Geeks logo

Raura

Background of the Character

By Brittany SeeboPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Here you shall read, the background of the main character of my book. This shows you the main character's story up to the point where the book actually begins. Raura, the main character, born of a royalty among the Shamial species but taken as a slave after her home was raided. Read how her story starts, which will continue through the book itself.

"Raura the Slave "

The beginning of my story kind of sucks. I was only three years old when humans raided our homes. By brother had left on a mission. Perfect timing for him. But for the rest of us, none of the adults survived. My parents didn't survive. They managed to hide me and I was able to stay hidden long after the raid had passed. Remember, I was only three years old. The scent and sight of the dead was frightening. What was worse, all of the children were gone as well. I was the only one left and I had no clue when my brother would come for me, of if he ever would.

For days I stayed at the ruined village we had made for ourselves. I scavenged what I could from the homes for as long as I could. But one day, the humans came back and I was too slow to hide from them.

I wouldn't go without a fight, which I ultimately lost. They took me to some man who reeked and was in desperate need of a bath. The humans handed me over to him without much thought, telling him to make the perfect slave out of me. He didn't hesitate to agree. Apparently, this was the guy that took most of the children from the raids and converted them into slaves. He told us that it was necessary and the adults could not be trained as easily as children to do tasks correctly. I was not easy for him to train though. I proved how wrong he was about the ability to train a child as a slave. I kicked and fought every step. I was starved for defying him, even whipped. Eventually I learned that the only way out was compliance.

When it was decided that I was trained enough to be someone's slave, I was sent out for auction in the square of the city.

"Come one and all. The auction is about to begin. Make sure you have registered and gotten your auction tag. Remember to raise it if you wish to place a bid." The auctioneer sounded so excited to be hosting another auction. Unfortunately, this was not an auction for items. Rather it was an auction for slaves. I had heard stories from other slave girls that were returned for disobeying their masters. Some slave owners can be vicious creatures. Some slaves were used as sex slaves. Some as housekeepers, if they were lucky. Some became the laborers of their masters, pulling carts, hauling supplies, and so forth. None were ever treated very nicely though. At least none that I have met.

During the auction, child after child was auctioned out to a master. Then it was my turn. I was afraid because my features were not as normal as anyone else. My silver and blue hair stuck out and my body type caught the attention of many men. Even the slave trainer. By this time I was seven years old and understood enough.

Auction tags went flying. Over and over again and the cost set by the auctioneer continued to rise. I closed my eyes and begged to ancestors to have a nice person buy me and treat me nicely. But all my preying failed me.

A tall lengthy man came to collect me. The overgrown scruff on his face was dirty and the top metal claws around his fingers, tapping on his cane, scared me so much. But what could I do. Maybe I could be as bad as possible and he'll sell me or return me to the slave trainer. He slipped a rope collar around my neck and pulled until I followed behind him. My wolf ears twitched and flicked around to listen to anything they could. Conversations, whispers, people shuffling out of the way, and so on. No one wanted to do anything to help me, but more than that they seemed more scared of this new master of mine.

My new home was among other slaves in a barn. We were to clean the horses and the barn every day. We were given very little to eat. Just barely enough to sustain us. I was there for two years before the master decided I wasn't worth keeping. He must have already had a buyer since he did not send me to the auction yard.

This man seemed nicer, but looked rugged and old. When I was handed to him by the same rope collar that my master bought me home in, the old man took it but as soon as my now previous master was gone, he took the rope off from my neck and held out his hand to me.

"I will not harm you. You are safe with me." He said, waiting for me to take his hand.

Reluctantly, I accepted the old man's hand and followed him to his home. It was much more extravagant than the last place. The old man, whose name I came to find out was Mr. Minzol. He was nice. He gave me my own room, clean sets of clothing, dresses, pants, working clothes, and more. He also gave me as close to a family as I could get. Mr. Minzol treated me like a daughter rather then a slave. But he did ask for me to do some light cleaning and to cook his meals. He said he has a son, but he was always away at a fancy school that he begged to go to for his education which his father provided to him. He does come around during breaks and holidays but otherwise he won't officially be home until he graduates at the age of eighteen.

I spent the rest of my time with Mr. Minzol and eventually with his son Alric. But Alric was different after he came home from school. Different from the times we would see him over his breaks. Back then, he was gentle and kind and also wanted me to play some game with him, like cops and robbers or the floor is lava. But after he graduated, he had become almost cruel. He would hit me for not doing what he asks even though he wasn't my master. His father would lecture him every time he yelled at me or hit me. Told him it wasn't allowed, that I was part of the family.

By the time I turned twenty-five, Mr. Minzol was dying. He had developed cancer and the treatments for it were hard to get. The advances of medical technology and treatments had become harder to get since there was a massive war among the humans and the rest of the creatures of the world. It decreased the human population and almost wiped out a majority of the shamial race. Other supernaturals became extinct without anyone realizing they were supernatural until they had to protect themselves.

So yes, Mr. Minzol is dying and his son just can't wait until he becomes my legal master. Basically, he gets to inherit me.

I often hide away from Alric with Mr. Minzol in his room. I would make sure he gets his meals and takes the medications that he was told to take to help slow the spread of the cancer. It gave me enough of an excuse to keep my distance from Alric.

Mr. Minzol promised me that he has a friend that is trying to void the slave contract in order to set me free. The issue would be if it processes in time, before Mr. Minzol passes.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Seebo

Hey Hey

I'm a writer, or I try to be. I have a larger passion for music and so I became an Audio Engineer. I look forward to sharing knowledge, information, projects, recordings, etc. Maybe share stories for others with Cystic Fibrosis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.