Geeks logo

Scoob!

My review

By Lisa LuehrsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Ok, I need to begin by making you all aware that I am a huge Scooby-Doo fan; always have been! I even have a Scooby-Doo tattoo, yep, right there on my back. If that doesn't convince you, let me tell you a story; when I was nineteen years old, I was dating this guy. We had a fight one night and he showed up on my doorstep with flowers and a Blockbuster copy of the 2009 movie 'Scooby-Doo the mystery begins'. I kept the flowers (because, well they were pretty), I took that movie and chucked it as hard as I could into the parking lot, shut the door and never spoke to him again; completely ghosted him. In my mind, my sometimes irrational mind, any person who truly loved me would understand that that particular movie is a disgrace and disrespect to Scooby-Doo and the gang. Yep......

Let me explain the acceptable Scooby-Doo movies and series to you all; just about any animated movie released between 1979 and 2005 is prime Scooby. After 2005, nope. The acceptable live-action movie list is extremely short. Ready? First, the 2002 film titled Scooby-Doo. Easy to remember. Second, the 2004 follow up film titled Scooby-Doo 2 Monsters Unleashed. Yep, that's it! And finally, acceptable television series are as follows, anything released in 1988 or earlier; with the one exception of the 2002 series What's New Scooby-Doo which is also acceptable. Now that we've done that, let's get to it; my review of the 2020 film Scoob!

If you didn't notice a pattern in my previous paragraph, the acceptable Scooby-Doo movies and shows are scarce, and outdated. Although iconic, people stop watching shows and movies that are 'too old'; as new celebrities rise in the world of Hollywood, the 'need' to be up-to-date and part of the 'cool kids' far surpasses the desire to watch 'old and outdated' movies. That being said, it was obvious that, if Scoob! was going to be successful, they needed the best of the best to voice the best.

Que the following (outstanding!) voices you will here in the 2020 family movie: Frank Welker, the one and only! You have probably heard his voice somewhere whether it was from Futurama, the original Aladdin or past Scooby-Doos, you've heard him! Zac Efron; High School Musical, The Greatest Showman, Bay Watch, 17 again, etc,etc,etc! We also have Will Forte, whom you may know from MacGruber, The Last Man on Earth or Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. Amanda Seyfried whom you know from the also iconic Mean Girls; "If you're from Africa, why are you white?" Gina Rodriguez from Jane the Virgin. Mark Whalberg from, well everywhere. Tracy Morgan, Jason Isaacs, Ken Jeong, Kiersey Clemons, and more!

Basically what I am saying is, I am not even going to try to keep my cool on this one; this movie is spectacular! The best thing to come out of the year 2020; Scoob! features an all-star cast and countless (hilarious!) references throughout. I am talking references ranging from Kelly Clarkson to Ikea! This is a film that kids will love watching and parents will love listening to. I can not forget the best part; the theme song! Featuring words and photo flashbacks from the 1969 original 'Scooby-Doo Where Are You' television series, Director Tony Cervone and Producers Pam Coats and Allison Abbate made sure to pay tribute to the origin of these iconic characters. All those who helped create this movie did this 'hard core' fan proud!

movie
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Luehrs

Hello all, thank you for visiting my profile! If you haven't noticed, you will soon come to realize that I have many passions; and I can't wait to share them all with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.