Geeks logo

My Top 100 Horror Movies! Part 1

Little Gems

By Travis JohnsonPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1

so spooky season is upon us again,it's one of my favorite times of the year and so I figure why not share 100 of my favorite horror films that I like to watch every year even though I don’t get around to watching every single one. Because that’s a lot of movies, but these are the ones that I continuously come back to over and over again. Or that I like the most and some of them include recent titles, which is surprising.

I realize I like doing countdowns like this because it gives me a chance to talk at about one of my favorite topics and I also get to go down memory lane. another thing that I’m doing with all these movies is that I’m trying to watch them all in the same month. Which I’ve never done before so this is just the first 50 and I have to add a whole other 50. So wish me luck on that. I’m trying to challenge myself by doing this to pull it off. As for me writing this, however, I’m doing horribly. So I might make this a by-the-end-of-the-year thing.

So I’m going to do this in two parts, and as with everything that involves art this is subjective. So whoever reads this and hates some of these entries, I don’t know what to tell you. Other than those are the movies that I like, and sorry if you hate them. But if you give this a chance and read it,

I thank you in advance. Especially due to how long this is going to be or how long …well, this one might not be that long. but once I’m done with both of these entries, it’s going to be long.

This is tough to do because of course I’ve seen so many movies that aren’t on this list, but I have to think really deeply and hard about which ones I truly truly love to call a favorite so certain classics that I might have seen did not necessarily make the cut. But nonetheless, I still had fun with this because even though it’s Halloween season, I am not in the spirit. And so this will help me get out of my little seasonal funk and have some fun with the holiday since movies are my favorite thing in general can’t be that bad right or can’t be that hard I mean.

So before we get started let's go over a little bit first there were movies on here that may not be considered by people as being horror but to me they are and I’m also a big fan of the mystery/ thriller genre so sometimes those genres blend a lot to me, so there are some entries on here that might be considered mystery rather than horror. But no matter the genre each entry I would say, has at least a few scary moments in it to be considered horror. They're a few directors on here, that have made an appearance more than once that you will notice. And I have quite a few sequels on there as well even some movies that don’t have the original film included on here.

So if I am lucky enough to get anybody to read this, I want you all to either leave a comment telling me your favorite horror, movies or leave a comment about which movies are deemed classics but aren’t movies that you particularly like that much so we can have a dialogue and talk about it in the comments. Or better yet tell me both.

100. Jason X

99. My Bloody Valentine

98. Rear Window

97. Thinner

96. Halloween II

95. I Still What You Did Last Summer

94. Wrong Turn

93. Wishmaster

92. Freddy. Vs. Jason

91. Europa Report

90. I Know What You Did Last Summer

89. House Of Wax

88. The Town That Dreaded Sundown

87. The Haunting

86. Club Dread

85. Jacob's Ladder

84. Nope

83. Cabin Fever

82. The Frighteners

81. Opera

80. The Evil Dead 2

79. Friday The 13th Part 2

78. Phantoms

77. The Amityville Horror

76. Rosemary's Baby

75. Nightmare on Elm Street

74. The Evil Dead

73. Tales From The Hood

72. Arachnophobia

71. Ready Or Not

70. The Invitation

69. IT (2017)

68. Crimson Peak

67. Urban Legends: Final Cut

66. The Blob

65. 28 Days Later

64. The Last House on The Left

63. Don't Look Now

62. What Lies Beneath

61. Candyman (2021)

60. Event Horizon

59. Jeepers Creepers

58. Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones

57. Scream VI

56. Venom

55. Child's Play 3

54. The Tenant

53. Alien

52. The Shining

51. Prometheus

social mediatvpop culturemovielistentertainmentCONTENT WARNINGcelebritiesart
1

About the Creator

Travis Johnson

Aspiring actor and writer, Pop Culture lover and alien. With a penchant for beef jerky, gotta have that jerky.

Follow me if you’d like https://www.instagram.com/sivetoblake/ or twitter @sivetoblake

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Kapur7 months ago

    Love the inclusion of "Rear Window" - I often think people forget how frightening the concept of that film is. I also love the inclusion of "28 Days Later" over the more commercial "28 Weeks Later" - "28 Days Later" is in my opinion the superior of the two. This is a great part 1, I look forward to seeing 50-1 of your list.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.