Geeks logo

The Greatest Showman

My Review

By Lisa LuehrsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ms. Lettie (my personal favorite character)

This is my review on the 2017 musical/drama The Greatest Showman starring Hugh Jackman, Zendaya, Keala Settle, Zac Efron and Michelle Williams. This movie, set in the 1800's, portrays the life of P.T Barnum and his family.

Personally, I do not judge a movie by it's trailer; before I even watch the trailer, I need to know who is in it. Hugh, Zac, Zendaya.....I was sold! After purchasing the DVD, I went home and put it in my player. Any of you who have watched the DVD or Blu-Ray probably noticed that there are no previews! In our home, we have a 'tried and proven' theory about previews; if a movie has none, it is either because the movie is so amazing that they want to get right to it, or it is because it is so horrible that no body wanted their movie to be showcased with it. So, here we go!

Immediately, I mean immediately, as soon as I heard that first line; "Ladies and Gents, this is the moment you've waited for", I made up my mind. This movie became my new favorite just like that! This review could very easily turn into a fan girl love letter, so I will do my best to keep it professional.

The movie starts off with young P.T. and Charity, portrayed by the incredible Ellis Rubin and Skylar Dunn. We get to watch their friendship and lives change through a beautiful montage showcasing the song you have probably heard on the radio; A Million Dreams. Following that, we see the struggles of a young family making ends meet. Tired of not providing the life he promised her, P.T. searches for a way to make a life for his family; and boy does he find it!

Que Sam Humphrey, aka Tom Thumb. We are introduced to Tom in the bank when he blurts out a new staple in our home; flopdoodle. Let me repeat that, Flopdoodle! In his sentence, he looks at P.T. and says, "what are you looking at, flopdoodle?" and there we have it, Tom Thumb.

Next, we meet Lettie, aka The Bearded Lady, portrayed by Keala Settle. If you weren't qued in by the photo I posted with my review, Lettie is my personal favorite character. She is broken and bruised and she brings us the powerful and beautiful song, This is Me; an empowering and uplifting song promoting love and confidence in yourself. Following Tom and Lettie, we bring in W.D. and Anne (Zendaya!) Wheeler, Tattoo Man, The Irish Giant, The Worlds Heaviest Man and Phillip Carlyle.

Phillip Carlyle is played by none other than Zac Efron; the scandalous social lite who finds himself at a bar with Mr. Barnum himself. After an amazing musical duo between Hugh and Zac (Troy Bolton fans, this is what you have been waiting for!) Phillip finds himself the new partner (or, in the words of Mr. Barnum, an "overcompensated apprentice") to P.T. Barnum.

Finally, I need to mention Ms. Jenny Lind, portrayed by Rebecca Ferguson; a very important role in the film. To some, she can be seen as the "villain". Her partnership with P.T. brought on a lot of emotion between the two and her glamorous lifestyle kept Barnum chasing the cheers, the applause, and the money causing him to lose sight of what is truly important; his family.

So, I want to bring this to a close; after I mention the most important part (in my opinion) of the movie. It is not the love stories, not the incredible musical numbers, not even the lesson about what truly matters in this life (close second though); no, the most important part is the films undeniable celebration of humanity. Yes, the films cast bring together a wide range of diverse individuals and present them as equals; as Mr. Bennett (the reporter from The Harold) stated, a pure "celebration of humanity."

review
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Luehrs

Hello all, thank you for visiting my profile! If you haven't noticed, you will soon come to realize that I have many passions; and I can't wait to share them all with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.