Geeks logo

On Comedy

You Need Skill And Intelligence To Be A Comedian

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Chauhan Moniz on Unsplash

Introduction

I can’t write comedy. My friend Bill O’Neill is starting a Comedy Section in the Vocal Social Society but I probably won’t be able to contribute any fiction for two reasons. I find fiction difficult to write and if I do write comedy people will not laugh because it may be too convoluted.

I had to include the song "Comedy" by Liverpool band Shack just because it is such a beautiful song.

A Joke

I have heard some great jokes, and that must be a problem for some comedians, especially stand-up, in this digital age as once a joke has been told that’s it, the cat is out of the bag.

The real talent are the ones who can keep your attention without the punchline, Billy Connoly is an absolute master of this. He will wander off the core subject and return forty five minutes later having thoroughly engaged his audience with his digressions.

My Facebook Friend Dan Freeman has a play called “A Joke” which he did with Sylvester McCoy (second choice for Bilbo in Peter Jackson’s “Lord of The Rings”, “Radagast” in “The Hobbit” and ex Doctor Who) which you can read about here.

He is a very clever and funny guy, when I first saw him in “Mundo Jazz” and they did a take on Lionel Richie’s “Hello” as Halal and that is just one instance. Dan is the one on bongos in the video.

To Be Funny

I do think that comedy is generally the result of intelligent thought. Sometimes accidental occurrences are funny but can they be classed as comedy? When you see something filmed or live you know it has been planned.

Even improvisational comedy needs an intelligent mind; if this is done in a live environment, the comedian must prepare beforehand.

I remember seeing Ross Noble at a pre-tour gig at The Stand in Newcastle and he was on for a couple of hours and I feel that most of it was improvised. But again that is a sign of intelligence and ability but when your audience has never heard of Isembard Kingdom Brunel you have a hill to climb.

A Short Joke

I loved Stephen Wright’s “Voodoo Acupuncture” and Bill Hicks's punchline about Weapons of Mass Destruction. “How Do You Know They Have Them?” *We Got The Receipts”.

This is the thing I can repeat and share others' jokes but I can’t write one myself.

I have written about some friends who do stand up here and they come up with some amazingly funny scenarios, in particular, Gavin Webster’s “Pandas” but I love all of them, you can read about them here and hopeful watch the videos to see how funny these lasses and lads are.

Comedy Music

Of course, we had music hall full of double entendre but there is a lot of modern music that shows genuine comic genius, obviously thinking Dan Freeman and Half Man Half Biscuit with the darkly comic pen of Nigel Blackwell. I mean lines like:

“Help Me Mrs Medlicott

What Am I To Do?

I Only Have Three Bullets

And There’s Four In Motley Crue”

Here are some comic songs with some Dan Freeman and Half Man Half Biscuit in there.

A Comic Conclusion

I do not think I will ever be able to write comedy unless some real-life event presents itself to me on a plate. As I am writing this I am listening to “McIntyre, Treadmore and Davitt” by Half Man Half Biscuit and almost every line makes me at least smile.

I once wrote some funny incidents from my teens for a Vocal "Inside Joke" Challenge but that’s as close as I have come.

comedy
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    Thanks for the shout-out, my friend!

  • I beg to differ. Comedy doesn't result from an intelligent thought or mind. Comedy just needs sense of humour. Everyone has a different sense of humour. I love dark twisted comedy. So I don't think I'd find yours too consulated. Just like how certain writers niche is either writing horror or romance or fantasy, they're all still stories. Someone who enjoys horror may not enjoy fantasy. Same goes for comedy. Same may like our comedy and some won't. Doesn't mean it's not a joke or comedy. Remember in your cat piece that I read earlier, you said you didn't ask the spellings for Checkers, that was super funny for me. So yea, my point is, everyone has different taste in comedy so don't you ever think you're not good enough for that 💖

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Comedy stem from finding happiness, in little things. I like your style of writing. Writing non fiction is scary for me cause it’s real and I but my own twist on it and how I see it . You always have great knowledgeable content in what ever story you write. You are very informative.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.