Geeks logo

Shang-Chi and the Best Marvel Origin Story

(Spoiler-free)

By Justin WoltersPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Shang-Chi and his father

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, directed by Destin Daniel Cretton, caught my attention when the trailer first popped up in a YouTube ad. I may have scared my dog when I squealed in my seat as I realized it was a Marvel movie. I was hooked. So, like any normal person, I bought opening week tickets with my college friend group.

And let me say for a quick moment here...

Wow.

It was not what I was expecting. But, to be fair, most Marvel origin stories have interesting reputations in my mind, so I didn't have high expectations going into it.

But why my prejudice? Iron Man led to the creation of an empire, and The Incredible Hulk led to...

Marvel has definitely had their moments to shine, and they apparently have many more coming. Still, origin stories are a hit-and-miss when introducing a new hero. So what makes a great origin, and what breaks an origin? Let's get right to it...

Bad origin stories:

The Incredible Hulk (2008)

This movie isn't memorable to me. It just isn't. Edward Norton makes a compelling Hulk; Tim Roth was more of a compelling villain than others. That's about all I can say about it because it's not a movie I would really go back and enjoy. It has little to no meaning to the MCU, and most people skip it when watching the films.

Kinda bad origin stories:

Thor (2011)

I actually really like Thor, but it's understandable why not as many people like it. Thor was an unlikeable character; the Shakespearean writing style didn't fit well with the other movies; the jokes felt forced when they did happen, and they were few. But the reason it's only kinda-bad is that it led to a fan-favorite character and led to exciting sequels. (no, Dark World, we're not talking to you).

Captain Marvel (2019)

I might get hate for this, but Captain Marvel is a movie I only have seen, maybe, three times. It's an okay movie, but I would have loved it so much more if she had higher stakes in the MCU. Her Avengers: Endgame appearance mainly was a Deus ex Machina (when an unsolvable problem is solved suddenly in an improbable way). She just seems like one of those characters that can't be beaten, and her story seems too similar to The First Avenger for me not to think of the more interesting Captain.

Okay origin stories:

Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange might be my favorite character in the MCU. His fight with Thanos absolutely blew my mind, and Wong is just one of the best side characters in any movie. In addition, the movie had great CGI, and I loved the film's design in its entirety. So many of the characters are exciting, and I love Tilda Swinton as the Ancient One. These are all great, but it just took way too long for the movie to become thrilling; the main villain said, "okay, you win;" and I don't even remember the bad human's name (probably because he isn't exciting or scary in any way). It still remains to be a movie I go back and watch maybe every two years or so.

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

I love Captain America, and the sequels are by far my favorite movies in existence. But the First Avenger is kinda just there. The plot is okay with the World War Two action, the build-up is alright, and it led to some fantastic characters. However, Red Skull doesn't have much stake in the MCU. It kinda is just an okay movie: no major complaints but no significant compliments.

Good origin stories

Iron Man (2008)

I really really wanted to put this movie at the top of the list. The best origin story in the MCU!... except it has its issues. Obadiah isn't memorable, the pacing can be slow at times, and the Avengers are better at being Iron Man movies than the actual Iron Man movies. But there is so much I love about this movie. It created my favorite Marvel character, built an empire that was Marvel, and is one of my most-watched films on Disney+. I really wish I could place this movie higher.

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

I love Tom Holland's take on Spider-Man, even though I know that fans of the classics are not as much, but I think he does a great job. The Vulture is a terrifying villain and maybe on par with the Raimi Spider-Man villains. Still, he has a minimal stake in the MCU (perhaps that will change in No Way Home wink wink).

Ant-Man (2015)

One of the few movies that made me laugh out loud (other than the next on the list). The plot is super straightforward and has its unique moments, the humor never gets old, and it's just a fun, all-around movie. No major complaints, except the villain isn't all that great.

Great origin stories

Guardian's of the Galaxy (2014)

This is the other movie that made me laugh out loud throughout the movie, and it also is one of the few that made me cry. It's full of light-hearted moments as well as super emotional moments, all with a fantastic story and incredible sound and visual design. I watch this movie a ton, and it has one of the best sequels in the MCU. I just wish Ronin was a little more than a joke to me lol.

Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther is a really great movie, and most people suggest that it is the best MCU movie to date. It does a fantastic job at exploring the idea of culture, the villain is one of the best stand-alone villains yet, and the cast is a powerhouse of a team. Very few complaints, except I do not quite think it's the best yet.

And here it is:

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)

I haven't had the pleasure of watching this film more than once, and I hope my opinion doesn't change, but I believe that this may be the best origin story of the MCU to date. The plot had me at the edge of my seat throughout its entirety, the visual and sound design gave me shivers, and the villain, although not significant to the future of the MCU, was insanely compelling and had much so much impact on the past of the MCU. In addition, the cameos with Wong and Abomination were hilarious and world-building simultaneously, and the Mandarin's appearance was well earned and makes Iron Man 3 an infinitely more appealing movie. Just a solid, fantastic, and re-watchable all-around film.

So what makes or breaks an origin story?

A good origin needs specific ingredients. First of all, it needs a compelling hero. One who isn't all-powerful right from the beginning (screw you, Star Wars sequels) and just well-rounded and likable. It also can't be full of plot-building expositions, which origin stories need to explain their character. It's hard to balance, but a good rule of thumb is to show, not tell. It also, and this is the most important part, needs a good villain. Unfortunately, most (emphasis on most) of the villains of the stories on the bottom of the list have villains with no stake in the universe, aren't really all that scary, and aren't relatable. A good villain needs all three to really be good, which Shang-Chi does so well.

So there you have it! I'm excited to see this film more once it comes out on Disney+, but I hope my opinion never changes. I'm excited to see the future for Shang-Chi because it was set up masterfully.

superheroes

About the Creator

Justin Wolters

Hello! I am a college student majoring in elementary education and minoring in theology! I love to read and write, and I spend much of my time outdoors. God bless!

Instagram: wolters.justin

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Justin WoltersWritten by Justin Wolters

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.