Geeks logo

Pride and Prejudice: 1995 vs 2005

Comparing Apples to Oranges

By Natasja RosePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
3
Pride and Prejudice: 1995 vs 2005
Photo by Elaine Howlin on Unsplash

If there's a hot-button topic among Austen Fans, it's usually over Adaptations of the author's timeless works, and nowhere is that more obvious than the fierce debate over which is the superior adaptation: the 1995 BBC Miniseries starring Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, or the 2005 movie starring Matthew MacFayden and Kiera Knightley.

Honestly, the whole argument debate never made sense to me, because it really is like comparing apples and oranges.

The two adaptations were designed for different audiences, have vastly different formats and running times, and presume different levels of familiarity with Austen's works. There is no comparison, because other than the characters and the story they're adapting, the two versions don't have a lot in common to compare equally..

Let's start with the 1995 Mini-Series.

Like most BBC Mini-Series, Pride and Prejudice presumed a certain level of familiarity with the source material. Consisting of six episodes running nearly five and a half hours, it had plenty of time to focus on fan favourite moments and additional scenes to flesh out the book's limited viewpoint.

The costumes are excellent, and a lot of research went into making them as accurate as possible. As a history nerd, I approve. However, there is very little individuality in the costumes, which I consider something of a necessity in any visual media.

It is also a very British show, with everyone speaking largely in an upperclass monotone, occasionally punctuated by microexpressions and longing stares in lieu of visible emotion. I have no doubt that this appeals to the local audience, but for non-UK viewers, it's more than a little jarring, and makes it harder to get invested when the actors don't seem invested. The only way I could get all the way through an episode in one sitting was to watch it on my treadmill, or have it play while I was working on a craft project.

By contrast, it over-compensated in characterisation, turning several of the supporting cast almost into caricatures of their book counterparts. I blame the '95 version entirely for the overwhelming perception of Mrs Bennet as a screeching harpy who has the brain of a jellyfish and doesn't care about her children, only their rich future husbands, and the perception of Mr Collins as an odious creep, rather than just a ridiculous brown-noser.

If I had one major complaint, it would be that there is too much time given over to exposition, often un-necessarily. The audience doesn't need their hand held through every tiny detail, and explaining everything as the story goes ruins more than one emotional payoff for those who were new to Austen or hadn't read it in a while.

Jennifer and Colin are both incredible actors, but the dynamics between them didn't draw me in the way other adaptations have. Ironically, I love Colin Firth as a main character in other movies, but I've never managed to get invested in him when he plays a love interest.

The 2005 Movie is a very different kettle of fish.

I often refer to it as a movie designed to be "Baby's First Introduction to Austen", and as a hook to get people watching other adaptations, as well as buying and reading the original books, it really works.

With a run-time of roughly 2.5 hours, it had less than half the time to tell a story that the Mini-Series did. As such, it made use of every second.

At some point, I really do need to sit down and write an article on the use of staging, body language and costuming as storytelling mediums in their own independent right, using Pride and Prejudice 2005 as Exhibit A.

The Cinematography and music were breathtaking, and you'd be hard-pressed to find even the most abject '95 fans who have much bad to say on those aspects.

Rather than cling to accuracy, Pride and Prejudice, 2005 is more like an Impressionist painting, capturing the broad strokes and general feel, and allowing the viewer to fill in the finer details with their own imagination.

My biggest complaint with this version is the inaccurate detail, but I can't complain as much as I normally would, because most of those inaccuracies are deliberate and used to highlight character traits or details that would otherwise be easily overlooked.

There are a lot of things that are inaccurate to both book and history, but they are deliberate inaccuracies to convey the underlying messages better than having to waste screen time explaining the fine details. Kiera Knightly perfectly captured Elizabeth's barbed wit, and her ability to convey entire volumes with a single facial expressions is incredible. Mathew MacFayden is much the same; even when he didn't say a word, I could feel everything he wasn't saying though his body language.

By Ann Fossa on Unsplash

When I have time, I'll probably sit down and review both versions independent of each other, as I've been doing with other Austen Adaptations.

No promises on when, though.

If you want to read more of my opinions on Jane Austen, or read any of my Jane Austen Variations, you can visit my profile or buy them at the link above.

If you disagree with my opinions enough to sign up and comment to say so, you can join at the link below.

movietvfact or fictionentertainment
3

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Firstly I defer to your deeper knowledge of the subject, but I love Pride and Prejudice, both versions and probably for different reasons. My daughters were studying P and P at school and someone gave us a set of the BBC series. 10 years on, we still watch it together at least once a year. It may be a little starchy compared to the movie, but it is our thing. The movie is great, Kiera Knightly is so good as Elisabeth but I think Matthew MacFayden is as stiff as Colin Firth, and that is fine with me. After reading the book, I understand your comment about misrepresented characters, especially Mrs Bennett, her main job was to find suitable matches for her girls. The next best adaptation for me is Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    I haven't read any of Austen's writing. Unfortunately it just isn't a genre I have much interest in. However, having read your reference to the '05 version as being 'Baby's first introduction', I might have to watch the movie. And I quite like Knightly as an actress. I'm interested to see her play the part!

  • Liz Sinclair11 months ago

    I so agree with your view on the two P&Ps. I like Colin Firth, but never really saw him as Mr Darcy and I've never liked him as a love interest either. He's best (IMHO) in roles like the Kings Speech. When I first saw the newer P&P, I loved all the smoldering unspoken tensions between the characters. That's exactly what it must have really been like in Austen's day. Imagine being in love with someone and not being able to say a word about it or to feel they view you harshly, or that the feelings aren't appropriate given your class, etc. The unspoken was so much more powerful in the second P&P. I have watched it about 20 times (seriously) and I always see a new tension or a new angle I missed before. Like Charlotte's desperation about marrying anyone, as long as he had a pulse and was reasonably suitable. And I love the sparring between Elizabeth and Charles sister. It was only on later viewings that I really saw how barbed it was. "Thank you, this visit has been most instructive." Meow!!! It must have been so frustrating to put up with insults from your "Betters" and have to swallow them. I recently had to channel my inner Jane Austen when I found out a guy I really liked (I mean really liked) had met and fallen in love with someone else. I had to keep my composure in a small group when he made his announcement, when what I really wanted to do was burst into tears and run out of the restaurant. Who says literature can't help you in real life? LOL

  • Admittedly, I love both adaptations. The monotone of the British version is part of its charm & I never get tired of Colin Firth. The biggest difference for me is in the pacing. The BBC miniseries is an investment. The 2005 is cinematic & an evening's repast. Excellent review.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.