Geeks logo

My Review of "Zack Snyder's Justice League"

How can this movie be so different from the original? Now I want to see other Zack Snyder cuts.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Zack Snyder's Justice League has just come out on March 18, 2021. This was a rumored cut of the Justice League movie for quite a while but that's all it was. Last year it was confirmed that there really was a Zack Snyder cut and it was supposed to be dramatically different from the movie that came out in theatres. I watched the original Justice League quite a while ago in 2017. That was before I was even on Vocal Media so I never reviewed it.

The original theatrical release of Justice League was okay. It wasn't a great movie but it wasn't the worst movie either. I could definitely see how there were some inconsistency to the tone of the movie in comparison to the rest of the DC movies that had come out in the past.

I wasn't entirely excited for this new Justice League cut from Zack Snyder when I first heard it. It sounded like a bunch of DC fans hyping up a dead franchise. To make matters worse the runtime of the movie was estimated at around four hours! I don't know about you but when I hear about runtimes of movies being that long I get a little overwhelmed. The Lord of the Rings trilogy had extended editions and as much as I love The Lord of The Rings I never got to watching them. I thought the original movies were long enough.

Still I had to see what all the hype was in this movie so I thought to myself that I would watch this new Zack Snyder cut in increments. This way the movie wouldn't be too long for me. 4 hours later, I didn't realize the time that passed by! I couldn't believe how entertained I was throughout the movie! Who would have thought that could keep my attention for that long and have me yearning for more.

This four hour epic is divided into 5 parts in the movie. Each part of the movie is sort of like a different chapter. They could have easily broke this down into a 5 episode TV special but I'm glad they kept it all in one big cohesive package.

Watching this movie again I couldn't believe how much footage was added to this movie and they were rightfully added. Each scene that was added blends new perspectives and character development to the members of the Justice League. They now have better backstories and we understand their motivations a lot better. There are some inconsistencies with the movies for example some of the things that happened in Aquaman don't quite make sense with this cut of the Justice League. I have only seen the trailer for Wonder Woman 1984 but I can image that it isn't quite as consistent with this movie either.

This cut of the Justice League was way more epic in every way as well. It still follows the guidelines of the theatrical release of the movie but everything is just fleshed out so much better. The opening and the closing of the movie are entirely different but much of the main story still remains the same.

I liked this cut of the movie so much but it was kind of disappointing the way it ended. There is some really interesting stuff that happens at the end of this movie but seeing as the franchise has gone into a different direction I don't think the vision will come to fruition. It's too bad too because the ending had me frothing for more.

After watching this cut I couldn't believe that they didn't at least think of releasing this movie into 2 parts in the theatre. I know a ton of people would have loved this version of the movie rather than the version that we got in the theatres. This is coming from a casual fan too! I can't imagine what die hard DC fans are thinking when they watch this movie.

One of the best things that I liked about this movie was the fact that they emphasized the powers of the characters a lot better. We would have a reference point of how powerful these superheroes were. This gauge of power would continue to rise over the course of the 4 hour runtime sort of like how Dragonball Z did with their show. Everything would continue to get more and more elevated until Superman comes into the picture. Boy oh boy if you are a Superman fan you have to see what they did with his character in this movie.

Overall, I would say that casual fans and hardcore fans alike will have a grand old time watching this movie. It's 4 hours that melt away like cotton candy on a rainy day. If I was ever to buy into the hype for anything in 2021 it's this movie. I have to give this movie an 8 out of 10. There's so much to love about this movie. DC fans don't even need to read this review to know that they're going to love it.

review
2

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.