Geeks logo

Review of Netflix Series: iZombie

Quirky modern spin on the Zombie genre

By Pam ReederPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
from IMDB.com (https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3501584/)

I've not always been a fan of horror. Too much of it centers around gore and spraying blood and splattering brains. Or, it is too realistic. I really don't need my sleep or sanity disturbed by terrors of horrific individuals that get their kicks in mutilation and murder. It just isn't my thing. But now and again, something pops up in the horror genre than intrigues me. Such was the case with iZombie.

As an aside, my town actually has a 5K Zombie Run at our local Ren Faire Castle. I've not done it. I had considered it seriously this year. But, alas, they canceled it due to Covid. Ugh. Covid ruins everything.

I never expected such a quirky spin this series took. I loved the idea that it was an ordinary girl that had something monumental occur as a fluke that forever changed her life. And though she became a Zombie (I won't spoil with how this came to be), it was more like an illness that she had to deal with. Not that it was an "illness" - she was in fact a Zombie, but how she dealt with it.

She learned to compensate for her issues. And she was brilliant at how she learned to spin the negative into a positive. It caught my attention. It kept my attention. I was propelled from one episode to another. I actually made it all the way to the end of the series - which was 5 seasons totaling 71 episodes. I invested a lot of life in this one. The series originally ran from 2015 to 2019. I came into it after the entire series banked on Netflix. It was binge time!

(Photo source: iZombie Fandom Wiki)

Liv was a rosy-cheeked, disciplined, over-achieving medical resident who had her life path completely mapped out, until the night she attended a party that unexpectedly turned into a zombie feeding frenzy. Afterward, she became part zombie. She works at a coroner's office to give her access to the brains she must eat to survive... (read more at iZombie Fandom Wiki

Now the series could not have made it without her side kick in the morgue, Ravi Chakrabarti. He makes a hilarious cohort and accomplice.

And of course another stellar player in the whole saga is Blaine Debeers. He is a character that keeps you guessing.

And of course, there is always a police man poking into things. And iZombie brings us Clive Babineaux.

(Photo source: iZombie Fandom Wiki)

*********************

All in all, if you're looking for something that's a quirky spin on the Zombie genre, iZombie fills the bills.

This series was so wildly popular it has it's own Fandom wiki.

There are also Comics on iZombie. It's a bit of a chicken or the egg as to which came first. But this medium exists and wanted to share it for those who fancy comics

******************************

Me with sunglases over my regular glasses - that's why they are large. LOL

If you're wondering just who exactly wrote this piece, you can find more about me here. If you're intrigued to see what else I've written, more stories by me can be found here.

On the off chance you appreciated this piece, a heart would be appreciated. It is inspiration to keep moving forward on this writing journey. There is also a tipping option for those who may want to part ways with their hard earned money and for some odd reason impart it to me.

By Kiley Lawson on Unsplash

Other stories by me:

review
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.