

The royal washing line!

It was so much fun adding all the little details, I just made it up as I went along, filling all the areas of the quilt with tiny things for my new nephew to see.

magical toadstools

A mysterious, dark cave

The wizard and Loch Ness monster having a chat

Angry Momma dragon

The tree of wisdom in the mystical forest

This cheery dragon has spotted a treasure chest in the cornfield.

Once all the tiny details were added it was time to add the poem around the sides. I used my embroidery machine for that, with a combination of Celtic and Viking fonts for a storybook feel. It felt like a page from an illustrated children's book.

Finally, the quilt was finished - 2 months of working 12 hours a day!

The finished quilt:-

All my hard work paid off.

After such a big project I was burned out. I took a few months off before starting another quilt. This time I wanted to explore the joys of my new embroidery machine, and I needed a good excuse - an internet friend told me her sister-in-law was pregnant after a loss of her previous baby. I knew I wanted to make a special rainbow baby quilt to honour the memory of her first child and celebrate the new baby.

I chose a theme of balloons and rainbows

I took a large piece of plain blue cotton and went to town adding different balloons and features. Every balloon represented a wish for a healthy baby from the parents.

So many brightly colored balloons!

The rainbows were for a rainbow baby - this is a child born after a loss.

A baby in the sky, to represent their lost baby watching over them

To quilt, I stitched random loops all over in a blue thread

All finished!

It might seem like an awful lot of work to make a quilt like this for somebody I have never met, but for me the true joy of my hobby is creating something to bring joy to a person who needs it. And I was rewarded many times over when I was sent this beautiful photo of the baby girl enjoying her special quilt.

What a happy smile! worth every stitch.

After these two projects I felt ready for something even more complex. My current quilt is a Harry Potter-themed one - here are sneak peeks of some of the different scenes I have created for it. It's a work in progress, so who knows when it will be done :)

Hogwarts Express

Chocolate frog

Bertie Bott's every flavour beans

Gringott's bank vault

Professor Snape shopping for potions in Diagon Alley

Aragog and friends in the Forbidden Forest

Ron Weasley crashing the car into the Whomping Willow

The Howler letter Ron receives from his mother.

The whole letter pulls out of the envelope.

So that's where I am in my quilting journey. I don't know who will receive this quilt when it is completed, but I know whoever gets it will know it was made with love, because that is the real gift I give - my time, my creativity, every stitch I sew is a declaration of how much the recipient is worth to me And the reward is priceless.

art
4

About the Creator

Angel Whelan

Angel Whelan writes the kind of stories that once had her checking her closet each night, afraid to switch off the light.

Finalist in the Vocal Plus and Return of The Night Owl challenges.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.