Geeks logo

Sinner Book Review

Written by Sierra Simone

By Devon ReneePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Rate; 4.5/5

Sinner is the second book in the Priest series, and follows Sean Bell on his journey to find himself and God, but more importantly… love.

My favorite character is Carolyn Bell, who is Sean’s mother. Her wisdom and the ability to forgive God is what makes me like her character so much. She also has a good sense of humor, even though she's going through cancer.

The character with the best arc is definitely Zenny. She is determined to prove something to the people around her, but she wants to make sure the choice she's making is the one she truly wants. By the end of the book she has figured out what she wants from life, with the help of Sean. I also find her character admiring for standing up for what she believes in.

Sean's character also goes through a major change, with the help of Zenny. I find his character to be very lovable, especially with the way he talks to and his actions with Zenny. He not only shows her what she's been missing in life, but he shows how much he cares about her. By the end of the book, there is no doubt that Sean feels deeply for Zenny.

My least favorite character is definitely Valdman, who is Sean's boss. All he cares about is money, and makes that known when Sean calls out of the office because his mom’s health is declining. Instead of being understanding, Valdman forces him to worry more about his job than his mother.

A scene that was true, but still made me a uncomfortable, was one that involved Sean's "friends" during an event for Sean's work. Blatant racism was involved and it made me angry while reading it, but also showcased another qualify I really loved about Zenny.

Something that a feel was missing is more of Elijah, since he is Zenny’s older brother and Sean's best friend. Throughout the book he's mentioned between Zenny and Sean enough times that I feel Sierra should've added more of him. Same with the age difference (fourteen years), it was mentioned multiple times but Sean was the only one to ever voice anything about it. That age gap is something that should've been slightly concerning to someone.

The last thing I would change is the feud between the Bell and Iverson family. At first I was intrigued to know what happened, but then I found out closer to the end, and I felt like it was ridiculous to hold a grudge as long as they did. Especially when it was something that could've been resolved by simple communication, being that the people who are angry at each other are adults.

I might seem like a lot but, compared to the rest of the book, these issues are very minor to me. With that being said, I recommend this book to mature audiences preferably over eighteen. This book had more God talk in it than the first one did, so if you aren't into that I'd stay away. Although this book involves many topics of faith and God, the spicy content is insane and amazing, which I believe overpowers the religious aspects of the book. If you are a reader who enjoys a lot of spice, I definitely suggest reading this and I will include one quote that hints at the level of spice.

Quote is something Sean says to Zenny.

If you are unsure about the series as a whole, I recommend reading my review on the first book in the series. My link for that review is right here and I hope they help you decide to read them or not: https://vocal.media/geeks/priest-book-review.

Please don't hesitate to leave a comment giving me your own book recommendations, I'm open to anything that isn't fantasy.Thank you for checking my content out, and feel free to look at my other stories while you wait for new ones!

review
1

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hassan2 years ago

    Excellent review. I will check out the review for the first book as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.