Geeks logo

News Flash: I Relate To Tankmen

How I see myself in Steve and Skittles

By Samantha Rhyalynn HendrixPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Private Skittles (Tankmen .5)

Spoiler Alert: This contains spoilers for Tankmen 0.5, 1, 1.5, and 2.

This title isn't clickbait, but before I start on the main topic, I might have to explain where this is coming from. So a few days ago, I watched the web series Tankmen on Youtube. I had been wanting to watch it for a little bit as it had come across my Pinterest feed in the form of Friday Night Funkin' week 7, and I can't express this enough: It has exceeded my expectations. Without revealing my age, I will say that I was not around when Newgrounds was founded, nor was I even into it until a few weeks ago. So, honestly, I was not ready for what I was going to see, especially because I wasn't watching it alone (and you know how things can get when you aren't watching something alone.)

So, with this in mind, I watched the video (which played them in chronological order) and came across the character of Private Skittles right away. I could tell right away that he would become a favorite of mine, between his dialogue in the beginning and his interactions with the Henchmen. I mean, come on: "My mom told me not to talk to a**holes." Right off the bat, Skittles was there telling people how it is. His joining the Henchmen made it so that we couldn't see much of him (as the Tankmen were the major focus of the series.) But seriously, I relate quite heavily to him.

Even with his appearances in Tankmen 1.5 and Tankmen 2, he was being a relatable character. One of my all-time favorite moments of his was when he was just trying to do his job, and his father decided that then, when he was in the middle of a war, would be the perfect time to give him the puberty talk. He just wanted to do his job, and I wouldn't blame him for being short-tempered or not listening, because honestly I would be too.

Of course, in Tankmen 2, we see Skittles in a place we've all been in. The state of inferiority. As Steve and Captain were escaping the Thugmen, we catch a glimpse of Skittles, who was muttering about how he was confined to the watchtower and being a sniper because the Henchmen viewed him as worthless. I feel that deeply. However, there is someone I relate to even more than him.

Steve the Tankman (as found in the background of Friday Night Funkin' Week 7)

Steve. Best friend of Sargent John Captain. Logical, charismatic, and quite child-like in his demeanor and worldview. He's rather soft compared to the others throughout the series, however he is not above violence when he is provoked (like against the Thugmen in Tankmen 2). He seems to be awkward, but a necessary part of the team, which makes me happy so see someone that is like me in personality being needed and respected by the dominant personality types there. When he made his first appearance in Tankmen .5, he had come across as a harder character, making it seem like he were the dominant in the situation (as he was the one to suggest running Bill over,) but in the later installments, he is shown to be quite soft with the exception of Tankmen 2. Honestly, when I see him on the screen, it makes me smile because...it's almost like I see myself on the screen.

Yeah, it's kind of odd to think that I find similar characters to myself in a web series about a pointless fictional war. However, it's a sign of diversity in personality, or it could just be me projecting myself onto characters. Well, whatever it is, I quite enjoy it.

I hope you all enjoyed this little insight into my life and my world! If you did and you want to see more content like this, don't forget to drop a <3 and leave me a tip (which would be a big help!)

comedy
1

About the Creator

Samantha Rhyalynn Hendrix

She/her

Eclectic poet, fangirl, and aspiring novelist. Won't hesitate to share my eclectic musings with the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.